? 3/13 Malcolm AMPS 277

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Malcolm & Heidi, Mar 13, 2024.

  1. Malcolm & Heidi

    Malcolm & Heidi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2023
    I have upped Malcolm's dose to 5 units now per my vet. He's finally getting some 200s. My question is, should I still give him the full 5 units if his pre shot numbers are in the 200s? I'm still new to this and confused because i see others not give a full dose depending on the numbers at the preshots. But from what I understand, you don't reduce the dose until you get low nadirs in a curve. Will someone please claify this? Thanks.
     
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Welcome to LLB. I think it’s my first time seeing a condo from you. You are correct that dosing changes are made based upon the nadir. Sometimes people shoot a lower one time dose because they can’t monitor and the preshot is low for their cat. If not sure always post and ask. Good luck with the increase. Looks like you are not following SLGS. Is your vet giving you dosing advice?
     
  3. Malcolm & Heidi

    Malcolm & Heidi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2023
    I've posted a few times. Still not sure how to use this site though...
    I've switched vets and she seems to be going more along the same lines I've read on here and the Facebook group.
    I thought I was following the slgs dosing... I'm still confused by the two, even though I've read both methods. It's still confusing to me.
    So is it ok to still shoot 5 units at numbers in the 200? This is such a high dose it makes me nervous. (I started out at 1 back in November)
     
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Malcolm & Heidi likes this.
  5. Malcolm & Heidi

    Malcolm & Heidi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2023
    Ok. That's what I thought I was doing? Also, when I post, am I not supposed to start a new thread for each new question? I guess that is where I'm getting confused on how to use this site.
     
  6. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Absolutely you can shoot full dose in the 200's. When Neko was 7+ units, I still shot full dose well bellow 100. The size of dose does't make an impact on what preshot value you shoot. When following SLGS, you don't shoot under 90, when following TR, you don't shoot under 50.

    Don't start a new thread for each new question. Start one new thread for each day that you post. If you have multiple questions on that one day, just add them to the thread.
     
    Malcolm & Heidi likes this.
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    One thread each day. Just change the subject or add the question mark prefix if you need help.

    I’m not sure I understand. Do you following TR or SLGS?
     
  8. Malcolm & Heidi

    Malcolm & Heidi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2023
     
  9. Malcolm & Heidi

    Malcolm & Heidi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2023
    Ok. Good to know. Thank you!
     
  10. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Malcolm & Heidi
    I see you are following SLGS in your signature can you please add that to your spreadsheet up top
     

Share This Page