3/14 Oberon AMPS 393, +4 246, +6 151, +8 100, +9.5 115, PMPS 130, +3 80, +4.5 68, +5.5 55

Just ordered the Levemir (5 pens). With luck it'll be here by the end of the week and I can switch over this weekend when I'm around to monitor closely if needed. Current Lantus dose is 5.75 U. @Wendy&Neko, what's a good/safe starting dose for Levemir, given that we don't know how the antibodies will react? And assuming that dose turns out to be too low, how quickly can I ramp it back up again? Just follow TR? Or speed it up a bit?
 
We suggest starting dose of Lev at 70% of the Lantus dose, so you could do 4.0 units to start. You are right, the antibodies can be initially "confused" by the new insulin. I'd hold it at least 4 cycles, then see where he is and think about whether he should be fast tracked back up or stick to TR increases. Depending on the numbers, you could increase faster and/or slightly larger increases. Or not if he decides he likes Levemir. Seen that happen before, though generally the "good" Lev dose is not far off the Lantus one.
 
OK, sounds good! I'll probably check in just before we switch, just to make sure I'm not missing anything. We should have labs back by then, too.
 
Back
Top