3/15 Mouzer: AMPS 328/+3 224/+5 151/+7 160 /+9 245/PMPS 311/+2 298/+4 322/+9 308

I have questions about the Lantus pen I am using.
The person who sent it to me said - Opened Late October 2020, Expires 04/2023.

I now have five new pens from Mark's Marine Pharmacy.

Is there a chance the pen I am using is not fresh enough to work as effectively as it could work?
And I was told a pen is good for up to six months once opened and if kept in the fridge. Is this correct?
The pen I am using has been opened for approximately five months.

Should I open a new pen from Mark's and see if this makes any difference in Mouzer's levels?
And if I should do this, are we safe to start the new pen at his latest dose increase to 1.5u, if by chance the pen I am using is not as fresh/strong?
 
Last edited:
I've used every pen to the last drop so far. But I've never had one last 6 months.

You could try shooting with one of the new pens. There may be no reason to suspect the old pen is bad, but no harm in trying. If it turns out that there's nothing wrong with the old pen, you can always go back to it and finish it.

Till proven otherwise, we assume the pen is okay and you would hold the dose at 1.5U with the new pen as well.
 
I've used every pen to the last drop so far. But I've never had one last 6 months.

You could try shooting with one of the new pens. There may be no reason to suspect the old pen is bad, but no harm in trying. If it turns out that there's nothing wrong with the old pen, you can always go back to it and finish it.

Till proven otherwise, we assume the pen is okay and you would hold the dose at 1.5U with the new pen as well.


I am confused about it being said, opened October 2020 and not to expire until April 2023.
It would not be good for that long, would it? And I thought unopened pens were only good for one year, so I am really confused with this now.

Being as the pen I am using has been opened for five months, that is close enough to six months to go ahead and open a new pen.
I was able to get use of the pen before our new pens arrived and that was the purpose of the current pen I am using, so we made use of the emergency need.
I will never know if it could be different with a new pen unless I do open a new pen, so I may as well then.
I will start a new pen in the morning, just in case it does make a difference, then whatever might would take place, takes place in the day hours.

P.S. I will be doing an amps +3 here shortly. I want to get a +5 today.
Tomorrow I would like to get a +2 and +7, unless things turned to cause otherwise.
I have something I need to go do tomorrow, so the +2 and +7 will give me the time I need to go do those things and get back.
 
Last edited:
@Bandit's Mom

We got Blue @+5 today!!
Should I test any more before pmps?
I am not sure if you need to see if he goes any lower or starts going back up.

Since we got blue, I wont open a new pen. I think this is my answer. The pen in use should be fine still.

EDIT: I am not sure you will get in a reply before I get back on my laptop, so I think I will do at +7 just to see what Mouzer does next.
 
Last edited:
Just saw this. Was thinking the same thing! The pen is fine. Let's get. +7. I will be asleep for it though.

Congrats on the blue. We hold the dose 10 cycles.
 
Just saw this. Was thinking the same thing! The pen is fine. Let's get. +7. I will be asleep for it though.

Congrats on the blue. We hold the dose 10 cycles.

@Bandit's Mom

amps +7 160 !! I realize he can go back up but glad to see the not so scary colors and know that the anti-anxiety colors are out there waiting for Mouzer.

If he is sitting on 150 or even near it, like 199 haha, at any given shot time, I will be too chicken to give that shot, just so you know :D
I looked at Mouzer's 2017 SS and I did not have to deal with making this shot decision but on two occasions.
May 27, 2017 NS +12 156; +12.5 184 > skipped the shot (dose was to be 1u)
June 12, 2017 Dose@1.25; +12 183; +12.5 204 > gave the shot

10p EST Edit :D
I am putting away my laptop. I want to try and get a pmps +3, +5, +7, +9, if my body will permit hahaha
I will at least get a +3 and if blue, I know me, I will get a +5 and see where we are before I decide to go to sleep.
Depending on what is with +3 and +5, I may not test any further for tonight.
I will continue to work in getting pmps +7, +9, if I do not get those tonight.
If I do not get back on my laptop and update with the +3 and so on, it means all is well and I am calm, cool and collective :D
Just to keep you informed because you have been so kind and helpful, I thought I should keep you up to date :)
 
Last edited:
If he is sitting on 150 or even near it, like 199 haha, at any given shot time, I will be too chicken to give that shot, just so you know :D
:D When you get a PS number that you are uncomfortable shooting, you stall without feeding and post here for help. You test again without feeding after 20 mins and if he is rising, it should be safe to shoot. With TR, you can shoot any number above 50, but the confidence to do that comes with time and experience and data on how Mouzer behaves on insulin.

Depending on what is with +3 and +5, I may not test any further for tonight.
Yup. A +3 should tell you if you need to get more tests tonight. He may bounce from the blues he saw in the AM cycle!
 
:D When you get a PS number that you are uncomfortable shooting, you stall without feeding and post here for help. You test again without feeding after 20 mins and if he is rising, it should be safe to shoot. With TR, you can shoot any number above 50, but the confidence to do that comes with time and experience and data on how Mouzer behaves on insulin.

Yup. A +3 should tell you if you need to get more tests tonight. He may bounce from the blues he saw in the AM cycle!


I was trying to remember how the stalling went ... to feed or not to feed and how long to wait. I am glad you spoke of this. Thank You!

And now I am asking about bounce ...
Is it a bounce when going from blues and then rise and no matter the shot, the rise is there, like this for yesterday's and last night's?
And I saw on Mouzer's 2017 SS that I did a shoot through the bounce. I looked back and he was all pink for the that evening prior.

Mouzer's 3/16 amps and shot will be in a couple of hours from now. I wrapped up his 3/15 reporting here.
Oh! Mouzer was acting like he was starving at pmps +2 and it was bad enough, I did not make him wait another hour for a test, so he could eat, and went ahead and did a +2, +4, +9, instead of +3, +5, +9 and I did not get a +7, so still in the works.
3/15 Mouzer: AMPS 328/+3 224/+5 151/+7 160 /+9 245/PMPS 311/+2 298/+4 322/+9 308
My assumption is that pmps on, was the bounce :D
 
The rise that you see at the end of the AM cycles is more the insulin action coming to an end. The flat high numbers you see in the PM cycle is the bounce :-)
 
Back
Top