3/2 Marley |PMPS 372|

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by MarleyMoo, Mar 2, 2021.

  1. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2021
  2. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Hi there! Don't feed and see where he is at the next test. 74 is still a safe number though not one you're used to seeing at preshot.
     
  3. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Definitely not used to it. The only other time this happened was on ProZinc and I didn't give a shot: he went sky-high.
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  4. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    74 is a safe number to shoot but not if you're not accustomed to it. You might have to skip this one again but he will recover. :)
     
  5. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    +.25: 76 no movement

    I'm not comfortable completely skipping and I'm around all day to monitor. Full dose or partial dose?
     
  6. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    The +2 last night was an indication of an active cycle. He cleared the bounce last night and hence the additional downward momentum.

    This is only Day 6 of Lantus, so the depot hasn't built. Why not give a token dose of 1 or 1.25?
     
    MarleyMoo likes this.
  7. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    I would definitely give him something since he's got a history of DKA. I see Bhooma responded. I'll leave you in her capable hands. :)
     
    Bandit's Mom and MarleyMoo like this.
  8. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Can you explain this? If the depot hasn't built yet, why a lower dose? Is it because we don't know his "true" depot numbers and they could be lower than what we're getting because it's still building up?
     
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes, the depot is still building so we don't have an idea of what the dose is doing for him. You can shoot the full dose also, but you don't want a situation where he is low and you are spending the whole cycle trying to bring up with high carbs/honey. Of course, he could very well bounce at some point.
     
  10. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Oh boy. I just tested again to make sure
    +.5 66

    Should I keep stalling or just give him a small token dose of 1?
     
  11. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    He will keep dropping without food. So feed and give him the token dose of 1U

    ETA: Feed him his usual food. Test in half an hour.
     
    MarleyMoo likes this.
  12. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    I tested again to double check: it's 72

    +0: 74
    +.3: 76
    +.5: 66/72
     
  13. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Let's do the token dose. Once the Lantus depot builds, we can be more aggressive with the dosing especially since you can monitor. :)
    All these numbers are within meter variance so one could also argue that he is flat!
     
  14. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
  15. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Wow that's a drastic difference. I can only hope for the same with him. ProZinc did not treat him well and you can see lots of reds and blacks lol.

    He completely devoured his food. Should I give him more because he's lower or give him a small break? He tends to engorge himself when he has high numbers, so I force a small break so he doesn't get sick (he'll sit around on his side like he just ate an entire turkey).
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  16. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Better not to fill him up in case you need to feed him every half hour or every hour to keep him surfing.

    ETA: Could you please change your thread title now that you have shot? Thanks! :)
     
    MarleyMoo likes this.
  17. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Also, for Simba's spreadsheet, what warranted the continuous dose reductions?
     
  18. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    It was a combination of things. Simba's diabetes was steroid-induced (I don't remember what he was on steroids for) and the vet should have known that the higher numbers were caused by the steroids. He was put on HC prescription and given a high dose of a non cat-friendly insulin, as is often the case. The CG was not testing enough, so it's possible that Simba went low and she was only catching the bounces when she tested. The HC kibble was also keeping him safe. Take out the steroids and the prescription kibble and he became diet controlled. He might not have needed the insulin at all to begin with. Or may have needed a very low dose for a very short time.
     
    MarleyMoo likes this.
  19. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Thanks! I was trying to indicate based on the numbers, but only spotted a few things.

    Thanks for all the info. Will be testing in 10 min.
     
  20. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    MarleyMoo likes this.
  21. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Your thread title still says stalling, btw :)
     
    MarleyMoo likes this.
  22. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Fixed
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  23. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    +.5: 65/73

    Will test again in 30 min
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  24. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    feed a little more
     
  25. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    How much do you think? I gave him about a tbsp when I tested.
     
  26. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    That's fine. I didn't realize you had fed when you tested at +0.5.
     
  27. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    He was scavenging for food and jumping on the counter, so I gave him a tad bit on the tip of a fork since he put up with being poked 4 times in the span of 2 minutes lol
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  28. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    this was after the +0.5 test right?
     
    MarleyMoo likes this.
  29. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Yes. The one 30 minutes after the shot.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  30. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    First poke drew no blood, 2nd poke was error because he flicked his ear, 3rd was 65, fourth was 73
     
  31. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    cool. that should be fine.
     
    MarleyMoo likes this.
  32. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    you could have stopped after the third one :)
     
  33. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    I wanted to double check he wasn't going down and that it was just a variance to ease my mind. Looks more like a flat than going down.
     
  34. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    +.5: 65/73
    +1: 83
     
  35. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Very nice! Fed him a little more after the +1?
     
  36. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Yup. He ate another tbsp or so
     
  37. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I bet he can't believe his luck! LOL!
     
  38. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    I think he's more mad that he can't have the whole can lol. he sees me pull it out and screams "MEOOOOOW" and just looks at me like "please?"
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  39. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    and gives you the stink eye after you dish out a measly spoonful? LOL.
     
    MarleyMoo likes this.
  40. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Absolutely. He's grumpy, now
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  41. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    +.5: 65/73
    +1: 83
    +1.5: 91
    +2: 87
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  42. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Should i still be testing every half hour or can I extend that to 1 hour
     
  43. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Lovely numbers so far. Could you update your thread title with them, please? :)
     
  44. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I was just thinking this. Every hour should be fine.
     
  45. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    I'll update now. Been really busy with cooking and school, so been focusing more on testing him and responding. I have a moment now, though.
     
  46. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    +.5: 65/73
    +1: 83
    +1.5: 91
    +2: 87
    +3: 83
    +4: 105
     
  47. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    What great numbers for Marley today! You did a great job (sorry, I don't know your name). It's good that you gave the shot. Soon you will be itching to shoot green numbers. :bighug:
     
    MarleyMoo likes this.
  48. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Thank you. My name's Mallory. I hope these numbers continue. They've been relatively flat today which is a far cry from what we've gotten on ProZinc which is really nice. We would get a few low numbers, but he wouldn't surf very long.
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  49. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Great to meet you, Mallory! Lantus is great for flat green curves. Once Marley's liver graduates from training school and he stops bouncing, you'll get more of these flat days. :)
     
    MarleyMoo likes this.
  50. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    +.5: 65/73
    +1: 83
    +1.5: 91
    +2: 87
    +3: 83
    +4: 105
    +5: 96
    +7: 165
    +11: 362

    So I assume I do the full 2.5? I'll be shooting in about 30 minutes.
     
  51. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    PMPS: 372

    Will shoot full dose
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  52. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes full dose. He hasn't earned a reduction. Great numbers today. :)
     
    MarleyMoo likes this.
  53. MarleyMoo

    MarleyMoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Thanks. Here's to hoping his next few days aren't like the bounce he started a few days ago.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.

Share This Page