3/23 AMPs 455 +6 Last cycle was a fur shot I think, but this was this one too?

Nate2021

Member Since 2021
Second cycle he got in the yellows, third I think it was a furshot, fourth was flat but lower than if no insulin. Could this be just a flat cycle with some bounce from before?
 
Why do you think it was a fur shot? Did you feel some wetness on the spot or smelled the insulin?
I am not entirely sure, I didn't see wetness/look for it, but thinking back I was distinctly not sure if I had actually put the needle in properly at the time, then I just assumed because the cycle prior he had a fairly normal drop
 
Could you update your title please to indicate date and kitty name, AMPS if you have it?

If you shot a FS, it happens to everyone. Just add FS to your SS for today.

Cute kitty pic!!!
 
I would caution against assuming it was a fur shot because of the numbers. So keep those notes up. :) If you tought it could have been a fur shot write down, then see the numbers (instead of the other way around... which can be a bit more biased).

I usually pass my hands over the spot after shooting as a routine, that helps catch up any surprises.
 
Hi Nate,
Don’t ever give another shot if you think you gave a fur shot. It is too dangerous.
It is still very early days with Brian’s FD journey.
Don’t be tempted to give skinny doses when the BG is so high. Shinny doses are for when you have almost hit the right dose and just have to tweak it a smidgen.
Lantus likes consistency so stick to the same dose unless you are increasing or decreasing or are advised otherwise.

It’s possible he could be bouncing from the yellow numbers a couple of days ago. If his body is used to only high numbers now, he could think that the yellow numbers are too low and hence the bounce. It can take up to 6 cycles for a bounce to resolve.
 
Could you update your title please to indicate date and kitty name, AMPS if you have it?

If you shot a FS, it happens to everyone. Just add FS to your SS for today.

Cute kitty pic!!!
Hello sorry I didn't realize I was meant to add that in the title cheers for that
 
I would caution against assuming it was a fur shot because of the numbers. So keep those notes up. :) If you tought it could have been a fur shot write down, then see the numbers (instead of the other way around... which can be a bit more biased).

I usually pass my hands over the spot after shooting as a routine, that helps catch up any surprises.
Will check by touch from now on. I did wonder about shaving the fur at the site to make sure I know the needle is in?

Definitely won't be attempting to shoot again if I think I've missed the shot, glad that advice showed up soon after I joined here

Ty!
 
Hi Nate,
Don’t ever give another shot if you think you gave a fur shot. It is too dangerous.
It is still very early days with Brian’s FD journey.
Don’t be tempted to give skinny doses when the BG is so high. Shinny doses are for when you have almost hit the right dose and just have to tweak it a smidgen.
Lantus likes consistency so stick to the same dose unless you are increasing or decreasing or are advised otherwise.

It’s possible he could be bouncing from the yellow numbers a couple of days ago. If his body is used to only high numbers now, he could think that the yellow numbers are too low and hence the bounce. It can take up to 6 cycles for a bounce to resolve.
this is really good to know. His numbers are the same that, so I guess wasn't a fur shot after all, I made extra sure the needle was in today. Do you think it will be ok for me wait it out until the end of the week before considering a dose Change? I know he is running high, but he is down from the black numbers he originally presented with (before I joined), the vet and what I read here says it can take a week+ before seeing what the dose is actually doing for him.

I definitely won't be attempting shots if I think I missed.

With the no skinny dosing while high is this something I'd only apply when less than 200 preshot l? Not something of an issue now with his numbers, just really want to be confident I know what to do if it happens

Thnx heaps for your help
 
Hi Nate,

Please change the title of your thread as Sue suggests by going to the upper right corner of this screen and click on "Thread Tools" and edit your title to have today's date, the name of your cat, and your cat's numbers. For example, mine is "3/23 Ruby PMPS 115/+2 99". This is part of the Lantus group's posting guidelines, and helps us help you. :)
 
Hello sorry I wasn't sure I was meant to stick to the one thread or start new.

Went to the vet yesterday with Brian and the vet said to raise the dose by a full 1iu. Said something about the clinical signs excess drinking and hunger and numbers combined indicate it still isn't enough insulin, that it is extremely unlikely it is due to too much insulin, and that we should have started a bit higher based on his size and the first week of testing (at vets prior to me home testing). The vet also recommended raising 0.5iu every two days until his lows get to 280, then change to 0.25 increments... I'm not sure why 280 specifically. I asked the vet about the depot building and if that's enough time and stuff, and she said while he's high with clinical symptoms of drinking we can be a bit more aggressive to get it under control faster. She did say I need to do curves for today and tomorrow though. His blood work was all great other than pancreas raised.

Wanted to know what you guys think about this
 
Yes, you need to start a new condo - set the title up as follows:

3/25 Brian AMPS 385 - Follow up on vet visit yesterday.

Please be sure to copy/paste the url from this post into that one - and then copy/paste your new comment (just above there) into the new thread...

I'll comment there :)
 
Back
Top