3/23 Minnie PMPS 326, +4.75 280 PM Ketones 1.6 - AM Ketones 1.1

Ugh. Ketones now up to 1.1 @+2.5 (new box of strips) and her weight seems to be a bit down. She doesn't know how lucky she is today, she is going to get SO MUCH (watered down) food. If I get enough blood in one of the tests today, will re-test the ketones just in case it was the strip.

Other than what the data is telling me, she seems normal (remind me what are the 5 P's? She is purring, pooing, peeing, playing - i forget the last one. Preening??). Really glad we have the specialist appointment tomorrow. I am sure there is something else going on. Just hope they don't have to keep her in.
 
Feed her lots of food (for the ketones). I think you already are... but I'm just concerned about the ketones going in the wrong direction. Now, Darcy spent a lot of time with high ketones and didn't get DKA. As I increased his insulin and he at lots of food... they came down.

I know you have an appointment with Minnie with a new IM tomorrow. I hope that goes well. Will you be able to go inside with her... otherwise how will you "interview" the new IM?
 
Thanks for the reminder about the vet! I can't go in but expect them to phone during the appt, I will have to check (just left a voicemail, that was a bit frustrating). I'm going to email them a copy of the spreadsheet and a summary of the current situation later today. Their response will be a good indicator - the Blue Pearl IM complained that it was too much data. (how is that even possible?! :banghead::confused::eek:). That was the final straw with Blue Pearl. I know they have collected last 2 years' records from our own vet and Blue Pearl. I'm hopeful because my own vet recommended this place but if it doesn't work out there is another I can try.

And yes, I am super concerned about the ketones but on the plus side I never tested with blood in the past - last DKA was identified by me based on smelling her breath, loss of appetite and urine strips. Currently urine strips are still negative, she's at the trough like it's an all-you-can-eat buffet at cracker barrel and she just has chicken breath...which I smell when she hisses in my face about the poking :blackeye: :) I feel that I'm much better equipped now, getting earlier indications and knowing what to do. I still can't quite believe the previous IM didn't tell me to feed her extra when I phoned about the trace ketones, just said to wait until they increased. :banghead::banghead:

I am just. so. frustrated with what Minnie's data is telling me. Nothing! The previous IM was always asking "what's she like clinically" and it's the same as always, she seems fine [until she suddenly stops eating].

whoops that was an essay. I'm actually feeling super relieved we already have the appointment scheduled because otherwise I'd be debating whether or not I needed to take her in.

(now I must go and check out darcy's s/s)

ETA - That little minx just jumped to the top of the cat tree, unassisted, for the first time in months. Months. Me: :banghead: Her: :cat:

Darcy, way to keep out of the pink!!
 
Last edited:
Yes. This all sounds so familiar. Now I know much better what to do and what to look for... and we have everybody here to help us too! In Darcy’s case , an infection put him over the edge. His temp was over 105 when I took him to the ER. So scary to recall how sick he was and how he almost didn’t make it and how the vets really didn’t think he was going to make it, but to my personal vet’s credit, she never stopped fighting and she was texting me at night from her personal cell phone to give advice on what to tell the ER vets to do with Darcy.
Hugs to Minnie. I really think the good appetite in Minnie is a wonderful sign!
 
Did you retest ketones? Every so often a strip throws me a high number, but upon retest is more reasonable. Shame, because the darn strips are so expensive.

Good luck tomorrow!
 
Did you retest ketones? Every so often a strip throws me a high number, but upon retest is more reasonable. Shame, because the darn strips are so expensive.

Good luck tomorrow!
I think I get a better ketone number when I test in the evening. Mornings always seem higher.
 
Hi Liz... just wanted to pop in and introduce ourselves to you. When I saw your note on ketones I wanted to take a peek. After my girl Missy was diagnosed my vet didn't think she needed insulin right away... geez she was only consistently 300+:banghead: and I didn't know any better. Thankfully I found this group and it has without a doubt saved her life. I didn't know much about ketones until I started reading some info on the forum. I too had a blood ketone tester and one night thought, oh maybe I'll check her ketones.... they were 5.4 :confused:
Needless to say I rushed her to the ER vet and thankfully she did not have DKA. I must have caught it in time. That night the ER vet started her on Lantus and she is doing so well now. I monitor ketones still if her BG gets a little high but they have always been very low or neg. I just wanted to share her story with you and give you hope that your girl is on the road to recovery and I hope your appointment goes great tomorrow and the new vet will appreciate all the information you will provide. I can't imagine a vet not wanting to see her SS.... crazy!! Have a great night with Minnie!! :bighug:
 
Hmm, she came to me asking for PMPS and dinner then turned her nose up at it. Walked away from the Ondansetron in a pill pocket too, until I brought out the big guns and gave her some FF 4% trout flakes. Fortunately she gobbled that and I sneaked the Ondansetron in, but she's rejected everything else.

I think I get a better ketone number when I test in the evening. Mornings always seem higher.
It was 0.5 at AM =5 yesterday then 1.1 at AM +2.5 today, only thing is today was a new box of strips.

Did you retest ketones? Every so often a strip throws me a high number, but upon retest is more reasonable. Shame, because the darn strips are so expensive.

Good luck tomorrow!
No successful re-test yet, she is being stingey with the blood today. :( I thought I had enough for a ketone test at PMPS and watched it get nearly to the top then...$2 straight in the sharps container. Still, negative with the urine strips at least.

@Missy & Tammy - Hi and nice to meet you! Thanks for sharing your and Missy's story. Alas ketones were my first introduction to diabetes - when she was first diagnosed, I took her to the ER for not eating (on a Friday night of course) and I could smell the acetone on her breath. She's had 3 DKAs, it's only now I realize quite how serious that is...though I'm painfully aware how expensive it is to treat!

Thanks for all the good wishes. I hope to have a good story to tell, a diagnosis and a treatment plan.
 
Hi Liz, looks like Minnie is being pretty stubborn these days! Just wanted to wish you good luck for the appointment tomorrow. :bighug:

Tagging @tiffmaxee to confirm whether a dose increase to 5U is due tomorrow AM?
 
Hi Liz, looks like Minnie is being pretty stubborn these days! Just wanted to wish you good luck for the appointment tomorrow. :bighug:

Tagging @tiffmaxee to confirm whether a dose increase to 5U is due tomorrow AM?
Thank you!

I was thinking it is due tomorrow AM (assuming Minnie doesn't make a mad green dash tonight) but also wasn't sure whether to do it because of the vet appt? And if not in the morning, should I do it tomorrow evening or the following morning? @tiffmaxee guidance gratefully received!
 
OK, thanks. She just ate a bit more of the Tiki chicken. Either she was just temporarily picky, or the ondansetron kicked in. She just walked away from the DM and the Tiki at dinner time, I was concerned about what that would mean to the shot but FF saved the day.
 
Back
Top