3/24 Shooter AMPS 143 - dose decrease PMPS 243

Heather & Shooter

Member Since 2009
Well last night was exciting... and scary! lol I can't tell you the last time Shooter had a lime. It's been a LONG time. I definitely need to get the address and phone number of the local emergency and put it on the fridge (just in case). Thankfully he didn't seem to have much reaction to the 33. Hopefully bounce to the moon over this lime.

Happy Palm Sunday. Surf safe kitties!

3/23 Shooter AMPS 125, PMPS 88, +7 33 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
 
Well done handling that surprise lime last night Heather! :eek:

Reading back yesterday's thread, have you ever had his blood pressure tested? It's good thing to get done with our acros, actually all of our diabetic and older cats.
 
Well done handling that surprise lime last night Heather! :eek:

Reading back yesterday's thread, have you ever had his blood pressure tested? It's good thing to get done with our acros, actually all of our diabetic and older cats.

Yes, here's the thread that I talked about his blood pressure. When they did it on 3/6 it was high but they thought "vet stress" then 3/8 they had him take gaba before coming in but that seems like it wouldn't be accurate either.

On 3/6 they did 6 readings and average was 190/133 (155) then 3/8 (after giving gaba) his average was 150/97 (112). They didn't seemed to be too worried about it.
 
Last edited:
Thanks for that link. I was wondering why you thought high blood pressure was a possibility. Neko's first BP test at a vet was an "epic fail". I think the vet used those words too - I wasn't charged. Vet was delayed due to emergency, we hung out in a waiting room, uncontrolled dogs came up and sniffed her carrier, rookie vet tech tried to do the readings. Heck - I was stressed! Neko was over 220. Next attempt was the acupuncture vet, a smaller clinic. All was good until a puppy came in to the waiting room and sniffed at her, Argh! 185, which was just above the vet's white coat limit. Next attempt, dental clinic, only cat in the cat area, Feliway's going, 145. Much better. At her internist she was typically in the 140's with an experienced vet tech, after we'd been in the exam room alone for at least 10 minutes, and me there with her to calm her. After the dental clinic, I always sprayed her carrier with Feliway and gave her Rescue Remedy before we went for a BP check.
 
Thanks for that link. I was wondering why you thought high blood pressure was a possibility. Neko's first BP test at a vet was an "epic fail". I think the vet used those words too - I wasn't charged. Vet was delayed due to emergency, we hung out in a waiting room, uncontrolled dogs came up and sniffed her carrier, rookie vet tech tried to do the readings. Heck - I was stressed! Neko was over 220. Next attempt was the acupuncture vet, a smaller clinic. All was good until a puppy came in to the waiting room and sniffed at her, Argh! 185, which was just above the vet's white coat limit. Next attempt, dental clinic, only cat in the cat area, Feliway's going, 145. Much better. At her internist she was typically in the 140's with an experienced vet tech, after we'd been in the exam room alone for at least 10 minutes, and me there with her to calm her. After the dental clinic, I always sprayed her carrier with Feliway and gave her Rescue Remedy before we went for a BP check.

Oh geez! What a fiasco! I honestly don't think Shooter was very stressed at all when they took his readings the first time on 3/6 without gaba (by the way I removed the link because I found his actual readings and edited the last post).
 
Yes, here's the thread that I talked about his blood pressure. When they did it on 3/6 it was high but they thought "vet stress" then 3/8 they had him take gaba before coming in but that seems like it wouldn't be accurate either.

On 3/6 they did 6 readings and average was 190/133 (155) then 3/8 (after giving gaba) his average was 150/97 (112). They didn't seemed to be too worried about it.

@Wendy&Neko do you think I should be concerned about his bp?
 
Back
Top