? 3/26/25 Mikey AMPS 330 +10 390 PMPS 597

Mikey’sDad

Active Member
Hi all!
The good news is that Mikey has recovered from his UTI and pancreatitis. He is seems ok. His blood work looked great except for the pancreatitis, ketones and UTI

The bad news is his numbers. I did a reset a month or so ago before he got sick because his numbers have been wacky since last fall. Today is the worst. At this point I don’t know what to do . I increased today as I panicked when I saw a 597.

I actually hesitated to post on here because it seems the experts have disappeared . Am I doing something wrong? Why the awful numbers? I worry my boy may be non responsive or dying. :arghh:
Thanks,
Tom
 
Hi all!
The good news is that Mikey has recovered from his UTI and pancreatitis. He is seems ok. His blood work looked great except for the pancreatitis, ketones and UTI

The bad news is his numbers. I did a reset a month or so ago before he got sick because his numbers have been wacky since last fall. Today is the worst. At this point I don’t know what to do . I increased today as I panicked when I saw a 597.

I actually hesitated to post on here because it seems the experts have disappeared . Am I doing something wrong? Why the awful numbers? I worry my boy may be non responsive or dying. :arghh:
Thanks,
Tom
@Bandit's Mom
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Hi all!
The good news is that Mikey has recovered from his UTI and pancreatitis. He is seems ok. His blood work looked great except for the pancreatitis, ketones and UTI

The bad news is his numbers. I did a reset a month or so ago before he got sick because his numbers have been wacky since last fall. Today is the worst. At this point I don’t know what to do . I increased today as I panicked when I saw a 597.

I actually hesitated to post on here because it seems the experts have disappeared . Am I doing something wrong? Why the awful numbers? I worry my boy may be non responsive or dying. :arghh:
Thanks,
Tom
Hi Tom, I hope Mikey is feeling a lot better now that he’s recovered.

It looks like you’ve gone down a lot in dose, so maybe he just needs more insulin at this point.

I had a similar situation a little over a month ago Ivy got pancreatitis and suddenly her need for insulin dropped significantly.
I had to lower her dose from 3.75 to 2.5 units.

Now that she has recovered, I have been slowly raising her dose of insulin because her BG numbers have gotten higher again.
It seems that their needs change when something drastic is going on in their system.
That’s just my experience. I’m definitely not an expert, but just wanted to tell you what I just went through.
Hopefully you’ll hear from some more experienced members shortly, but I just that thought that might be something to consider is giving Mikey more insulin by slowly raising his dose a little bit at a time and following SLGS rules, by .25 units at a time.
Just like you would normally do.
Sending you lots of good wishes :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Tom, I hope Mikey is feeling a lot better now that he’s recovered.

It looks like you’ve gone down a lot in dose, so maybe he just needs more insulin at this point.

I had a similar situation a little over a month ago Ivy got pancreatitis and suddenly her need for insulin dropped significantly.
I had to lower her dose from 3.75 to 2.5 units.

Now that she has recovered, I have been slowly raising her dose of insulin because her BG numbers have gotten higher again.
It seems that their needs change when something drastic is going on in their system.
That’s just my experience. I’m definitely not an expert, but just wanted to tell you what I just went through.
Hopefully you’ll hear from some more experienced members shortly, but I just that thought that might be something to consider is giving Mikey more insulin by slowly raising his dose a little bit at a time and following SLGS rules, by .25 units at a time.
Just like you would normally do.
Sending you lots of good wishes :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, nice to hear from you about your experience . I checked at +5 he is at 291 I think I will increase his dose. Started this evening . I have to laugh at myself because I fret so much about this guy and he is happy and content; the bouncing does not seem to bother him in thd least :)
 
Thanks, nice to hear from you about your experience . I checked at +5 he is at 291 I think I will increase his dose. Started this evening . I have to laugh at myself because I fret so much about this guy and he is happy and content; the bouncing does not seem to bother him in thd least :)
All I do is worry about my Ivy, too. You’re in good company around here. Most of us are helicopter moms and dads of our precious cats. :)
Good luck with the increase and please give Mikey some chin scratches :cat:
 
Sorry to hear about the UTI and pancreatitis! :(:bighug:
Do you test for ketones regularly? What was the level of ketones he had?

A reset of dose almost never works and leaves the cat in high numbers. There are vets (and other FD groups) that suggest dose resets, but when you have increased gradually (in multiples of 0.25/0.5U based on numbers) and are testing to see how the kitty responds to each dose, the chances of bypassing a good dose are pretty much non-existent.

With ketones in the picture, you don't want him hanging around in higher numbers. You want to increase by 0.25U every 3 days (6 cycles) till you get him back to a good dose.
 
Sorry to hear about the UTI and pancreatitis! :(:bighug:
Do you test for ketones regularly? What was the level of ketones he had?

A reset of dose almost never works and leaves the cat in high numbers. There are vets (and other FD groups) that suggest dose resets, but when you have increased gradually (in multiples of 0.25/0.5U based on numbers) and are testing to see how the kitty responds to each dose, the chances of bypassing a good dose are pretty much non-existent.

With ketones in the picture, you don't want him hanging around in higher numbers. You want to increase by 0.25U every 3 days (6 cycles) till you get him back to a good dose.
His ketones were mildly elevated. I do have some ketone strips and I will start using them. The reset did not work, so I will adjust per your suggestion. He seems to have recovered :cat:
Thanks, Tom
 
Thanks, I have Ketone strips but not a blood meter! I actually prick this cat so many times, for right now I am going to stick with the strips.

Thanks,
Tom

Hey Tom, I do one prick and nearly every time can just use same drop of blood for both my glucose and ketone meter. There's no need to double prick...

Blood test shows what ketones are in the system real-time, urine is after the fact, after they have passed through the system. My vet recommended the blood meter as the best way to monitor for ketones and is what they use in the hospital.

With the higher numbers Mikey has lately, might be good piece of mind for you getting a blood meter...

I never liked strips, you gotta fumble with catching pee and for me I hated second guessing myself on the stupid shades of colors to determine what is trace or a level of concern. The digital meter gives you a straight up accurate reading.

I used to use the Abbot Precision Xtra meter that was the gold standard, but the strips are awfully expensive.

I've been using the KetoSens sold on Amazon for several months now and haven't looked back!

----------------------------------------------------

Meter is $28
upload_2025-3-28_19-46-26.png



Strips are less than $1 each, other ketone meter strips can be a few dollars each.
upload_2025-3-28_19-45-41.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-28_19-45-41.png
    upload_2025-3-28_19-45-41.png
    317.4 KB · Views: 27
  • upload_2025-3-28_19-46-26.png
    upload_2025-3-28_19-46-26.png
    218.2 KB · Views: 29
upload_2025-3-28_19-59-9.png


Looking at your spreadsheet... you're increasing too fast and causing instabilities.

Please read the protocol, you don't want to do those major increases like that, trust me.

#1 -- you're not even testing enough for safety to catch potential hypo events as the depot builds up this quickly!

I KNOW it's discouraging seeing those high numbers, but you're increasing too fast. Review the protocol, there's years and years of science and experience.

For your convenience, just a small snippet below, note what I have highlighted at the bottom:

upload_2025-3-28_20-3-2.png


Source: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-28_19-59-9.png
    upload_2025-3-28_19-59-9.png
    68.2 KB · Views: 25
  • upload_2025-3-28_20-3-2.png
    upload_2025-3-28_20-3-2.png
    228.2 KB · Views: 27
Back
Top