3/27/22 Buddy AMPS 245 ;+4 234; +7 148; +10 155; PMPS 191; +2 206; +3 176; +4 148; +6 127

PattyandBuddy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...381-9-395-pmps-414-3-374.261196/#post-2930536

Happy Sunday, Everyone!

Buddy woke me up at 5:30am and was yelling at me for food. Had to ignore him until we start at 7am. i take his blood at 7am, feed right after and shoot at 7:30. I was surprised after all that stress of being hungry he was 245.

Is there a time frame I should feed and shoot insulin? Like if I fed him at 6am could I still shoot insulin at 7:30am or is that too late?
 
Since Buddy is new to fd, it is best to pick up food 2 hours before insulin. Then test, feed, shoot all within 5-10 minutes. If he eats within 2 hours it could be food influenced. Once you know what kind of a bump he gets from food you don’t need to follow the 2 hour rule.
 
@tiffmaxee
Good morning Elise I have been helping Patty since she joined , I told her I would ask if she should increase Buddy's dose yet or is it too soon ?
What do you think?
I hope she will get to know some of the other members that are familiar with lantus.
Thanks Elise :bighug::cat:
Edit thanks for welcoming Patty to LB :cat:
 
Today was the lowest preshot yet and could have been food influenced . Congrats. With SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days and then do a curve. Today is the 6th day and you saw a lower bg so give this dose today and tomorrow to see what it does. The depot builds the first 7 days on lantus.
 
Since Buddy is new to fd, it is best to pick up food 2 hours before insulin. Then test, feed, shoot all within 5-10 minutes. If he eats within 2 hours it could be food influenced. Once you know what kind of a bump he gets from food you don’t need to follow the 2 hour rule.
Thank you. I will test, feed, and shoot within 10 min.
 
Hey Patty well look at those blues, how many more hours is there before PMPS
I'm going to tag a few more members for you
Usually with new members we tell them not to shoot if the BG is less than 200

Hi ladies Patty is a new member and I have been helping her out since she joined
Just recently moved over to the lantus board
Can someone please take a look at her SS and please read her post #6
She has been linking her previous days posts
I'm not too experiencd to tell her what to do even though I have been her for awhile
I told her to stall 20 minutes ,don't feed and see if his BG came up on his own

EDIT he was 191 at PMPS without stalling so I told her to shoot and check @+2
Can you guys check in on Patty every now and then since she's new in case I'm not around


Thanks

@tiffmaxee

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Bandit's Mom

@Wendy&Neko

@Suzanne & Darcy

@Chris & China (GA)
 
Last edited:
Hey Patty well look at those blues, how many more hours is there before PMPS
I'm going to tag a few more members for you
Usually with new members we tell them not to shoot if the BG is less than 200

Hi ladies Patty is a new member and I have been helping her out since she joined
Just recently moved over to the lantus board
Can someone please take a look at her SS and please read her post #6

Thanks

@tiffmaxee

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Bandit's Mom

@Wendy&Neko

@Suzanne & Darcy
Thank you, Diane! I have about 20 more minutes until I take his pmps number!
 
Thank you, Diane! I have about 20 more minutes until I take his pmps number!
If no one replies back take his BG if it's under 200 stall for 20 minutes Don't feed ,we want to see if his BG comes up on it's own
Do you have plenty of test strips, med and high carb food in the house and honey
I'll check back in 20 minutes
 
Last edited:
Nice cycle. Now you see why you give the depot 7 days to build. With these blues you will hold the dose for another 7 days unless you see the bg drop under 90. If that happens you reduce by .25 and hold the new dose for 7 days. Today is actually day 6 only.
 
Nice cycle. Now you see why you give the depot 7 days to build. With these blues you will hold the dose for another 7 days unless you see the bg drop under 90. If that happens you reduce by .25 and hold the new dose for 7 days. Today is actually day 6 only.
Thank god you came on Elise, I wasn't sure I did the right thing by telling her to shoot the full dose when she got that 191
I was really getting nervous lol
@tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
Nice cycle. Now you see why you give the depot 7 days to build. With these blues you will hold the dose for another 7 days unless you see the bg drop under 90. If that happens you reduce by .25 and hold the new dose for 7 days. Today is actually day 6 only.
Ok, Thank you!
 
Thank god you came on Elise, I wasn't sure I did the right thing by telling her to shoot the full dose when she got that 191
I was really getting nervous lol
Aw its ok! I am gonna check at +2. I got that yummy kyro syrup on standby. ;) I am going to check every 2 hours tonight. I remember the Dr. telling me not to shoot if he was 150. So I was ok with 191. In her notes she also wrote check every hour if he falls below 100 and kyro syrup at 80. Do you think Kyro syrup is needed at 80? I see others way below 80 and not panicking so I am unclear.
 
Last edited:
I gave Buddy two more tablespoons at +1 only because he came back hungry to kitchen. When I took him away from his food (he was nearly done with food) to shoot him...Poppy that sneaky one ran and ate the rest while we were busy with insulin. Poppy normally doesn't do that but it was a new flavor...beef/liver...they seemed to really like that one. We have a special chair in the bathroom where we do insulin shots.
 
I will never say don’t test, lol. I was a testaholic. You are seeing a slow slide. If you can test this much you are a good candidate for TR since you are feeding wet food.
 
I will never say don’t test, lol. I was a testaholic. You are seeing a slow slide. If you can test this much you are a good candidate for TR since you are feeding wet food.
Ok, it’s good to know it’s a slow slide! I’d hate myself if I put the poor guy into hypo. He’s in pretty good spirits right now playing with his sister so I think he will be ok.
 
Back
Top