3/29 Binie, PMPS 500, 176 +5, AMPS 415, 390 +3, 378 +6, 500 +9

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Good evening,

Binies bg really gives me a headache. After a flat and high day yesterday I did see some blue last night. Today it was high most of the time. Is this still normal bouncing?

Besides the freestyle libre seems to give up working before time. We have still 5 days left but I get error messages most of the time and only sometimes some numbers which I can not trust anymore. So far I haven't had the courage to apply the sensor myself so we will have to wait until the vet opens up on tuesday.

So now we have to do ear poking, which is not easy with Binie. Besides I find it scary not to be able to look up her bg any time. Taking the bg with the Accu check always surprises me because especially in the higher ranges the difference is huge. I really hope we manage the night without a working sensor.

Have a good day everyone!
 
Tagging Elise @tiffmaxee who knows more about eosinophilic granuloma. Definitely treatable if that's what it is. I hope the operation will not be much delayed.

Binie has only seen one nadir under 150 on this dose, I think she needs to go up to 2.75 units. The inflammation of her wound might be making her numbers higher too. Time for her to see better numbers.

And linking yesterday's post for more information: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-28-binie-amps-500-3-468-6-450-9-500.288192/
 
Last edited:
Good evening,

Binies bg really gives me a headache. After a flat and high day yesterday I did see some blue last night. Today it was high most of the time. Is this still normal bouncing?

Besides the freestyle libre seems to give up working before time. We have still 5 days left but I get error messages most of the time and only sometimes some numbers which I can not trust anymore. So far I haven't had the courage to apply the sensor myself so we will have to wait until the vet opens up on tuesday.

So now we have to do ear poking, which is not easy with Binie. Besides I find it scary not to be able to look up her bg any time. Taking the bg with the Accu check always surprises me because especially in the higher ranges the difference is huge. I really hope we manage the night without a working sensor.

Have a good day everyone!
I feel your pain with the libre. Now that Ivy is lingering in the Lo range for several hours, the readings seem to quit. (A distressing feeling, as you said)
I’m ear poking to see where she is and it’s never easy with Ivy.
She pulls away and gets her ear torn up. Ugh.
I hope Binie is better behaved.
Hoping both of our sensors decide to work.
And watch a bunch of videos and read up on applying that Libre. I do it whenever needed. Ivy would never tolerate going to the vet all the time for that?
If I can help you with any information, just let me know :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Tagging Elise @tiffmaxee who knows more about eosinophilic granuloma. Definitely treatable if that's what it is. I hope the operation will not be much delayed.

Binie has only seen one nadir under 150 on this dose, I think she needs to go up to 2.75 units. The inflammation of her wound might be making her numbers higher too. Time for her to see better numbers.

And linking yesterday's post for more information: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-28-binie-amps-500-3-468-6-450-9-500.288192/

Thank you so much Wendy for giving me hope and encouragement regarding the possible eosinophilic granuloma and the suggestion to raise the dose. Binie had two nadirs with that dose (03/19 and 03/27) but especially during the day the numbers are so high at the moment I also feel, she needs a raise. I wrote to my vet today to include her in the decision but if she doesn't reply I will raise tomorrow morning. I can see Binie doesn't feel well with the high numbers.
 
I feel your pain with the libre. Now that Ivy is lingering in the Lo range for several hours, the readings seem to quit. (A distressing feeling, as you said)
I’m ear poking to see where she is and it’s never easy with Ivy.
She pulls away and gets her ear torn up. Ugh.
I hope Binie is better behaved.
Hoping both of our sensors decide to work.
And watch a bunch of videos and read up on applying that Libre. I do it whenever needed. Ivy would never tolerate going to the vet all the time for that?
If I can help you with any information, just let me know :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I feel Ivy and Binie have much in common... :cat::cat:. Binie also doesn't like the poking but in the beginning I thought I would never ever manage. To my surprise I can (sometimes) do it if she is busy with something delicious to eat. At the moment this is the cat drink I mentioned before. But like Ivy she also likes to pull her ear away and I have also torn her ear more than once... :( Or she is shaking her head and her blood is all over the place but not on the teststrip. Yesterday I made one test with the blood drop she threw on my glasses. :facepalm:

Seems like the libre doesn't like to many LOs and HIs. I hope we will both be lucky it keeps on working at least most of the time. I am so impressed you put it on yourself! I already watched a lot of videos from a very good facebook group and bought all the equipment (clippers, skin tack) but the idea to do it myself with this not very cooperative cat still overwhelms me. Binie is also not very fond of going to the vet but we found that one vet in a million who is really a cat whisperer. Before we found her, going to the vet was always a desaster for everyone involved and for most activities Binie needed sedation. The cat whisperer starts every examination with a chat with Binie, her rooms are calm and only for cats and for the examination Binie gets pucked in a blanket with pheromones. She doesn't like it but like that she tolerates a lot like giving blood or rinsing her wound without screaming, biting or hissing. At the end she always gets a treat but usually she waits to come home to eat it. :) Thank you so much for offering help with the application of the libre! I'm sure I will ask if I will have enough courage to try it myself. :facepalm:
 
Back
Top