3/3 Charlie AMPS 371, +2 281, +4 253, +6 225, +8 242, +10 242, PMPS 305

Charlie'sMom22

Active Member
Previous post

I'm wondering if I should switch to TR so I can increase his dose sooner and hopefully get his constipation under control. I'm so stressed out and frustrated that *I'm* having trouble eating now.

This has been going on for months. At first it was 3 days without pooping, then 4, then 5. I was bringing him into the vet weekly and got him back down to 3 days with miralax and pumpkin and a break from the vet. Blood work and X-rays were good (aside from elevated glucose). The vet said to keep giving him time and maybe this was just his new normal. Then I had to bring him back in for urine extraction and fructosamine test and that's when things got bad. He got so scared and started hyperventilating and we had to rush out as soon as the tests were done. He was at day 3 when I brought him in, and then he didn't go for another 4 days (7 total). Then 6 1/2. Now it's 6 1/2 again.

He won't eat psylium husk, and in any case, I don't think fiber is the problem. His wet food is 3% fiber which is what his old raw diet was. I give him 1/2tsp of miralax and about 3 tbsp of pumpkin a day (per the vet since he won't eat psylium husk). He gets plenty of water. Whenever he poops, it's well-formed and not hard at all. By all means a perfect poop, lol. Just a LOT. I've tried the warm washcloth thing and belly rubs and it has worked a couple of times, but he might've just been ready anyway.

I was going to get him some laxatone today to see if that helps but it looks like it has sugar in it. I have probiotics coming in the mail. I'm at my wit's end. Meanwhile he's totally fine and eating, drinking, and playing normally. I really really really don't want to bring him in for an enema because I'm worried that will make things worse--he had one when he was a kitten and became traumatized from it (hence the hyperventilating at the cysto visit).

Does anyone else have experience with constipation this severe and diabetes?
 
Previous post

I'm wondering if I should switch to TR so I can increase his dose sooner and hopefully get his constipation under control. I'm so stressed out and frustrated that *I'm* having trouble eating now.

This has been going on for months. At first it was 3 days without pooping, then 4, then 5. I was bringing him into the vet weekly and got him back down to 3 days with miralax and pumpkin and a break from the vet. Blood work and X-rays were good (aside from elevated glucose). The vet said to keep giving him time and maybe this was just his new normal. Then I had to bring him back in for urine extraction and fructosamine test and that's when things got bad. He got so scared and started hyperventilating and we had to rush out as soon as the tests were done. He was at day 3 when I brought him in, and then he didn't go for another 4 days (7 total). Then 6 1/2. Now it's 6 1/2 again.

He won't eat psylium husk, and in any case, I don't think fiber is the problem. His wet food is 3% fiber which is what his old raw diet was. I give him 1/2tsp of miralax and about 3 tbsp of pumpkin a day (per the vet since he won't eat psylium husk). He gets plenty of water. Whenever he poops, it's well-formed and not hard at all. By all means a perfect poop, lol. Just a LOT. I've tried the warm washcloth thing and belly rubs and it has worked a couple of times, but he might've just been ready anyway.

I was going to get him some laxatone today to see if that helps but it looks like it has sugar in it. I have probiotics coming in the mail. I'm at my wit's end. Meanwhile he's totally fine and eating, drinking, and playing normally. I really really really don't want to bring him in for an enema because I'm worried that will make things worse--he had one when he was a kitten and became traumatized from it (hence the hyperventilating at the cysto visit).

Does anyone else have experience with constipation this severe and diabetes?
Oh Jess I am so sorry to hear Charlie is struggling so much with constipation!

I am not experienced with this issue but wanted to let you know there may be others who are.
I would post this same question on the MAIN page as you may get more people who may have experienced this issue.

I know Tanya's website has lots of good information about many different problems, that could be a resource to read.
https://felinecrf.org/constipation.htm#treatments

Also on this website, you could do a search to see if others have posted about constipation and what they have done.

I hope you get some good ideas to help him feel better and help resolve this issue soon!
Sending you both hugs :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
There's a website for that: https://www.felineconstipation.org/introduction.html

Probiotics can help, what brand did you get?

I presume he's eating all low carb wet food? With the amount you test, you could move to TR. We leave the choice of dosing method to the caregiver as sometimes there are lifestyle issues that impact the decision. We've also seen some people try TR until the numbers start getting better, then slow it down.
 
Oh Jess I am so sorry to hear Charlie is struggling so much with constipation!

I am not experienced with this issue but wanted to let you know there may be others who are.
I would post this same question on the MAIN page as you may get more people who may have experienced this issue.

I know Tanya's website has lots of good information about many different problems, that could be a resource to read.
https://felinecrf.org/constipation.htm#treatments

Also on this website, you could do a search to see if others have posted about constipation and what they have done.

I hope you get some good ideas to help him feel better and help resolve this issue soon!
Sending you both hugs :bighug::cat::bighug:

Thanks so much, Staci :bighug: That site is a good resource and I learned a few things!
 
There's a website for that: https://www.felineconstipation.org/introduction.html

Probiotics can help, what brand did you get?

I presume he's eating all low carb wet food? With the amount you test, you could move to TR. We leave the choice of dosing method to the caregiver as sometimes there are lifestyle issues that impact the decision. We've also seen some people try TR until the numbers start getting better, then slow it down.

I got VisBiome. Someone here recommended it. They actually make one specifically for constipation, so that's the one I got. Should be here in the next couple of days.

Yeah, he's all low carb wet food. I'm going to see how his numbers look tonight and then increase to 2.5 tomorrow morning I think. Want to wait and see how his numbers go tonight now that he's pooped just to be sure. I've started to notice a pattern that they seem to drop quite a bit after a big poop. I think the vet will be a little more receptive to TR dosing method as well. That's good to know people have switched from TR to SLGS once the numbers go down--I'll probably do the same. Thank you so much as always for your help :cat::bighug:
 
Hi Jess I hope the VisBiome that is specifically for constipation helps Charlie. I read the reviews and they all look so so good.
If you decide to increase tomorrow all the best with that. :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Last edited:
Hi Jess I hope the VisBiome that is specifically for constipation helps Charlie. I read the reviews and they all look so so good.
If you decide to increase tomorrow all the best with that. :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:

Thank you!! Everyone had such good things to say, I really hope it works for him. He acts fine but I just know he's got to be so uncomfortable going that long. I started the dose increase this morning!

Thanks again and I hope you have a good day :bighug::cat:
 
Back
Top