3/4 TAZ, AMPS - 164, +1-177, +2-149, +2.5-161, +5.25-219, PMPS - 299, +2-376

SaraMV

Member Since 2022
Do you think we're in for a repeat? I had to call my job to let them know I'll be late, if I can come in at all. He hasn't had a blue at a preshot for a while, except on Saturday. I wanted to make sure I can get a +1. If I'm correct, it should go up from his breakfast, and if not we're likely in for a possible rough ride?

I'm doing a curve on him tomorrow. Unless I have to miss work today, then can I do it today? Are they supposed to be done during a bounce?

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-2-taz-amps-316-5-267-insulin-not-working.260095/
 
Last edited:
This might be a bounce clearing cycle. You can do a curve today. If you don’t see a food bump it could be an active cycle. The +2 will tell even more I think.
 
I'm using an AT2 to test. If I remember correctly, this is what I did on Saturday.

+1 was lower than preshot, so gave a spoonful of food.
+2 was even lower, so gave another spoonful of food.
At +3 we were almost down to 100, so I gave a spoonful of medium carb and got the can of high carb out of cabinet incase we got down to 75.

Does this sound about right? I'm trying to prepare myself ahead of time so I can stay level headed and know what (and when) to do.
 
If the +1 goes up a lot it might be the start of a bounce or a not so active cycle. If just a little or the same as the amps I think the +2 will be more telling. Do you use an auto feeder? You could set it with mc if in doubt.
 
Do you use an auto feeder? You could set it with mc if in doubt.

Thankfully I do. I'm scared that I'll get in trouble at work because I've already missed so much since he was diagnosed, and I'm missing Monday because he has a dental. If his +1 is a lot higher than his AMPS, then I'll go in and finish getting ready and take another reading before walking out the door (should at least be a +1.5). If his +1 is close to his AMPS or lower, I won't chance it and I'll stay home.
 
Sorry. And you don't feel comfortable leaving out food? (I know, I would worry myself sick)
I'm not really familiar with cycles like this because if he has them, I don't catch them. I don't know if he'll continue to drop, or if he's kind of surfing right now. I don't know if I should try to prevent him from dropping?
 
If you feed him a tsp. of LC he probably will stay surfing in blue. It shouldn't disturb his cycle (in other words, it shouldn't send him up). If he's determined to drop, he may anyway and then you will find out.
 
By evening they really had jumped. But it’s not that unusual for him. And you are collecting more data. I hope things at work are okay. And you have the dental coming up on Monday. I pray all goes smoothly for that.
Thank you. Fortunately my job was very understanding. I'm still stressing over the dental though. :(
 
Back
Top