3/6 Mouzer: AMPS 368/+3 361/+6 353/PMPS 302/+2.75 373

How are all the kitties doing without dry food? :)

hahahaha :D And thank you for asking :)
Driving me insane hahaha
I sweet talk them with telling them, just wait a few more minutes, or just wait another hour ... however long til Mouzer eats ...
They will forever be telling me about this :D

I hate seeing Mouzer go up there with these numbers. When I first figured out he was out of remission, his numbers were up there, running 350 on up to 395. I dont know what made it stop getting up above the 370's but I still dont like this in the 370's and certainly not even in the 300's.

Before I made a first post on the board, I had spent several days re-reading around on the sticky notes and other's threads, just refreshing myself as much as I could. I was reminded of the first week with 0.5 or if it were to be 1u, do a curve and see if the dose needs to go up or down. But in all I read, I recall reading something that calls for after three days, then do curve and decide if to take the dose up or down. Do you by chance know what that was in regards to? I keep looking for it again but I have read so much, my mind gets a bit spinning as I go back seeking something from what I read.
 
Why not switch all kitties to wet food? Or a low carb dry food like Young Again Zero Mature or Dr. Elsey's Cleanprotein (chicken variant) if switching them all to low carb canned is not an option? It's always a risk to have high carb food around a diabetic cat. Never know when they'll get into it!

I think you're referring to this sticky on dosing protocols?
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

When you start insulin, you hold the starting dose for a week (unless a reduction is earned). It takes a week for the Lantus depot to build.
 
Why not switch all kitties to wet food? Or a low carb dry food like Young Again Zero Mature or Dr. Elsey's Cleanprotein (chicken variant) if switching them all to low carb canned is not an option? It's always a risk to have high carb food around a diabetic cat. Never know when they'll get into it!

I think you're referring to this sticky on dosing protocols?
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

When you start insulin, you hold the starting dose for a week (unless a reduction is earned). It takes a week for the Lantus depot to build.

@Bandit's Mom
Thank you for the link and I found what I was speaking of but it does appear to me that is for kitties doing the TR.
And thank you for reminding me about the Lantus depot. I knew it took time but I forgot how long - so one week.

There are five kitties who wont eat canned food and there are some who will eat the canned food but opt more for the dry.
I have fed them Merrick Purrfect Bistro Complete Care Grain- Free Sensitive Stomach Recipe Dry Cat Food and that is $35 for a 12 pound bag, which is expensive to me and takes $140 per month. The canned food for all those eating it gets expensive for me, even though it is Friskies. I have one kitty who is 14 and has to eat duck dry for his dry and it is expensive and he is eating a prescribed royal canin canned food, which is near $60 for 24, 5oz cans!!!!! I marked that price because my jaw dropped the first time I had to buy it hahaha

I saw those dry foods mentioned in the FB group and looked them up for pricing and they are quite expensive.
Young Again Zero Mature The 25 pound bag is $136 and I need two per month to cost $272, which is $132 more for the month than the Merrick's I buy.

Dr. Elsey's cleanprotein Chicken Formula Grain-Free Dry Cat Food on Chewy and they are out of stock is $39 for a 6.6 pound bag, which would cost no less than $273 per month, so still that $133 more per month than I am already paying.

As much as I would love to put the dry food cats on one of these foods, it is just too expensive.

--------

Might as well make them all angry at once. How many cats do you have?

@tiffmaxee
There are 20 kitties and 3 dogs in one location and 21 kitties in another location. I have to spend time at both locations, so I am back and forth each day and night and I take turns with staying over night at each location, so they get some over night sleeping love, purr, cuddle time lol I think that is the time they enjoy the most. I dont think I ever met a cat that did not love being able to sleep with a human :D

They were rescued years ago and are in their older ages where quite a many have cost a lot of money at the vet's office. Mostly it has been teeth issues but there have been cancers, bowel issues, liver and kidney issues. There have been two cases of stomatitis that cost a lot to have all teeth extracted and there is another stomatitis kitty who has just happened to now have no teeth left after three times having to have teeth extracted since 2019. One kitty had to be PTS due to congenital heart disease which caused fluid to build up on his lungs.

One kitty who is HIV+ had a severe case of stomatitis. He was at death's door. I had the Pet Dentist specialist to remove all of his teeth but because his case was so severe, he has to take atopica every other day. He is doing well. He is 14 years old now and looking old and we have to feed him special and I will enjoy the time of life he will be with us and surely with a heavy heart the day I have to say goodbye.

Mouzer is one of the stomatitis kitties who got steriod induced diabetes due to the depo-medrol shots given by the vet. I had the Pet Dentist to remove all of Mouzer's teeth, so we dont have the stomatitis issue with him. He did have one flare up last year and the Pet Dentist gave him a covenia shot because he absolutely cannot have that darn steriod shot. That flare up cleared up right away and he has not had another issue so far.

I have to abide by our county laws with yearly county registrations and updated rabies shots. I do not know if the rabies shot could bring Mouzer out of remission or if it is that he got into the dry food when not being detected.
I have never been one to want the vaccines for the kitties but I have to abide by the law. I do not need legal troubles. I am with a 501c3 but I only have one woman who donates to help at this time and all of this does cost a whole lot of money. When I rescued the cats, I made a promise to see their lives through and I have held to that promise. Their aging is costing a lot more than they once did cost but they have always been expensive. With their aging, they seem to be passing away now at an average of three to four per year for the past four years.
 
@Bandit's Mom

I was just reading a post on the fb group and I saw someone say that the Young Again Zero has more calories and the kitties would eat less of it than they do of other dry foods. I was thinking I could buy one 25 pound bag and see how long it lasts, in case they did eat less and it would bring the cost down closer to what I pay now for what the dry food kitties eat.

I do have the Merrick's bags to use up, so I guess I could mix some in with the Young Again and then when all is done, buy another bag of the Young Again and see how long it does last. Of course, I would still have to pick up all dry until the Merrick's is gone, before I could leave the dry out for Mouzer to get a hold of. I keep a three month supply of animal food on hand at all times, especially with the covid ordeal and shipping could run slow, so it could take a bit of time to use up the Merrick's I have on hand.

EDIT: I hope I ordered the right type. I did not notice different types until I already made a purchase. But I will figure that out when it gets here. I did just find not to mix this with another cat food, so I will have to figure out how to get rid of the Merrick's. Maybe they will eat it with a little mixed in, if not, I will have to feed the Merrick's til it is gone and just offer Mouzer the Young Again when it is his feeding time. *scratching my head*

As for the soft stool they mention this could cause, the cats, for the majority, have had a soft stool ever since the majority went on canned food only.
Our vet told me this is normal and he has tested a few of them and they have no medical issues.

Do NOT Mix Young Again with other CAT foods.

Most companies recommend a gradual change over, but mixing foods makes the food smell strange. It’s not like your cat’s regular food and it’s not a new food. Mixing foods will also cause litter box issues like soft stool.
 
Last edited:
@Cherryl & Mouzer you are indeed amazing! I have only 2 senior cats and this last year has been full of vet visits. Sometimes it felt like I couldn't catch a break. I don't know how you do it! :bighug:

Would making home-made raw food work out cheaper?

YA does have more calories and it's possible that your kitties eat less of it. You could try. Dr. Elsey's is much cheaper on sales ($23 for a 6.6lb bag) but those sales happen twice a year or so.

I have one kitty who is 14 and has to eat duck dry for his dry and it is expensive and he is eating a prescribed royal canin canned food, which is near $60 for 24, 5oz cans!!!!! I marked that price because my jaw dropped the first time I had to buy it hahaha
Why is this kitty on a prescription diet?
 
@Cherryl & Mouzer you are indeed amazing! I have only 2 senior cats and this last year has been full of vet visits. Sometimes it felt like I couldn't catch a break. I don't know how you do it! :bighug:

Would making home-made raw food work out cheaper?

YA does have more calories and it's possible that your kitties eat less of it. You could try. Dr. Elsey's is much cheaper on sales ($23 for a 6.6lb bag) but those sales happen twice a year or so.


Why is this kitty on a prescription diet?

I do not think raw homemade would cost less and I do not have time or storage to work it out.
I thought about it quite often over the years but there is more to it than I think I can deal with, even if it were cheaper but I dont think it would be.

Chewy is out of stock with the Dr Elsey's or I would have opted for that from them because I get weekly shipments on auto-ship and I would have loved to have just been able to add this to a shipment. I purchased one bag of Young Again and I did set up auto-ship but I like Chewy and I like supporting Chewy. They have been a good company to me. I will keep a check with Chewy and see if they get Dr Elsey's in stock and order a bag. I think when placing it on auto-ship, those are who get the first of what they have in stock. I have had notice that something was out of stock that was in my auto-ship but most times, I see the site indicate out of stock, but I still get my shipment.

The kitty with prescription diet ...
He is my 14 year old, HIV+, severe stomatitis, amazing to the vet and myself that he is still alive kitty :D
Other than going through a near three year ordeal with severe feline stomatitis and ultimately having all teeth extracted in order to save his life, and he is on atopica every other day, and before all teeth extracted, he was on depo-medrol shots every three weeks for over two years and he came to death's door because the shots stopped working and he could not eat, his bg got up to 150 but he never developed diabetes - which is what happened to Mouzer -- This HIV+ kitty has been healthier than kitties who do not have HIV.

He has lost weight, so I took him in for a full blood work to check everything out. His numbers are all excellent, no thyroid issue either and he only shows anemia. So, the vet gave a vitamin for him to take every other day and told me he is just getting old and all is normal, let him be happy and live out his old age ... and he placed him on a food that he said is what they use often when kitties are in recovery. It is very moist. Oh he also put a hydration thing inside the kitty ... whatever it is they put in the side of their body that is for hydration hahaha The vet told me that all of the kitties could eat it and I laughed and said, I imagine it is pretty expensive, and he said we will see. Yeah hahaha I saw that :D
The food is Royal Canin Veterinary Diet Recovery RS Canned Dog & Cat Food

He loves the food but he also eats American Journey All Life Stages Duck Recipe Grain-Free Dry Cat Food.
The duck is a cooler food for feline stomatitis kitties. He cannot eat other dry foods without it causing an issue and he likes to have a little of this each day. He eats one to two little handfuls each day. He also likes to eat the Friskies, so I offer that prescription food and he sometimes opts to eat the whole portion but sometimes he will eat half of it and then go eat the Friskies with the others. He is rather spoiled rotten. He arrived to me in bad shape and I got him all fixed up and happy and he got spoiled just due to the extra attention his medical needs brought about. Mouzer is spoiled too because he gets extra attention hahaha They are all spoiled but the medical needs kitties get even more spoiled.

I discovered them. I did try to get help for them but the rescues either were full or would not respond, so I took it on.
A lady with money helped me get set up with my 501c3 and proper housing and a safe outside area for the kitties.
My heart is in it very deeply, along with all income hahahaha My daddy always told me that I will know that a man loves me when he will dig deep down in his pockets for me ahahahahaa We can know I so love every single animal in my care and I love all animals.
 
Last edited:
My mind has been befuddled ever since Mouzer's PMPS.
I mean, where did the 302 come from and how did we go from that to 373 within two hours and 45 minutes?

AMPS 368/+3 361/+6 353/PMPS 302/+2.75 373
 
He is largely flat. There is 15-20% meter variance. It looks like he needs more juice. Let's wait till the Lantus depot builds and take call on dose.

If he has been transitioned to canned (no dry), you could look at following TR rather than SLGS. You could get to his optimal dose faster. Leaving him in higher numbers longer could lead to glucose toxicity, neuropathy etc. You know how it is.
 
Back
Top