? 3/7 Herman amps 338 /18.8 mmol/l, +4:84.6/ 4.7mmol/L why such extremes and Random

I am perplexed and anxious by how over the map we are and very concerned by how low he is right now... Is this to be expected? Is he reacting to the treats? Is the Baytril having an effect? I am currently calmly waiting for Herman to settle enough to test again after giving few temptations. So many swings.
Now at 93.6 / 5.2 mmol/l at +4.5 (also wondering the trick to add extra interval tests in the box and still have the colour update..or do I just update colour manually when adding extra checks in an hour). Now back down to 75.6 / 4.2 mmol/L at +5 I’m quite concerned, giving treats at what point should I give syrup…
 
Last edited:
Here is the link to what I think is your previous post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...at-to-do-when-cannot-test-before-shot.265302/ It is dated 1-7, but started on July 2nd, hence my confusion.

First to answer your question. Herman is bouncing. It's a completely normal reaction with cats that are still fairly new to insulin, and even some that have been on insulin a while. As for his numbers now, please give him a couple tsps of his regular low carb food, and test again within the hour. Temptations are very high carb and not a good source of treat. A pure meat treat is a much better option.

To help us help you better, it's best to just list the BG numbers in the US format. The US tab of the spreadsheet has the conversions for you, and you don't need the decimal places on the numbers. That reduces the amount of numbers on the subject line and makes it easier to see what the current situation is.

And one last comment for now - we find that Lantus dose better if you do consistent dosing. You have to get rid of the Caninsulin way of dosing. With Lantus we dose based on the nadirs, or how low the dose is taking the cat, not the preshots. Once you've selected a dosing method, you'll see that it's easier to figure out what to do with the dose. First thing, we stick with the same dose AM and PM, unless either he needs a dose increase, or earns a reduction. You should be shooting 1.5 units all the time, unless the dose needs to change. Depending on what dosing method you are using, he may or may not have earned a reduction today.
 
Here is the link to what I think is your previous post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...at-to-do-when-cannot-test-before-shot.265302/ It is dated 1-7, but started on July 2nd, hence my confusion.

First to answer your question. Herman is bouncing. It's a completely normal reaction with cats that are still fairly new to insulin, and even some that have been on insulin a while. As for his numbers now, please give him a couple tsps of his regular low carb food, and test again within the hour. Temptations are very high carb and not a good source of treat. A pure meat treat is a much better option.

To help us help you better, it's best to just list the BG numbers in the US format. The US tab of the spreadsheet has the conversions for you, and you don't need the decimal places on the numbers. That reduces the amount of numbers on the subject line and makes it easier to see what the current situation is.

And one last comment for now - we find that Lantus dose better if you do consistent dosing. You have to get rid of the Caninsulin way of dosing. With Lantus we dose based on the nadirs, or how low the dose is taking the cat, not the preshots. Once you've selected a dosing method, you'll see that it's easier to figure out what to do with the dose. First thing, we stick with the same dose AM and PM, unless either he needs a dose increase, or earns a reduction. You should be shooting 1.5 units all the time, unless the dose needs to change. Depending on what dosing method you are using, he may or may not have earned a reduction today.
Thank you, still trying to get organized using the right formatting etc I can see how it’s important. I worry when I see such low numbers that he is heading to hypo and desperately try to stop it in its tracks. I’m still too inexperienced to know and trust what is within the normal range and how quickly he might go hypo without intervention. He’s now at 153, 8.5 mmol/L so I probably overdid it with temptations. It’s just so scary. I’ll try to eliminate temptations when I’m worried he is dropping too low going forward.
 
Last edited:
Look at other people’s spreadsheets. Heresy’s one. She too was afraid of hypos. Finally switched to TR and was so afraid that I suggested perhaps she go back to SLGS. She decided to trust the process and now sees flat green and is addicted to green.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/12iiHMXBq_IWUGzi1pHD68qP91vDnQZ-W1admOOljJmc/edit
Thank you so much for that link. I need to calm down I’m sure. Knowledge will help me trust the numbers and make less drastic choices. I’m just so afraid of the worst case scenario.
 
You will get more confident as you see how Herman responds to carbs to keep him safe. When you are home and can monitor try feeding lc or mc and not temptations. Save hc for under 50. Yes at some point that will happen if you don’t overdo mc and hc.

Are you stocked with different carb level foods? You want under 9%, 10-15% and 20-25%. Tge hc will be reserved for low bg. You also need syrup, karo or honey. Then you need to see what he loves in the way of mc and hc. With the hc the carbs are in the gravy. Max loved Soulistic Triple Harmony.
 
You will get more confident as you see how Herman responds to carbs to keep him safe. When you are home and can monitor try feeding lc or mc and not temptations. Save hc for under 50. Yes at some point that will happen if you don’t overdo mc and hc.

Are you stocked with different carb level foods? You want under 9%, 10-15% and 20-25%. Tge hc will be reserved for low bg. You also need syrup, karo or honey. Then you need to see what he loves in the way of mc and hc. With the hc the carbs are in the gravy. Max loved Soulistic Triple Harmony.
Yes I’m mostly well stocked but not in some gravy formulations. Will grab some. Thanks!
 
You will get more confident as you see how Herman responds to carbs to keep him safe. When you are home and can monitor try feeding lc or mc and not temptations. Save hc for under 50. Yes at some point that will happen if you don’t overdo mc and hc.
i am also seeing that carbs might be having a very significant impact on his levels.

Are you stocked with different carb level foods? You want under 9%, 10-15% and 20-25%. Tge hc will be reserved for low bg. You also need syrup, karo or honey. Then you need to see what he loves in the way of mc and hc. With the hc the carbs are in the gravy. Max loved Soulistic Triple Harmony.
 
Normal cat numbers are typically under 5.5 (100). I'm in Canada too, so I speak metric. :) In order to stop a cat from bouncing to higher numbers, they have to spend some time under 100, or those nice higher safe green numbers. Today was a great start.

As for the Temptations, don't worry, everyone over does it at first until they learn how carb sensitive their cat is. Which differs from cat to cat. Some cats will come up with medium carb, some needs carbs over 20. For mine, 16-17% was the sweet spot that brought her up about 30 points. Not all gravy foods are high carb, and not all high carb foods are gravies. Has anyone pointed you to the food charts yet? The one on catinfo here, is a little out of date but a lot of those foods are also available in Canada. The charts list the carb %. You will note the First Mate pate's are also high carb. Some of the Weruva have a gravy and are low carb. And this is a food list with a couple more available in Canada. CANADIAN Food Chart
 
Just want to say hi and to echo that this really does get easier with time. I remember being terrified the first few times Callie's #s were dropping and I definitely overdid high carb and honey on occasion ;) With each test and cycle, you'll gain more knowledge about how Herman responds to Lantus and carbs and as long as you are testing him and have a hypo kit on hand, you have the tools to keep him safe.

Callie was pretty bouncy before becoming more regulated too - you can look at last July through October on her spreadsheet to see what that looked like for us. Also try to check out other kitties' posts and spreadsheets when you have the time. I learned a ton about feline diabetes that way and the more I learned, the more in control/calm I generally felt. And keep posting ... the knowledge and support here are invaluable.

I think the switch to Lantus will really help Herman's numbers. Hang in there, you're doing great!

ps Herman is gorgeous!! :cat:
 
Just want to say hi and to echo that this really does get easier with time. I remember being terrified the first few times Callie's #s were dropping and I definitely overdid high carb and honey on occasion ;) With each test and cycle, you'll gain more knowledge about how Herman responds to Lantus and carbs and as long as you are testing him and have a hypo kit on hand, you have the tools to keep him safe.

Callie was pretty bouncy before becoming more regulated too - you can look at last July through October on her spreadsheet to see what that looked like for us. Also try to check out other kitties' posts and spreadsheets when you have the time. I learned a ton about feline diabetes that way and the more I learned, the more in control/calm I generally felt. And keep posting ... the knowledge and support here are invaluable.

I think the switch to Lantus will really help Herman's numbers. Hang in there, you're doing great!

ps Herman is gorgeous!! :cat:
Thank you! Great advice. I have so much to learn, so nice to be connected to a group who’s been there!
 
Normal cat numbers are typically under 5.5 (100). I'm in Canada too, so I speak metric. :) In order to stop a cat from bouncing to higher numbers, they have to spend some time under 100, or those nice higher safe green numbers. Today was a great start.

As for the Temptations, don't worry, everyone over does it at first until they learn how carb sensitive their cat is. Which differs from cat to cat. Some cats will come up with medium carb, some needs carbs over 20. For mine, 16-17% was the sweet spot that brought her up about 30 points. Not all gravy foods are high carb, and not all high carb foods are gravies. Has anyone pointed you to the food charts yet? The one on catinfo here, is a little out of date but a lot of those foods are also available in Canada. The charts list the carb %. You will note the First Mate pate's are also high carb. Some of the Weruva have a gravy and are low carb. And this is a food list with a couple more available in Canada. CANADIAN Food Chart
Thank you this is all such good info and encouraging!
 
Back
Top