? 3/8 Binie Big drop yesterday and back to high numbers. Dosing right?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Heike & BInie, Mar 8, 2024.

  1. Heike & BInie

    Heike & BInie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2024
    Hello,

    this was my last thread yesterday:
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-7-binie-amps-500-any-advice.287454/

    After I was deperate about the constant high numbers the bg dropped after the injection yesterday from over 500 to 165 in only four hours. I once read, that such a fast drop is a sign of overdosing. Can this be true?

    Now it is back to high numbers (almost 500) and it even rised after the injection.

    I feel quite confused. Am I on the right track with the dosing?

    Thank you for your suggestions!
     
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Heike & BInie
    Hi Heike I'll tag a few members for you to answer your question and take /a look at your SS
    Can you add to your signature from Germany
    Binie is adorable
    @tiffmaxee
    @Bandit's Mom
    @Wendy&Neko
     
    Heike & BInie likes this.
  3. Heike & BInie

    Heike & BInie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2024
    Thank you so much! I will change the signature!
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom GA likes this.
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Big drops are not a sign of too much insulin. They are quite common and can lead to a bounce. She hit into more normal numbers which her body isn’t used to so she bounced. It’s quite common until she gets regulated. Some cats bounce all the way to becoming diet controlled. If the BG falls under 90 you reduce The more time spent in the 100’s the better for her.
     
  5. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    From the Basics sticky an explanation on bounc8ng.


    • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
     
  6. Heike & BInie

    Heike & BInie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2024
    Thank you! That helps a lot. I am sometimes a little confused because some German pages interpret bouncing as a sign of overdosing but the explanation you gave makes sense to me. This diabetes journey is still quite confusing and scaring for me and I appreciate your help so much! Thank you!
     
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It IS confusing ! Keep asking questions. Many vets don’t understand it either.
     
  8. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Bouncing is extremely common for recently diagnosed cats, and even some not so new. I can't recall a cat that hasn't bounced at least somewhat.
     
  9. Heather & Shooter

    Heather & Shooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    What protocol are you following? TR or SLGS?
     
    Heike & BInie likes this.
  10. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I see she is following SLGS it's on her SS, I'm going to ask her to add it to your signature also :cat:
     
  11. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Heike & BInie
    Hi Heike can you add SLGS to your signature also, I see you are following it on your SS thanks Heike :cat:
     
    Heike & BInie likes this.
  12. Heike & BInie

    Heike & BInie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2024
  13. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    You're welcome Heike :cat:
     
    Heike & BInie likes this.
  14. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Heike & BInie
    Hi I think the date in your title for this thread should be March 8th?
     
  15. Heike & BInie

    Heike & BInie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2024
    @Diane Tyler's Mom: Of course... sorry.... I am bit confused at the moment...:oops: I changed it!
     
  16. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    No problem at all Heike :cat:
     
    Heike & BInie likes this.

Share This Page