4/07 Noogi - AMPS 97, +1 99, +8 95, +11 88, PMPS 104, +2 97

Helen + Noogi

Active Member
Yesterday's post

Good morning :cat:

Bit of a muddled start to today. Noogi woke me at +11 (5am) for food. He as at 70 so I gave him some MC to bring him higher before his shot. Then we both overslept, so he got his shot a whole hour late :arghh:. At least his BG was up to 97 by then.

I'm nervous about leaving him today as he has had two morning limes in a row, and I know that even though he has had a reduction he will still be drawing from the depot for this cycle. And now because of the late start I am only going to get a +1 and not a +2. I'm going to have to manage him with carbs in his +1 meal and in his feeder snacks. Half a teaspoon HC added to each of these. Might take him a little high, but rather safe than sorry.

I'll probably only get a chance to check on him at +7 or +8.
 
Last edited:
Yes, the depot will affect his numbers today as well as tomorrow's AM cycle. Better to be safe and carb him up.
I feel like I have built up my confidence to do this now, but I still worry so much when I am away from him :(
I imagine he might not find or eat his snacks, even though he is enormously food-orientated and has taken to putting his paw on the lid of the feeder and whining for it to open. And he has never not eaten HC food when on offer. I know... pizza! :joyful:
 
even though he is enormously food-orientated and has taken to putting his paw on the lid of the feeder and whining
Haha that's pretty cute Noogi.

Sorry you overslept :bighug:. I wish there was a way we didn't have to worry so much while we're away. I guess we just have to trust thy food. Do you use an automatic feeder? Mine will tell me how long he spent at the feeder but we don't use it much so he misses it. I wish they had a camera!

Hope your day is going well.
 
Haha that's pretty cute Noogi
It's adorable. I called it a whine but that's unfair - more of an eep. Noogi's voice is one of the cutest things about him. For a big guy he has a tiny voice. Pretty chatty but never loud. When he goes to the vet he does these very quiet almost silent meows. He really understands the concept of an "inside voice" :D

Do you use an automatic feeder? Mine will tell me how long he spent at the feeder but we don't use it much so he misses it. I wish they had a camera!
I do have an automatic feeder but it is a very basic kind. Went for a simple battery-powered one as I don't have a power point near where he gets fed. It's two slots with a dial that you set to open 1, 2 or however many hours' time. When the time comes it releases and the lid opens. It suits our needs perfectly, even if he has worked out that the good stuff is under the lids :joyful:
It is bewildering how sophisticated automatic feeders have got! I know you can get ones with cameras that dispense kibble, but not sure about a wet food one with a camera.
 
Haha that's pretty cute Noogi.

Sorry you overslept :bighug:. I wish there was a way we didn't have to worry so much while we're away. I guess we just have to trust thy food. Do you use an automatic feeder? Mine will tell me how long he spent at the feeder but we don't use it much so he misses it. I wish they had a camera!

Hope your day is going well.
@Laurie&Petey just get a pet camera (or baby camera). They are inexpensive. I love using it (where Ivy eats, so when I want to watch to see if she eats as the feeder opens up).
Gives me major peace of mind, so helpful!
 
Hi Helen, I hope Noogi ate his snacks today and had a very safe surf while you were out.
He’s looking soooo good!

Have a great day :bighug::cat::bighug:
Thank you! He is doing so well, could not be prouder of my clever boy :D
I checked on him at lunchtime and he was in the high greens and had eaten some but not all of his snacks.

Hope you and Ivy have started the week well :bighug:
 
Best of luck with the reduction , Noogi is looking so good. Is there anywhere you can add to the top of your spreadsheet when Noogi was diagnosed only because so members don't have to keep going back to your signature when he was diagnosed :bighug::bighug::cat:. There would usually be a spot about where is says current insulin
@Helen + Noogi
 
Last edited:
You're doing so well, Helen!! Oversleeping happens to the best of us, but glad his PS number was a bit higher to give you some confidence when you had to leave. He's really working that insulin and you're really working those carbs for him!
Hope you're having a nice day :bighug:
Thanks Briana, today was a good day. Hope you and Binx are having a lovely Monday :bighug:
 
Best of luck with the reduction , Noogi is looking so good. Is there anywhere you can add to the top of your spreadsheet when Noogi was diagnosed only because so members don't have to keep going back to your signature when he was diagnosed :bighug::bighug::cat:. There would usually be a spot about where is says current insulin
@Helen + Noogi
That's weird - it was showing on the World tab but hadn't carried across to the US tab. Should be sorted now :)
 
Oh Noogi!!! Safe surfing, buddy. I know how scary it is with these late/early limes -- Niko threw a lime when I woke up this morning, mere hours before his PS. Thank god I checked because he was acting like he hadn't been fed in a week.

Noogi is otherwise doing so well though :) beautiful numbers.
 
Oh Noogi!!! Safe surfing, buddy. I know how scary it is with these late/early limes -- Niko threw a lime when I woke up this morning, mere hours before his PS. Thank god I checked because he was acting like he hadn't been fed in a week.
Oh my goodness, a +10 lime! That must have given you such a fright Ana. That ravenous hunger is something else. I like to think if Noogi has a surprise dip while I'm home he will come and tell me by asking for food, but my big worry is one happens when I'm not here. So glad you caught Niko's one. Hope he clears the bounce and does well on the reduced dose.

Noogi is otherwise doing so well though :) beautiful numbers.
Thank you! Today was a good day, always such a relief when he decides to stick to the 90s and not given me anxiety with numbers in the 50s
 
Oh my goodness, a +10 lime! That must have given you such a fright Ana. That ravenous hunger is something else. I like to think if Noogi has a surprise dip while I'm home he will come and tell me by asking for food, but my big worry is one happens when I'm not here. So glad you caught Niko's one. Hope he clears the bounce and does well on the reduced dose.


Thank you! Today was a good day, always such a relief when he decides to stick to the 90s and not given me anxiety with numbers in the 50s

Me too, I think similarly to you -- hoping that Niko will let me know if he's too low but also worried to leave him alone lol!

And yes, the 90-80s are less anxiety inducing than the 50's he keeps throwing you!! But so, so sweet for those reductions :P
 
I am absolutely a broken record (sorry), but as always, Noogi's spreadsheet is such a huge inspiration and hope! I remember when you were struggling along with us with the same things and now look at him!! Incredible!

(Also, I absolutely love with big ol' kitties have lil squeaky voices, and the "inside voice" whisper meows! So cute!! Xander has two modes: that, and a chainsmoker of 40 years. There's basically no middle. :joyful:)
 
I am absolutely a broken record (sorry), but as always, Noogi's spreadsheet is such a huge inspiration and hope! I remember when you were struggling along with us with the same things and now look at him!! Incredible!

(Also, I absolutely love with big ol' kitties have lil squeaky voices, and the "inside voice" whisper meows! So cute!! Xander has two modes: that, and a chainsmoker of 40 years. There's basically no middle. :joyful:)
Don't apologize, and thank you :bighug:
I feel like there are a group of us that found this place at around the same time, and our boys have followed similar patterns of some early jumps to blues and greens, with major bouncing, and then long periods of being stuck in the dreaded yellow and pinks. Noogi was maybe the first to break that cycle of insulin resistance and move towards proper regulation, and I can't wait til Xander, Binx, Charlie, Petey and the others get there too. I really don't think it was anything I did - Noogi has been leading the way this whole time, and all I am doing is trying to keep up! And flinging down small bowls of MC and HC food to make his journey as steady and controlled as possible :D
 
Last edited:
Don't apologize, and thank you :bighug:
I feel like there are a group of us that found this place at around the same time, and our boys have followed similar patterns of some early jumps to blues and greens, with major bouncing, and then long periods of being stuck in the dreaded yellow and pinks. Noogi was maybe the first to break that cycle of insulin resistance and move towards proper regulation, and I can't wait til Xander, Binx, Charlie, Petey and the others get there too. I really don't think it was anything I did - Noogi has been leading the way this whole time, and all I am doing is trying to keep up! And flinging down small bowls of MC and HC food to make his journey as steady and controlled as possible :D

Keeping him steady and controlled (and safe!) is a big thing in itself and worthy of praise! I hope the rest our boys can take a hint from Noogi and follow his trend!
 
Back
Top