4/08 Noogi - AMPS 86, +2 50, +2.5 92, +5 90, +11 103, PMPS 99

4th cycle on this dose, so it's no longer the higher depot. Go Noogi!
Too soon to reduce again? I should stick with this dose for now and see if it happens again?

I had to go home at +5 so checked on him then and he as only at 90. I expected higher as I loaded him up on quite a lot of HC. Is it normal that as they get more regulated they tolerate carbs better without a big spike, or is that just Noogi?
Or is it just the dose of insulin needed something to work on and he processed the extra carbs already?
 
Too soon to reduce again? I should stick with this dose for now and see if it happens again?

I had to go home at +5 so checked on him then and he as only at 90. I expected higher as I loaded him up on quite a lot of HC. Is it normal that as they get more regulated they tolerate carbs better without a big spike, or is that just Noogi?
Or is it just the dose of insulin needed something to work on and he processed the extra carbs already?
Great questions, Helen! I hope you get some concrete answers there.
Seems a good idea to give more carbs to keep Noogi safe today.
He’s really working his doses and needs less and less.
That’s all great news!!
Be safe Noogi :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Too soon to reduce again? I should stick with this dose for now and see if it happens again?
See where he is at PMPS and if you get a green PS despite all the carbs today, it might be OK to take another reduction. If you could have monitored closely, I might have suggested holding the dose a little longer, but like I keep saying, he has flipped a switch and better to be more conservative since you can't be around to keep pumping him with carbs to keep him over 50.

I had to go home at +5 so checked on him then and he as only at 90. I expected higher as I loaded him up on quite a lot of HC. Is it normal that as they get more regulated they tolerate carbs better without a big spike, or is that just Noogi?
Or is it just the dose of insulin needed something to work on and he processed the extra carbs already?
You see this in cats with an overfull depot or cats who have flipped a switch and are racing down the dosing ladder. All the carbs you give them are burnt through!
 
See where he is at PMPS and if you get a green PS despite all the carbs today, it might be OK to take another reduction. If you could have monitored closely, I might have suggested holding the dose a little longer, but like I keep saying, he has flipped a switch and better to be more conservative since you can't be around to keep pumping him with carbs to keep him over 50.
Ha, he's on 103 at +11, so not a green after all :p

Since I saw him 11ish he has eaten the second snack in his feeder, which would also have some HC in it, probably around +6 or 6.5 So if he's used up this mornings insulin burning all the carbs that might account for the rise now later in the cycle.

Maybe I should take the reduction anyway just to see him safer for the rest of this week if he is still busy with the race down.

Edited to add: went down to 0.75u even though he hasn't officially earned it. Just need him to slow down a little so I can catch my breath.
 
Last edited:
Good luck on that reduction, Helen and Noogi! His pancreas is really pulling up the slack right now.

Check your spreadsheet date for today--it has yesterday's date.
 
Let's go, Noogi!! :D:D He's really keeping you on your toes, but I love to see his progress. You're doing great managing all of this sudden movement from him.
Hope you have a calm night :bighug:
 
Back
Top