? 4/10 Bijan AMPS 298

bijer

Member Since 2022
Hi Everyone, its been a rollercoaster past few weeks with managing Bijan and my travel schedule, ever since we switched to meter reading from the libre its been tough to get him used to the ear pricks. But the libre was too stressful on the both of us it would go off constantly all day and night and I realized it was causing me a bit of stress to the point where I had a lot of hair loss. So now with the meter I am not able to test him as much as I would like. We switched over to Tiki cat and he seems to love it and does more of a free munch throughout the day since he had a history of bouncing quite a bit. He seems to have leaned out some too.

I opted to revert back to SLGS because I couldn't test him as frequently and his vetted wanted a consistent read on a steady dose for one month. I think it actually may have helped his bouncing subdue a bit. In March we took Bijan to get a fructosamine test and he was in the 400 range, about 50 pts lower than when he was diagnosed. She said it was better but not ideal.

I am wondering how you think we are doing? I am worried since he is not seeing the best progress yet and his vet is not the most optimistic that I am not being aggressive enough with his dosing. Bijan seems to be feeling better though he is more talkative and active in the evening and loves his food. Every once and a while when he goes over 300 he will pee more than usual. I'll probably up him to 2.25 tomorrow. Am I wrong for wanting to take it slower - will this cause more harm in the long-run and lessen his chances of going into remission?
 
Without any tests at night past pmps you only have half of the picture and cats often go lower at night. It’s quite possible the pinks you see at amps are because he’s dropping lower at night. Cats do have the best chance at remission if the bg is controlled early but some become diet controlled later.

Based upon his day nadirs even following SLGS you could increase but I worry about the lack of tests at night.
 
I think i need to shoot earlier like 7/8 right now it's at about 10 which makes it basically impossible to test at night. I'll try that
 
I think i need to shoot earlier like 7/8 right now it's at about 10 which makes it basically impossible to test at night. I'll try that

That sounds like a good idea. Try and get to a time that you can get a +2 or before bed test at night. If you decide to switch your time you need to do it slowly. You would shoot 25 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes early every 24 hours.
 
Back
Top