4/10 Brian pm +2 49 +4 70 +5 65

I keep coming to wish you a good day. I am confused by your 4/10 title date and at pm for bg. I can only guess you are not in my area :)
I see you are busy with Brian right now, so I will get on out of here and let you tend to it.
I just wanted to let you know I see you hahaha
 
I keep coming to wish you a good day. I am confused by your 4/10 title date and at pm for bg. I can only guess you are not in my area :)
I see you are busy with Brian right now, so I will get on out of here and let you tend to it.
I just wanted to let you know I see you hahaha
Haha, I am in Australia, but I try to switch the date around to American standard! Thank you I appreciate that :)
 
I am in Australia too. I get the date thing....very confusing the way they write it!

Ok I’d test again at +4 to see he is not dropping again
Fellow aussie! Haha yeah, I still get a moment of huh when I write it.

Okay will do, cheers for being here

I'm guessing because he's had that same dose tonight, and nadirs late in the cycle that I need to be even more vigilant at +6 onwards too? If he doesn't end up bouncing ofc
 

Fellow aussie! Haha yeah, I still get a moment of huh when I write it.

Okay will do, cheers for being here

I'm guessing because he's had that same dose tonight, and nadirs late in the cycle that I need to be even more vigilant at +6 onwards too? If he doesn't end up bouncing ofc
It’s possible he could drop again as it is still early in the cycle so I’d keep an eye on the BG until he tells you otherwise
 
Brian is making good progress. You are so calm with that 49. I would be tearing my hair out.
I'm really so relieved he's going in the right direction overall, he was not a happy cat for awhile there. I was stressed for a hot minute, helped that as soon as he smelt that MC he was so happy and energetic. I had kinda expected him to drop to that at some point too so prepared myself in that sense. Still is scary though!
 
I'm really so relieved he's going in the right direction overall, he was not a happy cat for awhile there. I was stressed for a hot minute, helped that as soon as he smelt that MC he was so happy and energetic. I had kinda expected him to drop to that at some point too so prepared myself in that sense. Still is scary though!
You are so fortunate that he has a good appetite when he gets really low. Some poor folks on this site really struggle to get their cats to eat when they desperately need to. Question for you Nate. Do you see an improvement in Brian's well being with the lower numbers (blues and greens)? Does he seem happier and more active?
 
You are so fortunate that he has a good appetite when he gets really low. Some poor folks on this site really struggle to get their cats to eat when they desperately need to. Question for you Nate. Do you see an improvement in Brian's well being with the lower numbers (blues and greens)? Does he seem happier and more active?
I've had two times total where he hasn't eaten at least a few bites when I serve it up, and it was really frustrating, I can imagine there would be that extra stress trying to get a kitty to comply.

Huge improvement once he has majority blues and greens. Last 7 days was where he really perked up. Before that he was drinking water constantly and just so flat and no energy, for Brian the yellows didn't even help too much. Once in the greens he was playing a lot and pouncing like a kitten and very interactive. Honestly was night and day.
 
Why is it that we can't list at least what Country we're in on our signature or profile? It's so confusing here trying to keep up with where people are in the world...I mean really? Is someone going to find you in an entire country? I've had my city, state, etc. listed for years and have never had an issue...I'd say something about 'go ahead' let them try and find me...I'll have a nasty surprise waiting for them...but that's probably not the right thing to say on this forum, LOL! :facepalm::p:D:eek:

Looks like you're in great hands Brian! Keep up the good work!!
 
I've had two times total where he hasn't eaten at least a few bites when I serve it up, and it was really frustrating, I can imagine there would be that extra stress trying to get a kitty to comply.

Huge improvement once he has majority blues and greens. Last 7 days was where he really perked up. Before that he was drinking water constantly and just so flat and no energy, for Brian the yellows didn't even help too much. Once in the greens he was playing a lot and pouncing like a kitten and very interactive. Honestly was night and day.
Good to know. I want Susie to feel better so she becomes more active. Exercise is so important - especially for a diabetic kitty.
 
You are so fortunate that he has a good appetite when he gets really low. Some poor folks on this site really struggle to get their cats to eat when they desperately need to. Question for you Nate. Do you see an improvement in Brian's well being with the lower numbers (blues and greens)? Does he seem happier and more active?

Mouzer had dropped to 47 at a pmps +1.5. He was at pmps +1 68, so I fed 2 tsp of HC, preparing for a low. So, when we got to +1.5 with a 47 and I needed him to eat, he refused hahaha And SO! Because I freaked out, he got a big swab, glob of Karo put on his gums and all around in his mouth hahaha He stayed up for the duration of getting to nadir. I even sent him to the blues with that karo, for an hour and a half :D

The reason I went for the karo is because not too long ago, the honey did nothing for him, but the karo did at that time. So, I was not wasting time with honey and went for the karo. That first time I used the karo, I noticed the karo worked for two to three hours, and it did again on this last time where he got the big, swab, glob - and it may have lasted longer than two or three hours, but I cannot be certain.
 
Good to know. I want Susie to feel better so she becomes more active. Exercise is so important - especially for a diabetic kitty.
I'm really new, buuuut looking at your chart I'm sure she is on the verge of really starting to get in a good range so I'm sure once she's feeling normal she'll be active. Brian is approx 12-13 and he hasn't been very active for almost a year until now (was diabetic for a good amount of time before diagnosis, in retrospect), I just put it down to age. I know they are all different, but I do think Susie will have to feel much better once in the greens!
 
Why is it that we can't list at least what Country we're in on our signature or profile? It's so confusing here trying to keep up with where people are in the world...I mean really? Is someone going to find you in an entire country? I've had my city, state, etc. listed for years and have never had an issue...I'd say something about 'go ahead' let them try and find me...I'll have a nasty surprise waiting for them...but that's probably not the right thing to say on this forum, LOL! :facepalm::p:D:eek:

Looks like you're in great hands Brian! Keep up the good work!!
I agree with you, Sue. It helps to know where people are and I can't imagine scammers being interested in people with diabetic cats.
 
I'm really new, buuuut looking at your chart I'm sure she is on the verge of really starting to get in a good range so I'm sure once she's feeling normal she'll be active. Brian is approx 12-13 and he hasn't been very active for almost a year until now (was diabetic for a good amount of time before diagnosis, in retrospect), I just put it down to age. I know they are all different, but I do think Susie will have to feel much better once in the greens!
She actually had one of her best, active days yesterday and was yellow all day. I am one of those that is very nervous about the greens. Anything under 70 will probably have me quite stressed but maybe, with time, experience and data, I could get used to it. Brian's age would also make a difference. I'm happy to hear he is doing so much better.
 
Last edited:
She actually had one of her best, active days yesterday and was yellow all day. I am one of those that is very nervous about the greens. Anything under 70 will probably have me quite stressed but maybe, with time, experience and date, I could get used to it. Brian's age would also make a difference. I'm happy to hear he is doing so much better.
That's really really good. I read something about the renal threshold being under 250? I think? Maybe just having her that little bit lower is making all the difference! I think with the greens the anticipation is worse, once you're there and testing all the time and seeing kitty is doing well the stress lessens a lot. I made posts every day of greens until yesterday so definitely felt it!
 
Mouzer had dropped to 47 at a pmps +1.5. He was at pmps +1 68, so I fed 2 tsp of HC, preparing for a low. So, when we got to +1.5 with a 47 and I needed him to eat, he refused hahaha And SO! Because I freaked out, he got a big swab, glob of Karo put on his gums and all around in his mouth hahaha He stayed up for the duration of getting to nadir. I even sent him to the blues with that karo, for an hour and a half :D

The reason I went for the karo is because not too long ago, the honey did nothing for him, but the karo did at that time. So, I was not wasting time with honey and went for the karo. That first time I used the karo, I noticed the karo worked for two to three hours, and it did again on this last time where he got the big, swab, glob - and it may have lasted longer than two or three hours, but I cannot be certain.


In my experience I have always found honey works fine in bringing up the BGs.
ECID but normally honey and karo only last around an hour or an hour and a half and you need to be testing the BGs to make sure the cat is not dropping as the honey / Karo wears off. You need to follow it with some food.
We need to be careful saying things like ‘I was not wasting time with honey” or ‘Karo lasts two or three hours’ or “ karo may have lasted longer than two or three hours but I cannot be certain”, without qualifying these statements because lots of people, especially newbies, read these threads looking for information and we don’t want them to get the incorrect information about something. I would qualify these statements by saying something like....”this is just for my cat so don’t follow what I do” or”Karo and honey normally only last 1 to 1 1/2 hours so you need to keep testing and follow the honey and Karo with food and see what works for your cat”
 
Nate
Brian is doing really well for a newly diagnosed kittty. Do you give him snacks normally during the cycles?
I see you are feeding a raw diet. Do you make it your self?
 
Nate
Brian is doing really well for a newly diagnosed kittty. Do you give him snacks normally during the cycles?
I see you are feeding a raw diet. Do you make it your self?
Hey. Thank you I'm glad he is responding :)
I give him fancy feast pate for breakfast and dinner. He has left over ff can around +2. Then I give him raw (either from the butcher or caught fish) at +8 ish, the butcher makes a finely ground mince for me that has offcuts and soft bone, sometimes just beef offcuts though. I fish a lot and get given a lot of freshly caught fish, he goes through a fair bit of that
 
He went from 70 to 65 at +5...so I fed Brian another 1.5tbsp of 15% carb. At +4 he had almost a whole can of ff but BG still dropped. I'm thinking it must be an active cycle and I'm worried he won't have room for a +7/6 nadir without going too low? Probably not enough consistency in my spreadsheet, but I *think* he is tending to dip at +6/7 then again at +11
 
He is surfing along nicely at the moment. When he is doing what he is doing at the moment..ie surfing along in green numbers... the curve tends to be a flat curve. So he may well just stay in numbers around what he is in at the moment. But you will need to keep a close eye on him.
I would just give him a small snack (around a teaspoon or 2 of low carb) each time you test, unless he drops under 50 and then I would give a higher carb. You don’t really want him to drop too low again this cycle as he has earned the reduction.)

Did you know it is not a good idea to feed cats much fish?
What sort of fish is it.? Do you feed raw or cooked fish?
A lot of fish has thiaminase which stops the absorption of thiamin in cats which is a necessary mineral for cats.

**Remember to take the reduction down to 3.25 units next dose.
 
In my experience I have always found honey works fine in bringing up the BGs.
ECID but normally honey and karo only last around an hour or an hour and a half and you need to be testing the BGs to make sure the cat is not dropping as the honey / Karo wears off. You need to follow it with some food.
We need to be careful saying things like ‘I was not wasting time with honey” or ‘Karo lasts two or three hours’ or “ karo may have lasted longer than two or three hours but I cannot be certain”, without qualifying these statements because lots of people, especially newbies, read these threads looking for information and we don’t want them to get the incorrect information about something. I would qualify these statements by saying something like....”this is just for my cat so don’t follow what I do” or”Karo and honey normally only last 1 to 1 1/2 hours so you need to keep testing and follow the honey and Karo with food and see what works for your cat”

Mouzer is weird lol honey dont do anything at all for him but the karo hangs onto him for the two to three hours.
Mouzer was tested for it all the way, so I do know those things for fact :)
And ECID And That Is Mouzer lolol Leave it to Mouzer :joyful:
I do not advise anyone to follow Mouzer and it is on his SS and I often say, Mouzer is weird :)
 
Nate --

Brian is looking great and you're doing a wonderful job of steering his numbers. I'm glad Bron posted the reminder to take a reduction.
Thank you! Truly all thanks to the advice here that he's doing well! Crazy how much having data and a protocol to follow helps. I'd be so stressed if I didn't have all his data from frequent testing! (anyone new that might read this, it's worth testing as much as you can)
 
What a great transition on that spreadsheet! :D I also love hearing about how cats start feeling like their old selves again once they get into good numbers.
I read something about the renal threshold being under 250?
This varies by cat, and whether you are using a pet meter or a human meter. We've had some people see their cats spill sugar in the urine in the mid-upper 100's, for my cat it was around 220.

For those wanting location information visible about yourselves, it's easy to put it in your profile. If you click on your name on the top right, there is a drop down entry for "Personal Details" and you can put location in there. Then when you click on the persons name under their avatar, a pop up appears, and shows location if you've entered it.
 
Back
Top