4/11 Jude AMPS 141; +2 109; +4 85; +6 97; +8 89 / PMBG 82

Mary & Jude

Member Since 2024
Hi all! Jude was due a .25 dose reduction (new dose=.25) with yesterday's PM shot, but he tested 84 @PMPS, so I withheld the shot; he tested 114 @+2 of PMPS.

His AMPS today was 141, and I administered the new .25 dose (or at least I hope I did because that's a very small amount of insulin:)).
 
Last edited:
Could someone look at Jude's sheet and offer suggestions about dosing going forward, please. Jude has gone below 90 today; do I take him to a lower dose?
 
Could someone look at Jude's sheet and offer suggestions about dosing going forward, please. Jude has gone below 90 today; do I take him to a lower dose?
I would think you reduce at your next shot since Jude went under 90 today and on SLGS. But let’s check with some experts to get you proper guidance. I’m not sure who may be around tonight.
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Angela & Cleo @Christie & Maverick
 
upload_2024-4-11_17-33-56.jpeg


Here’s a picture.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-4-11_17-33-56.jpeg
    upload_2024-4-11_17-33-56.jpeg
    11.4 KB · Views: 169
That is correct. Good luck with the reduction. The dose will be 0.10. You can find a picture on the fine dosing sticky which I will link.
If he is below 90 tonight on his PMPS, do I still go with .10 or withhold the shot? He did that last night; he was 84, and I withheld his shot.
 
Interesting AMPS today, considering you skipped last night. To get to 0.1u you could try and draw up to the 0.5u line, then gently rotate the plunger and squeeze out a couple of drops which should be around 0.25u then squeeze out one more drop. I think in the past I asked about your feeding schedule, that would be something to note in the comments, although I see you’ve been adding the BG tests, which isn’t necessary since you have those on your SS ;). Jude is looking like he likes Lantus, especially noting you are still using the pet meter.

You may want to catch a +11 and see then where he is at PMPS. When you get a lower preshot, you can stall, not feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the numbers are rising in their own. You could also perhaps test at +11 which gives you an indication of whether he is still flat then or rising into PMPS.
 
I guess we cross-posted. I didn’t realize you would be at PMPS already. He’s stayed pretty flat since your +4 test earlier today. Nothing wrong with skipping tonight and seeing how you go tomorrow on 0.1u. Jude does seem to be on a bit of a mission.
 
I fed him after the PMPS. I will skip tonight.
In terms of feeding, I withhold food two hours before each AM/PM PS. Otherwise, I allow him to graze, but he's not much of an eater, in general. I have cut out all kibble from his diet--he was only getting 1/8 cup of Royal Canin Calm and a few Temptations a day, but it's possible the elimination of these high carb foods are having a positive impact on his BG levels. I don't know. I'm glad he is doing so well on Lantus. Thanks for your help!!

Oh, and I add the testing info in the remarks to remind me when I tested, etc. I probably should limit that, though (you're right). I'll begin adding food info.
 
Right! I remember now :). Yes indeed, some cats just get remarkable improvement once the dry food is removed. Paws crossed. Considering you are using the pet meter, and seeing how he has been trending on such a low dose so soon after just starting Lantus, and how he did after skipping last night, I really do feel skipping this evening is the right choice.
 
When following SLGS, it's recommended you do not shoot below 90. You either skip or delay until he's high enough. I like the idea of seeing what he'll do with the skip.

Small request, when we don't shoot, we don't call it PMPS (PM Preshot), but rather PMBG (PM blood glucose), or just plain old +12. Otherwise someone looking at the subject heading might think you shot.
 
Back
Top