4/11 Nellie AMPS 128 ; 64 @ 1.5 +2 79; 63 @ 2.5; +3 69; 53 @ 3.25; 63 @ 3.75

Skyynett

Member Since 2022
Lotta greens last night and this am, I am monitoring her closely. Numbers in title are for her Libre.

Here are her alphatrak numbers, which mentally just make me feel better but I am closely monitoring ofc.
AMPS 144 +1 122 +2 113 @ 2.5; 89 @ 3.25

She has been getting LC but at the 53 number I gave HC (1tsp). Almost time for her +4 which I will post.

4/8 post https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-8-nellie-amps-199-2-249-6-234-pmps-294.261762/
 
Last edited:
Her +4 was LO on the Libre, which means it was either at 50 or below. I did a check on the alphatrak and it was at 97. I know the libre is 10-15 min behind, which means her BG will start going up on the Libre. Gave more HC.

I will see how she does the rest of the day - I am thinking with the LO reading on the Libre she has earned a reduction but I know I have a while to go today.

@tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA)

edit to add: she is bright eyed and alert. Hid under the bed for a second there but now out and ate her HC. reading is going up on the Libre as expected.
 
A drop below 68 on the AT is a dose reduction. 50 on a human meter/Libre.

The Libre does give some wonky readings. I have a meter that does that and I cross check it with another meter. I once got a LO which was 55 on the other meter.
LO means below 25 or 30...not sure.

You could take a reduction to be safe and if it doesn't hold, always go back up in dose.
 
@Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee thinkin you are both correct - Sending along a screenshot of her readings today. You can see the Lo registering below 50 (the app isn't perfect and the lines themselves connecting the dots, which are scans, dont actually connect them). It's hard to see, but in general she goes up and down quite a bit, which I understand is normal. The Libre caught the 50 (or possibly below) since it measures glucose every minute, but she didn't linger at these levels and went up by the time I got the alphatrak reading.

Just for additional info, at +7 she scanned at 53 then 63 two min later. I then did an alphatrak check and there she was at 154. I did a reading with the ReliOn just in case too, and it was at 126. Five min later, the Libre read 128. So all in all makes sense.

I know the alphatrak recordings will be higher regardless, but in general they make me feel better about staying with this dose now that I have a couple from today and I can see she hasn't gotten to 68 yet. It's just the Libre low glucose alarms sure are alarming!

That said, I'll see where she is trending as we get closer to shot time. I'm sure I will ask for advice, stay tuned!
GetAttachmentThumbnail

thumbnail_IMG_7614.png

GetAttachmentThumbnail
 
Last edited:
@tiffmaxee - Libre was at 106 at +11, then 117 @ 11.75. Did PMPS and suddenly it was 53. Alpha trak reads 180 and relion reads 138. Trying again with the Libre but it’s saying to try again in ten min. Am thinking it’s ok to do the full dose, due in then min after she’s eaten, but I wanted to double check. Do you think I’ll have to monitor all night? Super tired and could use the rest
 
Sorry. Just seeing this. I would go with the AT or Relion. Seee where she is at +2in terms of testing time. Last night I would have gone to bed at +6.
 
Last edited:
Thanks @tiffmaxee ! Looks like she is at 145 for +2. The Libre has a built in alarm for anything under 55 so I have that fail safe as well. Last night had another alarm set to alert under 80 but feeling more comfortable with those numbers now so will turn that one off.
 
If you are comfortable with lower numbers (that's great! :-)) then it's okay to hold the dose like Elise suggested. The Libre is a great tool for people who can't test but it does give some sudden and short-lived dives.

Btw, I think you mean 57 @+4.5 on your SS for this morning?
 
@Bandit's Mom yes now that she has been in the blues and greens more I’ve been pondering taking the Libre off soon and switch to testing. Just w the alarm itself not being able to be turned off under 55 last night and today I felt so bad for my poor partner + neighbors!

and I did indeed thank you for catching that!!

Btw my name is Laura :) thanks so much for your help today
 
Great! If you are comfortable testing, then there is no need for the Libre. You can just take it off after the 14 day period is over.

Do you mind adding your name to your Signature. We do remember names once we start interacting regularly with members, but it's helpful to have them in the Signature :-)
 
Back
Top