? 4/11 Noogi - AMPS 148, +2 86, PMPS 113, +1 113, +2 85, +3 70 - question re unusual hunger

Helen + Noogi

Active Member
Question in post #12 below

Yesterday's post

Happy Friday :)

Noogi doing well. Seeing a few higher blues but then down to greens again.
Presume I just keep on keeping on?

Just realized today marks five months since Noogi's diagnosis. I know we'd be in a very different place if I hadn't found this community. I'm grateful all for the support. Special shoutout to Bhooma for her expert guidance. Thank you, thank you :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Yesterday's post

Happy Friday :)

Noogi doing well. Seeing a few higher blues but then down to greens again.
Presume I just keep on keeping on?

Just realized today marks five months since Noogi's diagnosis. I know we'd be in a very different place if I hadn't found this community. I'm grateful all for the support. Special shoutout to Bhooma for her expert guidance. Thank you, thank you :bighug:
Noogi is doing wonderfully thanks to your amazing care, Helen!! :D:D:D
Hope you both have a great weekend :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Great seeing Noogi doing so well and finding those greens! :D I wonder when in the late PM cycle he's going up, but not a fun time to be checking BG.
Hope you're having a great day, Helen :bighug:
 
Yesterday's post

Happy Friday :)

Noogi doing well. Seeing a few higher blues but then down to greens again.
Presume I just keep on keeping on?

Just realized today marks five months since Noogi's diagnosis. I know we'd be in a very different place if I hadn't found this community. I'm grateful all for the support. Special shoutout to Bhooma for her expert guidance. Thank you, thank you :bighug:

HAPPY FIVE MONTHS! :) Noogi is doing AWESOME.

This community is great. My vet is AMAZING but had we followed her advice, Niko would still be dancing with ketones daily and sitting at a dose of 1.00U. Maybe that'd eventually heal his pancreas but it would take longer for sure. This group actually prompted me to send her the R&R protocol and study, she was very interested. She told me in her experience, only a third of diabetic cats were able to achieve remission, probably a slightly larger portion that were able to regulate. In the same sentence, she also told me that HC dry food was okay and didn't affect diabetes management (lol). I think there is a lot of misinformation with vets, even specialists, but there are some really good ones and she is great in the sense that she lets us do our own dose changes because we test Niko so regularly. I get it, vets would generally want to prevent hypoglycemia with their clients, so that takes priority.
 
Great seeing Noogi doing so well and finding those greens! :D I wonder when in the late PM cycle he's going up, but not a fun time to be checking BG.
Hope you're having a great day, Helen :bighug:
Thanks Briana. And yeah, I should probably do a few of those 2am and 4am tests again. I've actually been sleeping a bit better so haven't had too many natural middle-of-the-night wake-ups. But I am loathe to set an alarm :arghh:
Today I wasn't able to get home to rest at lunch and boy, the worry! He was *very* hungry when I did get back later. Hope that isn't a sign he went too low mid-cycle. Or it could be that he just missed the extra little snack he usually gets when I pop home on a weekday? :p

Hope you and Binx are having a pleasant Friday :bighug:
 
HAPPY FIVE MONTHS! :) Noogi is doing AWESOME.

This community is great. My vet is AMAZING but had we followed her advice, Niko would still be dancing with ketones daily and sitting at a dose of 1.00U. Maybe that'd eventually heal his pancreas but it would take longer for sure. This group actually prompted me to send her the R&R protocol and study, she was very interested. She told me in her experience, only a third of diabetic cats were able to achieve remission, probably a slightly larger portion that were able to regulate. In the same sentence, she also told me that HC dry food was okay and didn't affect diabetes management (lol). I think there is a lot of misinformation with vets, even specialists, but there are some really good ones and she is great in the sense that she lets us do our own dose changes because we test Niko so regularly. I get it, vets would generally want to prevent hypoglycemia with their clients, so that takes priority.
Thank you Ana :bighug:

I have had a similar experience with my vet. He's lovely and has some experience with diabetes. But I did also get some very poor advice regarding food, and I don't remember ever having a conversation about the possibility of remission. I've since filled him in on how I am managing Noogi, showed him our spreadsheet etc, and he was very interested, and happy to let me do my thing :)
 
Thanks Briana. And yeah, I should probably do a few of those 2am and 4am tests again. I've actually been sleeping a bit better so haven't had too many natural middle-of-the-night wake-ups. But I am loathe to set an alarm :arghh:
Today I wasn't able to get home to rest at lunch and boy, the worry! He was *very* hungry when I did get back later. Hope that isn't a sign he went too low mid-cycle. Or it could be that he just missed the extra little snack he usually gets when I pop home on a weekday? :p

Hope you and Binx are having a pleasant Friday :bighug:

Uh truly, the middle of the night alarm is dreadful!! Sometimes my curiosity wins the debate of setting one, but usually I opt for sleep if numbers are okay :oops: And Noogi's numbers are definitely a-okay!!
Also always so difficult when we have to be away during the day. Sorry you had to miss your extra little snack, Noogi :p Looks like his PM numbers are pretty good! Hopefully no too low mid-cycle - surf safely tonight :cat:
 
I have a question/would like some input on others' experiences, or pointed in the direction of the relevant Sticky if applicable please (had a quick look but couldn't see anything).

Noogi is exceptionally hungry this evening. I've fed him four times already (at +2.5). And he is especially talkative, as he is is trying to communicate something to me (similar to when he needs to poop and has to tell me all about it first). I reckoned it was hunger (normal for him to ask for food in this way too - and he keeps going to his food bowl) and so have fed him more food several times. But now he has eaten more that enough and still wants more.

He's not overly distressed, had enjoyed a brush and some petting. And his BG is normal. So not a medical issue or anything, but something seems to be going on.

I'm wondering if he might have had low BG while he was alone today. I wasn't able to check on him at lunchtime like I usually do. I had left him LC food as normal.
He didn't have an especially high BG for PMPS at 113. But he was very hungry.

Could the hunger now be a sign of a low BG from earlier?
Are there ways of knowing a hypo episode may have happened while your cat was alone?
If his liver had done a big dump of glucose earlier would there not be more of an elevated BG now, or would it have normalized areadly? And/or would it account for the increase in appetite?
 
Last edited:
They can get super-hungry either when they are low or can sense a sharp drop coming. I'm not sure that he could be hungry now from a low earlier (if he is higher now). When does he get food when you are at work (sorry I keep forgetting)?
 
They can get super-hungry either when they are low or can sense a sharp drop coming. I'm not sure that he could be hungry now from a low earlier (if he is higher now). When does he get food when you are at work (sorry I keep forgetting)?
He has a +2 snack before I leave, then 2 more snacks at approx. +3 and +5 in the feeder.

Sometimes I give him a little extra nibble at +7/+8 if he's eaten all his snacks. More often than not he has left a bit of food in his snack bowls, and I just 'refresh' it for him by pushing the leftovers to the middle, and then he finishes them up.

He's on 70 now, so not close to the danger zone.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top