4/12 Tiger Amps 366,

Deb and Tiger

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-11-tiger-amps-391-what-a-night.288675/

Good day
Seems like another bounce last night. Gonna hide the trampoline…
I expected him to be worn out today but he’s actually felt pretty good, playing, bathing, and eating before finally taking his cat nap now…I’m sure he’ll sleep most of the day after yesterday. Seems he’s going lower during the day and bouncing at night now. Which is nicer than the other way around but hate the bouncing.

Have a good one!
 
Tiger is dropping now, about 1.5 hours till Pm shot. Currently at 188 (1 hr till shoot time) and I fed him some 12% an hour ago and then some, 1 tsp, 20% 40 mins ago. But still dropping…what’s going on? Should I try to bring it up to shoot tonight?
 
Last edited:
Yes, stop feeding him, especially the HC. You don't want your actual PS number to be influenced by carbs.
I did stop before the two hour mark but it’s not having any effect it seems. What if he doesn’t get up enough to shoot? I don’t know why the food is not raising it? Could it be he’s breaking a bounce or?
 
It's likely this is a bounce breaking cycle, which often has nadirs later in the cycle. He's high enough now to shoot. You are no longer a newbie, and have tons of data from the Libre, so your no shoot number is lower than it used to be. No shots below 90 though.
 
It's likely this is a bounce breaking cycle, which often has nadirs later in the cycle. He's high enough now to shoot. You are no longer a newbie, and have tons of data from the Libre, so your no shoot number is lower than it used to be. No shots below 90 though.
How low would you shoot a full dose then? I’m now new but not used to shooting much below 200 and those nights got low and took a reduction, which I don’t want to happen.
 
You've shot as low as 177 (full dose) in the past without him diving low. All but one of his reductions have been earned with a preshot at 300 or above.
 
One was way back when we first started . The other 2 out of 3 went low. Anyway thanks for that, and I will shoot and cross my fingers. We just have to get past all these bounces and reductions….
 
I fed him and he’s still dropping. We are 20 mins past food and he’s at 164. I’m stalling a bit to see it it comes up a bit. Right now still going down. Down to 160 as I write this with downward arrow on libre.

edited to add: stalled 30 mins, continued downward. Uncomfortable with full dose, gave token dose of .5
@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
I’m sorry I just saw this Deb. I hope Tiger stabilizes for you tonight. I know it’s scary.
Ivy has been having late nadirs lately, too in bounce breaking cycles. I can relate.
That was your first blue preshot I think.
You did the right thing posting. I’m so glad Wendy was there to help you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’m not sure I understand your numbers, here you say 164 and 160 but on the SS you have 155 and 152. In any case, I would suggest you not pay such close attention to the Libre arrows and prompts and look at the data. The BG numbers are effectively the same, and technically within meter variance to the 188 at +10 which means he’s been flat since +10. You also want to try and remember that as Wendy said bounce breaking cycles can often have later nadirs, which means after nadir the duration of the last insulin dose would be waning, and the numbers will start to go back up again.
 
I’m not sure I understand your numbers, here you say 164 and 160 but on the SS you have 155 and 152. In any case, I would suggest you not pay such close attention to the Libre arrows and prompts and look at the data. The BG numbers are effectively the same, and technically within meter variance to the 188 at +10 which means he’s been flat since +10. You also want to try and remember that as Wendy said bounce breaking cycles can often have later nadirs, which means after nadir the duration of the last insulin dose would be waning, and the numbers will start to go back up again.
I’m sorry the numbers are confusing but I was typing here and there and looking at the libre when typing, that’s how fast he was going down….its now +1 almost, and he’s at 146. Still not going up.
 
I’m sorry I just saw this Deb. I hope Tiger stabilizes for you tonight. I know it’s scary.
Ivy has been having late nadirs lately, too in bounce breaking cycles. I can relate.
That was your first blue preshot I think.
You did the right thing posting. I’m so glad Wendy was there to help you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Staci….this all just stresses me too much I guess I’m a whimp but hubby and I just couldn’t shoot a full dose with him dropping so much, so fast. Sometimes the libre gives too much info.

I guess I should just stop asking for help if I’m too whimpy to follow the directions. Poor Tiger, he needs a better mom for this. I just don’t understand late nadirs and being safe when the number is low. Thank you for all your help.
 
The Libre is helpful, but it is also a hinderance IMHO, since you often just get inundated with constant numbers and simply can’t see the forest for the trees. Even with a token dose, the cycle tends to play out at least for the first half as if you’d have given the full dose, since you have some depot in play. You’ve had blue preshots, so it’s just a matter of gaining some confidence. You’ve also given token doses in the past, how did those cycles go?

P.S +1 he’s still flat :bighug:
 
The Libre is helpful, but it is also a hinderance IMHO, since you often just get inundated with constant numbers and simply can’t see the forest for the trees. Even with a token dose, the cycle tends to play out at least for the first half as if you’d have given the full dose, since you have some depot in play. You’ve had blue preshots, so it’s just a matter of gaining some confidence. You’ve also given token doses in the past, how did those cycles go?

P.S +1 he’s still flat :bighug:
I realize that about the depot too. We’ve had like 3-4 blue preshots I think, one very early on so it was a low dose. The other ones had one result in a decrease and another using syrup to keep him above 90 as I recall. Both were very long nights and scary! When he starts dropping, he just doesn’t respond much to food even HC, so it’s scary…This is the first time at this higher dose too.
 
We do tend to see that lower numbers like 60s or lower on a Libre are not entirely accurate, so it’s best to try and test with a glucometer. And even 60s on a Libre are still safe territory.
 
We do tend to see that lower numbers like 60s or lower on a Libre are not entirely accurate, so it’s best to try and test with a glucometer. And even 60s on a Libre are still safe territory.
True but slgs it’s a reduction at 90 which makes it so hard. Shooting lower doesn’t leave much room to stay above 90….If that weren’t the case I would be more likely to shoot. Would rather do a token, take the bounce again than do a reduction again. Maybe I’m thinking wrong but it’s so frustrating. Most here do TR and aren’t worried about below 90 readings.
 
We have people following SLGS who shoot much lower numbers, including anything in the 100's. Lantus/glargine gives flatter cycles when you shoot lower preshots. That's why I pointed out that the majority of Tiger's reductions happened when he dropped a LOT from much higher numbers. Over time I'll hope you'll appreciate how nice it is to shoot lower numbers. I was following TR, but I loved shooting the 80's, cause it meant Neko wouldn't move more than 10 points the entire cycle, unless she bounced. :rolleyes:

It's OK if he drops below 90 and earns a reduction. It's very common for cats to dance up and down around a dose. Any time he spends in green numbers is healing for the pancreas and allows him to get used to lower numbers which can help reduce the amount he bounces. He also might not drop below 90 when you shoot blue preshots. The majority of times he did not.
 
Yes, but that doesn’t mean you should anticipate a reduction is coming and alter the dose. You don’t automatically know how the next cycle will go. And bounces don’t happen due to a token dose, they are as a result of hitting numbers the cat isn’t used to or dropping too fast. And not too fast not as indicated by the arrows of the Libre. I’d be looking for drops from highs like 400 down to 200 in a matter of 2 hours. That to me is a steep drop.
 
Back
Top