4/13 Fistuk AMPS 88, +3.5 88, +7 130 PMPS 65

Fistuk & Shelly

Very Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-137-3-142-7-149-dose.300003/#post-3264173

Good morning everyone :coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee:....

Fistuk vomited last at +4.5 PM so I gave him a rest and g+7 I tested him (149!!) and gave just 1mg food with 4mg Ondansetron. It kept in

He was happy to get up in the morning but awfully weak. Wanted to eat, put his head in the plate but obviously nauseous and could have more than a lick.

I gave 4mg Cerenia this morning and will give Ondanstron later @+6.

I stopped the antibiotics last night!! Don't know if it's the right thing, don't know if he'll develop AB resistance or whatever, I just feel like I can't keep on stuffing him with meds that obviously make him sick - in the days post surgery he did so well. Such a shame to destroy it with an opioid overdose and OTT AB.

He got a reduced dose because I wasn't sure what to do and I'd rather be safe than even more sorry than I am now ..... Let's see if he keeps the 5g of food in.

Wishing everyone a peaceful day :bighug:
 
Is he on the correct dose of the antibiotic? A vet once prescribed twice the dose of Clavamox for Bandit and she vomited for 36 hours after just one dose. Clavamox can make kitties feel really awful - inappettence, nausea, vomiting etc. What is he getting the antibiotic for?

Wondering if you need to give him subq twice a day - if he is dehydrated from all the vomiting, that could also make him feel weak and awful and not want to eat.

He got the Synoluy after the dental surgery, I guess to prevent inflammation.

I checked the dose and it's the right one - 50mg twice a day.

It recommended to give 7-14 days, but the surgery vet prescribed it for 30 days! I guess she wanted to make sure she prevents post-surgery inflammation. She keeps on mentioning the diabetes as if it's the cause for everything, as if all Fistuk is is diabetes. Not a whole being. So because of the diabetes he's more susceptible for inflammation, she said.

I stopped the antibiotics last night!

I thought that I can give him up to 70ml SQ per day - do you suggest otherwise? or shall I split it to twice a day.

At the moment he doesn't look dehydrated to me - scrap bounces and gums not tacky. But obv I'm afraid if it keeps going like that he would get dehydrated.

Thanks for your help, Bhooma :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Will be interesting to see if stopping the antibiotics also stops the vomiting and improves his appetite! Do continue the probiotic though.

If you haven't already, you might want to try a different food. He might be associating the food with feeling ill. Which is why it's suggested to syringe feed a different food because cats don't want to eat the food that they have been syringe fed.

Does he have any history of heart issues? If not then you can give 70ml of SQ at one go.
 
Will be interesting to see if stopping the antibiotics also stops the vomiting and improves his appetite! Do continue the probiotic though.
My bet is that it would… but let’s see. yes, I do keep the PB

If you haven't already, you might want to try a different food. He might be associating the food with feeling ill. Which is why it's suggested to syringe feed a different food because cats don't want to eat the food that they have been syringe fed.
Very hard to find other food that fits all his needs. Though as soon as I get paid I’ll try ordering food from a company that the vet suggested and yoi can order from them only via prescription which ahe gave us. I checked their food and it’ll also be good for his kidneys.

I think I saw a comment you wrote about his phosphorus level? I can see it now. But it’s in normal range.
I haven’t yet filled out all the values feom the last lab the vet took right before surgery. Taking DH to work so I can keep the car just in case…and will complete once I’m back

Does he have any history of heart issues? If not then you can give 70ml of SQ at one go.
Nothing diagnosed though the surgery vet asked to get the ProBPN value for the consideration of anaesthesia and it was just above 100 which normal range is below 100. So I can’t say something definite about the heart

DH was wondering whether the SQ was making him somehow off - maybe I should split it the 70ml?
Thank you! :bighug:
 
UPDATE:
So far so good... Fistuk is still keeping the food down. He's

I forgot to mention that I added 1.5x1/8tsp of psyllium husk to his food this morning

The lab results from the blood test just before the surgery are now updated in the lab tab on the SS

I also want to thank all of you who've been there for me in the past few days and I apologise I haven't been able to visit your logs and check in with you.
I've been in a very dark place last night, worried sick about Fistuk and was so consumed with helping him out with vomiting-holding him so he doesn't collapse, cleaning him, cleaning the floor...
I just had a nice piece f toasted bread with dark chocolate spread as comfort food for breakfast and will go to catch up with rest.

@Staci & Ivy @Laurie&Petey @Marielle @Helen + Noogi @Nestle @cecile & bella @Brianna & Xander @Briana + Binx @Charlie'sMom22 @Kobe (Dean and Lesley) MO @Niko's Mom @Madeline528
You helped me feel much less alone in all this chaos.

Paws crossed today he's not vomiting and beginning to gain stability
 
Last edited:
Keeping little Fistuk in my thoughts today.
I'm so sorry he's continued to be unwell, and hoping that now he's off the antibiotics he will turn the corner.
Completely understand you must be sick with worry. I've been there before. Sending hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, Helen :bighug:
I hope so too. He's very weak and miserable this morning. But who wouldn't be after two days of vomiting?!?
Thanks for keeping us in your thoughts :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sending more good vibes and prayers for Fistuk to feel better soon after all he’s been through. A good sign he’s keeping down his food today. Paws crossed he’s coming around and will gain back his strength.
You’re doing the best job fighting for him every minute of the day, Shelly!!
I hope you get some badly needed rest :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
He just vomited again
Oh no. :( has he kept anything down in 2 days? Is he peeing and pooping, does that look normal or still black? I hope the vet can get you some answers and help.

I can't offer anything helpful except support and if it were me, I would stop all supplements and get down to bare minimum in very tiny quantities.
 
I asked my neighbour to use her landline to be able to call the vet's emergency number bc I can't do it from my iPhone.

The vet said that this is not the normal recovery she'd expect after surgery and that he needs to have a compete check to see what's the reason for all these vomiting, that he needs to get an ultrasound and I should take him to a clinic (any time I mention the Bupernophrin overdose she simply ignores it!)

I don't have the money for a clinic and I just can't stop crying. The vet said it's either you take him to the clinic or you give up. How can I give up on him??

I gave him Nux vomica to see if that will help stop the vomiting. It helped in the past.

Anything else I can do for him or look into? @Wendy @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @Angela & Cleo @Bron and Sheba (GA)
Could it be a kidney failure as a result of the anaesthesia ?
 
Last edited:
Will you be able to get just bloodwork done without ultrasound etc? Just CBC, kidney and liver function?
That's a good suggestion. I can. Our vet is a home vet and she's very good at taking blood - what is CBC? anything else that would be good to ask her to test?

Has the frequency of vomiting reduced after stopping the antibiotic?
I would say so. It's only last night and this morning that he hasn't have the AB.
Last night I let him rest, just gave him 2ml syringe of food with the Ondaestron and this morning he kept the 15mg breakfast in. I think the vomit was only the last 5mg of the past two hours. It wasn't much
 
I would say so. It's only last night and this morning that he hasn't have the AB.
Last night I let him rest, just gave him 2ml syringe of food with the Ondaestron and this morning he kept the 15mg breakfast in. I think the vomit was only the last 5mg of the past two hours. It wasn't much
Bandit vomited for 36 hours after a single dose of Clavamox! You could wait and see if his vomiting reduces today.

Just saw his latest labs very quickly. Did the vet say anything about anaemia?
 
Sorry to add to your notifications, Shelly, I just wanted to let you know that Fistuk is very much in my thoughts today. Sending healing vines and hugs to you and the sweet boy :bighug: It sounds like he's at least holding down food better since you stopped the AB. I hope that's all it is and the CBC rules other possibilities out. Please feel better soon Fistuk <3
 
Did the vet say anything about anaemia?
She didn't. Fistuk has always been a bit anaemic. I've heard that from vet from an early age
Thanks. for taking a look at the labs

The only thing she did actually say was that his SDMA was not so bad and that his T4 was low but she'd expect it to go up after the surgery and the rescue of WBC

Bandit vomited for 36 hours after a single dose of Clavamox! You could wait and see if his vomiting reduces today.
WOW poor Bandit. It's easy to forget how harsh it can be on their system :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry to butt in here, not sure how soon the vet is coming. Complete blood count. Can show possible infection or blood loss. I'd think taking his temp may be helpful too.
I love it when you butt in :joyful:
The vet will come tomorrow the earliest.

I was actually thinking of taking his body temp. I guess I could do it myself. But at the moment I feel like letting him rest. He seems to revive a bit :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Fistuk seems to have revived a little.

He had a deep sleep then when he lifted his head I tried bring the plate to him and he actually took a couple of licks. He can't more than that but it was me cue to syringe feed him. After ah hour the same.

Look how Prince came to support Fistuk

upload_2025-4-13_17-38-17.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-13_17-38-17.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-13_17-38-17.jpeg
    55.8 KB · Views: 63
Oh Shelly, I am sorry to read that he is not better, I was thinking about both of you a lot last night and this morning.
I hope your vet can come early tomorrow to start looking at what might be going on. Hopefully without the antibiotic now he will start feeling better.
The Buprenorphin should not be in cause, even if he had too much, it was a few days ago and the half-life is not that long, it's probably all out of his system by now.
It's beautiful to see Prince confort his brother :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Shelly, I am sorry to read that he is not better, I was thinking about both of you a lot last night and this morning.
I hope your vet can come early tomorrow to start looking at what might be going on. Hopefully without the antibiotic now he will start feeling better.
The Buprenorphin should not be in cause, even if he had too much, it was a few days ago and the half-life is not that long, it's probably all out of his system by now.
It's beautiful to see Prince confort his brother :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you for thinking of us, Cecile xx
I don't think the Buprenophrin is still in his system but he started going down hill from the moment he had it and it was an extra challenge he didn't need in his condition.
Let's see as Bhooma said, how he's doing tonight without the AB. But U'm beginning to feel really confident that it just messed him up.
Prince has a huge heart. It was touching to see him coming to Fistuk :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug::bighug:Jude and I are sending hugs and healing vines to you and Fistuk:bighug::bighug: We are keeping you both in our thoughts. I hope he rebounds from this soon, Shelly, and that he gets back to normal (and I know you do too). You're doing your very best to care for him, and I know that care is making a real difference to his overall health right now.
 
:bighug::bighug:Jude and I are sending hugs and healing vines to you and Fistuk:bighug::bighug: We are keeping you both in our thoughts. I hope he rebounds from this soon, Shelly, and that he gets back to normal (and I know you do too). You're doing your very best to care for him, and I know that care is making a real difference to his overall health right now.
Thanks, Marielle. It was a trying day but it feels like we turned a corner :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Aww, I'm so sorry that sweet Fistuk is feeling worse, Shelly!!

I hope others are right and that maybe he just needs a little more time for improvement and that the vomiting will stop. Poor boy.

Never need to apologize for not being able to check in - we understand how it is to have to full focus on caring for your own baby. ❤️

Thinking of you both and sending love and healing vines! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Aww, I'm so sorry that sweet Fistuk is feeling worse, Shelly!!

I hope others are right and that maybe he just needs a little more time for improvement and that the vomiting will stop. Poor boy.

Never need to apologize for not being able to check in - we understand how it is to have to full focus on caring for your own baby. ❤️

Thinking of you both and sending love and healing vines! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you for your care and kind words, Brianna. It means a lot.

So far so good (anti jinx, anti jinx, anti jinx) :p He's asleep and every time he straightens I'm afraid he's going to vomit again but he's just turning to the other side. I really pray that we're over the worst :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you for your care and kind words, Brianna. It means a lot.

So far so good (anti jinx, anti jinx, anti jinx) :p He's asleep and every time he straightens I'm afraid he's going to vomit again but he's just turning to the other side. I really pray that we're over the worst :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Crossing all people limbs, all paws and even tail too that you and Fistuk are out of the woods!! ❤️❤️❤️
 
Sending tons of love and prayers for Fistuk to feel much better. I hope he sleeps well and stays steady. Hoping the vet can give you some clarity and answer ms tomorrow. We are all sending healing vines to Fistuk with lots of love, Shelly :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
 
She didn't. Fistuk has always been a bit anaemic. I've heard that from vet from an early age
Thanks. for taking a look at the labs
His HCT is 0.21 or 21%, which as per Tanya's website is Moderate Anaemia. For some cats with mild/moderate anemia, just Vitamin B supplementation is all they need. I think I read that you're giving him methyl B12? Do you also give him B-Complex?

Here are the list of symptoms of anaemia listed on Tanya's website:
  • Breathlessness
  • Weakness
  • Eating litter or licking concrete
  • Faster heart rate
  • High blood pressure
  • Oedema (fluid build-up) and heart failure
  • Other symptoms (appetite loss, lethargy etc.)
 
methyl B12? Do you also give him B-Complex?
I'm giving both

HCT is 0.21 or 21%,
it's the Hematocrit, right? it's 0.21


Here are the list of symptoms of anaemia listed on Tanya's website:
  • Breathlessness
  • Weakness
  • Eating litter or licking concrete
  • Faster heart rate
  • High blood pressure
  • Oedema (fluid build-up) and heart failure
  • Other symptoms (appetite loss, lethargy etc.)
Thanks I'll speak to teh vet about it tomorrow

He just doesn't want to eat. Growling at me. He's had maybe 30g all day. What do I do?

I gave him nux vomica again now. I haven't given meds (Cerenia ro Ondansteron) I was just afraid it'll trigger more vomiting. Shall I try and give him?
 
I gave 4mg Cerenia this morning
He just vomited again
Your Cerenia dose is too low. You can give 2 mg/kg per day. I suspect he's rather more than 2 kg in weight.

The psyllium husk fiber, did you just give it to him for the first time? You want to start low (a pinch) and work your way up. I agree with above that I'd cut out most supplements while his tummy is fragile. Start the psyllium husk later when more stable.

I asked yesterday what the concentration of the buprenorphine was. It may or may not have been a larger overdose. Obviously a bit because of his behaviour at the time. But that was also 5 days ago and should be long gone.
 
Your Cerenia dose is too low. You can give 2 mg/kg per day. I suspect he's rather more than 2 kg in weight.
he's 3.5kg so it would be the 8mg bc I can't cut the pill to 7mg and I was a bit afraid of giving more than less in light of all that's happened.

He vomited again just now. I gave him very little food at supper and mostly water to keep hydrated and that's what he vomited.
I'll give him now 8mg Cerenia but I think without food because he just vomited

The psyllium husk fiber, did you just give it to him for the first time? You want to start low (a pinch) and work your way up. I agree with above that I'd cut out most supplements while his tummy is fragile. Start the psyllium husk later when more stable.
He gets regularly 1/8tsp of psyllium in his breakfast and supper for a long time now, so it's not new. I added just a little bit more in the morning because its' really good against vomiting

I asked yesterday what the concentration of the buprenorphine was. It may or may not have been a larger overdose. Obviously a bit because of his behaviour at the time. But that was also 5 days ago and should be long gone.
I don't have that information. I can say for certain that he started going off after getting it and it triggered all of this even if it's not in the system anymore now
 
Last edited:
I asked yesterday what the concentration of the buprenorphine was.
Sorry to add to your notifications, Shelly, I just wanted to let you know that Fistuk is very much in my thoughts today. Sending healing vines and hugs to you and the sweet boy :bighug: It sounds like he's at least holding down food better since you stopped the AB. I hope that's all it is and the CBC rules other possibilities out. Please feel better soon Fistuk <3
Thank you for your care, Jess :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top