4/13 Jasper - AMPS 173 ...skipping this am.

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Jasper Blue and Jay, Apr 13, 2019.

  1. Jasper Blue and Jay

    Jasper Blue and Jay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Rough night. Must sleep.

    His other mommy doesn't know how to test and isn't comfortable with him getting insulin with such a lower number and his last two cycles so we're going to skip this am.
     
  2. Jasper Blue and Jay

    Jasper Blue and Jay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    High enough at +4 so we gave a token dose.

    I see some people do every 8 hours... 8 hours from now is when he's due again anyway. And this probably won't move his numbers much anyway, maybe just a little.

    Then probably .5 or .75 at his regular shot... and we'll see again in the am.


    I am thinking about trying to get some u100 syringes... because it seems like his "sweet spot" might be somewhere in between .5 and .75. :(
     
  3. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    @Elizabeth and Bertie
    I’m not sure about the every 8 hrs shots?? And using u100 needles for prozinc
     
  4. Jasper Blue and Jay

    Jasper Blue and Jay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    I can't remember who specifically does 3x a day, every 8 hours, I read so many posts every day lol. We're not switching to that schedule, just explaining why I felt safe giving him his token shot 4 hours late that day but still safe to give him his next shot at his regular time. It helps me process what I'm doing if I write it out and explain the reasoning to myself so it's not just random. but I've also seen 13/11 dosing too, that one is in the protocol I think? I can't remember. And I've seen a lot of people recommend u100 for prozinc, there's a conversion chart, I glanced at it but dreading have to do that because it seems highly frowned upon by vets. Not that I'm not willing to do it if I know it's safe, just don't want the vet to think I'm doing some kind of medical negligence or something until I can feel out how open to it she is. Anyway, that's a problem for another day.

    Anyway, hope Bella and Andy are doing well!
     
  5. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    R u all ok, havent seen u post in a cpl days
    Looked at ss and I think it's time for an increase and I would stick to the u40 syringes and give every 12 hrs
     
    Djamila likes this.
  6. Jasper Blue and Jay

    Jasper Blue and Jay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Heya, thanks for checking in, yep we're doing good.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  7. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Looking good
     

Share This Page