4/13 -- PHOEBE -- amps 246

eva eva

Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-12-phoebe-dose-increase.300006/

Phoebe got a little sugary yesterday. I increased her to 2 units.
A little bouncing with the increase?

I need a second head here.
When I add up food for Phoebe for carbs, If my calculation comes up to 93, that would make the carbs 7. If she only eats 1/2 of the can, is she only getting half the carbs(ish)? No cat food should have gravy as it just adds carbs---do they include this in the calculation of carbs? or is it hidden?

@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Diane Tyler's Mom GA
 
When I add up food for Phoebe for carbs, If my calculation comes up to 93, that would make the carbs 7. If she only eats 1/2 of the can, is she only getting half the carbs(ish)
Cat food labels in the US only give Guaranteed Analysis which are just a maximum of minimum levels of proteins, carbs etc. You can use this carb calculator to get a rough estimate of carb% based on Guaranteed
Analysis values on the cat food label. Look at Dry Matter Carbohydrates at the very end.
http://scheyderweb.com/cats/catfood.html

The carb% will remain the same irrespective of whether she eats a tsp of food or the entire can. Only the number of calories will change based on quantity of food .

Foods with gravy are usually higher carbs.
 
OMG!!!!
I just pulled some cans out of the cupboard and used the calculator...
I have foods still in the cupboard that are NOT low carb.
I am going through each can I have and will calculate using this calculator.
Cleaning out right now.
Thankyou so much for clearing this up for me. I totally missed on the Dry matter Carbs.
Blast!!!!!

@Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Diane Tyler's Mom GA @Wendy&Neko
 
She's likely seeing New Dose Wonkiness. Cat's don't bounce from increases, but rather from seeing lower numbers than she's used to, or fast drops.
 
Have you seen Dr. Lisa's food list? I think it's a little dated though!
https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php.
Yes I have it printed out for when I go shopping for cat food. I have highlighted all the foods that are under 10% carbs.
Unfortunately, I also have a cat, One-eyed Jack who has allergies. I feel they are environmental, and maybe a little food. I have gone from only beef and rabbit to adding salmon, turkey. I am working on chicken currently to see if he reacts. So my choices are slim for both cats. They both like to snitch food. (hence, my thinking of his allergies being pollen and not food) so when there is other food around, and I have 3 other cats that eat other food--they steal.
This is why I asked the question, if the carbs are 10% for a whole can (as-fed?) would the carbs be half if they only eat half the can? I understand the calories are lower. I didn't grasp the carbs are the same. thanks for helping me to understand. I read the article you gave me and it helps to understand and calculate. I use Dr Lisa's food list alot. Yes it doesn't have all the foods that are out there now. But the information it does have is still accurate, Right? It's a bit of my bible on carbs for kitties


@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Diane Tyler's Mom GA
 
Back
Top