4/15/25 Mikey AMPS 257 +6 67 PMPS 546

Mikey’sDad

Active Member
The bouncing continues … whenever he hits a low like 67, mark my word, the pm reading will be high.
I checked on an automatic feeder, but can’t handle that expense now. I wonder if Lantus is the right insulin, but my vet thinks it is the best.
Perhaps I need to just let go and allow him to live out his life as a bouncer! :) He did get an increase so that will be interesting

Tom:bighug:

Hope you are all well.
 
The bouncing continues … whenever he hits a low like 67, mark my word, the pm reading will be high.
I checked on an automatic feeder, but can’t handle that expense now. I wonder if Lantus is the right insulin, but my vet thinks it is the best.
Perhaps I need to just let go and allow him to live out his life as a bouncer! :) He did get an increase so that will be interesting

Tom:bighug:

Hope you are all well.
Hi Tom,
Good luck with the increase!!

Here’s the same feeder I have, it’s on eBay, much cheaper than I paid. Maybe it’s something to consider (don’t mean to be pushy, just trying to think of alternatives).
https://www.ebay.com/itm/3265048762...pfMUQJ5TUu&var=&widget_ver=artemis&media=COPY
Or this one

https://www.ebay.com/itm/3655249491...pfMUQJ5TUu&var=&widget_ver=artemis&media=COPY
 
From your spreadsheet it looks like you have been increasing his dose pretty quickly and not giving him enough time to adjust to the dose. It also looks like you are increasing without enough testing data to really justify the increase. That may be causing the bounces.

You want to increase based on his nadir and not on his pre-shot numbers. According to the SLGS method you should hold the dose for at least a week. If within that week his nadirs are between 90 and 149 (in your case with a reduction point of 80 it would be between 80 to 149), you would maintain the same dose. But if they are consistently greater than 150 then you can increase.

Also sometimes it can take cats 2-3 days to clear a bounce, so keep that in mind before you increase. I would also do a full 12 hour curve before increasing, just incase you are missing some lower numbers. Some cats can hit their nadir at +3 instead of the typical +4 or +6, every cat is different.

Im not an expert or even one of the more experienced members of the forum, but my cat is also a frequent bouncer so I understand the frustrations. Tonight he decided to go from 199 to 56 in two hours :rolleyes: I just know that is going to cause a bounce tomorrow.

Good luck with the reduction tomorrow :cat:
 
From your spreadsheet it looks like you have been increasing his dose pretty quickly and not giving him enough time to adjust to the dose. It also looks like you are increasing without enough testing data to really justify the increase. That may be causing the bounces.

You want to increase based on his nadir and not on his pre-shot numbers. According to the SLGS method you should hold the dose for at least a week. If within that week his nadirs are between 90 and 149 (in your case with a reduction point of 80 it would be between 80 to 149), you would maintain the same dose. But if they are consistently greater than 150 then you can increase.

Also sometimes it can take cats 2-3 days to clear a bounce, so keep that in mind before you increase. I would also do a full 12 hour curve before increasing, just incase you are missing some lower numbers. Some cats can hit their nadir at +3 instead of the typical +4 or +6, every cat is different.

Im not an expert or even one of the more experienced members of the forum, but my cat is also a frequent bouncer so I understand the frustrations. Tonight he decided to go from 199 to 56 in two hours :rolleyes: I just know that is going to cause a bounce tomorrow.

Good luck with the reduction


Thanks!
 
Back
Top