4/16 Allie AMPS 297/294+3/266+6/303+9/PMPS 312

Breelynne

Active Member
Yesterdays Numbers
Upped dose to 4.5 units this morning
Numbers have come down, missed all yellows by 3 points. We had hail/thunder/rain and tornado warnings from about 4-6 caused a little stress in the home.
May give this cycle 5 days since I have so many appointments this week and feeders won't be here until Tuesday. Start a new pen in a few days too. Sure they will be scared of the feeders.
Is that OK to do?
 
How about evaluating after 6-10 cycles? There’s always the chance that more time will be needed on this dose or a reduction earned.
 
How about evaluating after 6-10 cycles? There’s always the chance that more time will be needed on this dose or a reduction earned.

Forgive me but what are cycles?
I'm looking at her in her Twisted Sister pose. I need to use that for my avatar.
She is happy right now she ate a whole can so I am waiting to test her at +3. She was not begging at 10 for more food. Was a long evening here with all the commotion.
 
Forgive me but what are cycles?
A cycle is the 12 hours following a shot. A day is divided into 2 cycles - AM and PM. So when one says 6 cycles, it means 3 days.

With TR, you can increase the dose every 6 cycles (3 days) till you start seeing nadirs below 200. But you would need to get that before-bed test every night. Since TR is a more aggressive protocol, the requirement for tests is greater than with SLGS.
 
Thanks for the explanation. Well I should be up until 3am I'm sure....nothing went right today and I'm just now sitting down. Allie just ate a whole can of kitten food FF pate chicken. She is an eating machine. I'll test at 3am and I maybe up all night not sure yet. This is the latest she's eaten that much since our day was so messed up. I'll going to relax and see if I can unwind. Her PMPS +3 was 361 and an hour later she ate another can! She begs for food and blocks you in the kitchen to feed her. Today did not go as planned.
 
Unregulated diabetic cats cannot process their food. That's why they're always so hungry and they lose weight even after eating so much. Once her numbers come down, so will that ravenous appetite.

With a higher PM+3, you needn't stay up. She is bouncing from the lower numbers she saw today.

We generally suggest a test at +2 because that's when most cats on Lantus see onset and the +2 can you give you an indication of what the rest of the cycle is going to look like.
  • If the +2 is about the same as the PS, it's usually going to be a pretty normal cycle - gradually down to nadir and then gradually back up to the next PS.
  • If the +2 is a lot higher than the PS, that usually means there's a bounce starting and it's usually OK to take a little bit of a break from testing.
  • If the +2 is (a lot) lower than the PS, that's your early warning that it could be an "active" cycle and numbers might go a lot lower later in the cycle and it's important to try to get more tests.
Of course, some cats have an onset later in the cycle like +2.5 or +3. In that case, a test at +2.5 or +3 would be a better indicator than a +2.
 
Unregulated diabetic cats cannot process their food. That's why they're always so hungry and they lose weight even after eating so much. Once her numbers come down, so will that ravenous appetite.

With a higher PM+3, you needn't stay up. She is bouncing from the lower numbers she saw today.

We generally suggest a test at +2 because that's when most cats on Lantus see onset and the +2 can you give you an indication of what the rest of the cycle is going to look like.
  • If the +2 is about the same as the PS, it's usually going to be a pretty normal cycle - gradually down to nadir and then gradually back up to the next PS.
  • If the +2 is a lot higher than the PS, that usually means there's a bounce starting and it's usually OK to take a little bit of a break from testing.
  • If the +2 is (a lot) lower than the PS, that's your early warning that it could be an "active" cycle and numbers might go a lot lower later in the cycle and it's important to try to get more tests.
Of course, some cats have an onset later in the cycle like +2.5 or +3. In that case, a test at +2.5 or +3 would be a better indicator than a +2.

Thanks Bandit's Mom. It was a bad day all around. I just took her reading and it was the highest yet at this time. Updated her SS.
 
Just did her test and it is @ 380 way high that can of food late threw everything off.
It was not the food - especially if it was low carb. She's just bouncing.

I just took her reading and it was the highest yet at this time. Updated her SS.
There is a 15-20% meter variance, so 380 is pretty much the same number as 360. It's a matter of getting her to a good dose. Try and follow TR so you can get there sooner.

Take a break from tests when she is bouncing. You will have enough opportunities to lose sleep once she gets to better numbers. :bighug:
 
It was low carb, plus she used to free feed on dry and that is gone so I can see her taking up some of those calories and space with more canned. I'm try not to feed over 4%. She was at 360 this morning but ate way later last night.
She got her 4.5 this morning but have an appointment at 1:00. Going shopping for my older neighbor after, shouldn't take long she doesn't need much. Hoping to be home before 3:30 to check her BS. Thanks for the help!
Went to bed at 2:59am and was up at 7:30am... going to be a long day.
 
Back
Top