? 4/17 Charlie AMPS 52 Retest 63... shoot or not?

if no senior members can pop in and offer guidance and you have to make a decision on your own, remember you hold the syringe and if you are low on strips and can't monitor closely, always err on the side of keeping Charlie safe.

some people might shoot what is called a "token" dose which is a much smaller dose like .5 or 1U just to avoid skipping entirely. But skipping entirely is an option, if you have to. It's not ideal but sometimes you have to do what you have to do to keep kitty safe. Do you have a ketone measurement?
 
That's kind of what I was thinking. Either a very small dose or a skip. So I'm on the right track. I figured if no one was available I would test again before leaving for work and make a judgement call then.

0.2 mmol/L for ketones

Thanks for being here and always being supportive, Kyle!! :bighug:
 
I put down wet food for both cats and leave it out. Charlie eats smaller amounts throughout the day, he's eating a little more now.
 
You have to leave in an hour and have only 1 strip left? The food he ate was LC?

It's still the 3.75U depot affecting his numbers.

Will he eat on his own when you're not around?

Leaving in 45 minutes, yes. One strip :blackeye: and yes only LC wet food. He'll eat little amounts while I'm gone but mostly sleep.

The mailman should be here in a couple hours I'm hoping to have more strips for testing during my lunch break @ +6.
 
How about a token dose of 1 or even 1.5U and feed him a little HC before you leave?

So you can get a test at +6?

Yeah I like the idea of a token dose.... I think that's a good idea. I'm thinking just 1 unit.. I guess I'm just nervous about him dropping while I'm gone. But I'll do some HC food when I leave as well.

Yes I should be able to test @+6 as long as the mailman arrives on time. I have 100 strips being delivered today. I went ahead and ordered another 300 strips so I won't put myself in this spot again. With all the testing last weekend I went through the strips quick!
 
113 @ +0.5... the little bit of HC raised him a bit. Maybe I should have done the 1.5 units instead of 1. I'm still learning!

I'll be back @ + 6!

Thanks for the help this morning!!
 
Yeah I like the idea of a token dose.... I think that's a good idea. I'm thinking just 1 unit.. I guess I'm just nervous about him dropping while I'm gone. But I'll do some HC food when I leave as well.

Yes I should be able to test @+6 as long as the mailman arrives on time. I have 100 strips being delivered today. I went ahead and ordered another 300 strips so I won't put myself in this spot again. With all the testing last weekend I went through the strips quick!

Don't forget about your lancets stock! One time I had plenty of strips, but then ran out of lancets.

I got so tired of running out of supplies, now I try to keep 200 of each on hand at any time. For those days when you're testing 10+ times they go sooo quick.
 
Don't forget about your lancets stock! One time I had plenty of strips, but then ran out of lancets.

I got so tired of running out of supplies, now I try to keep 200 of each on hand at any time. For those days when you're testing 10+ times they go sooo quick.

Good suggestion! I just recently got some lancets but will make sure to stay on top of all supplies from here on out. It's better to have too much than not enough!
 
I'm sort of happy that circumstances caused you to need to shoot a reduced dose. That should help drain the depot of the larger dose. Good to see ketones are still in the rear view mirror.
 
Back
Top