Staci & Ivy
Member Since 2022
4/16/24
Amps 256
Good morning,
Got a better night sleep with no alarms going off from the Libre since Ivy surfed higher last night from her bounce.
Dose was reduced to 4.5 units last night at pm dose and again today. Trying to drain depot gently a bit. Will decide if I go down to 4.25 units maybe tomorrow.
Still trying to figure out how to structure a custom dosing approach and a proper reduction point for her.
I am trying to let her run a little higher so she’s not dropping to a Libre “Lo” for very long extended periods (like all night, overnight) and the only way I can figure out how to do that is it let her be a little bit higher than I would really like her to be. Which, of course, would be lower greens.
This is not a perfect science for sure, and there are challenges when using the Libre technology for a cat who won’t doesn’t tolerate being tested all the time.
On another note, I have to take her in on May 6 for more lab work to see how the methimazole dose is working for the thyroid.
I will be pre sedating her the night before with some gabapentin and again the morning of the appointment with more gabapentin.
It looks like we will use Torbutrol injection at the vet, so they can handle blood draw.
My question is: what is the best way to handle giving insulin and not feeding her because we want it to be a fasting blood draw?
Would I possibly give a reduced dose the night before and a full dose the morning of the blood draw?
If I give full dose in the am (my appointment is 9 am and I’m about 40 minutes away from the vet). My normal shoot time is 6:15 am, so about 3 hours prior to appointment).
And how would I handle the next dose at pm, of course hoping she will have an appetite to eat by dinner/ shot time at 6 pm. (Last time she didn’t want to eat I had to syringe feed her all night and the next morning. She doesn’t do well after all the sedations).
Not quite sure how to handle this would appreciate suggestions.
Thanks so much and I hope everyone has a great day.

Amps 256
Good morning,
Got a better night sleep with no alarms going off from the Libre since Ivy surfed higher last night from her bounce.
Dose was reduced to 4.5 units last night at pm dose and again today. Trying to drain depot gently a bit. Will decide if I go down to 4.25 units maybe tomorrow.
Still trying to figure out how to structure a custom dosing approach and a proper reduction point for her.
I am trying to let her run a little higher so she’s not dropping to a Libre “Lo” for very long extended periods (like all night, overnight) and the only way I can figure out how to do that is it let her be a little bit higher than I would really like her to be. Which, of course, would be lower greens.
This is not a perfect science for sure, and there are challenges when using the Libre technology for a cat who won’t doesn’t tolerate being tested all the time.
On another note, I have to take her in on May 6 for more lab work to see how the methimazole dose is working for the thyroid.
I will be pre sedating her the night before with some gabapentin and again the morning of the appointment with more gabapentin.
It looks like we will use Torbutrol injection at the vet, so they can handle blood draw.
My question is: what is the best way to handle giving insulin and not feeding her because we want it to be a fasting blood draw?
Would I possibly give a reduced dose the night before and a full dose the morning of the blood draw?
If I give full dose in the am (my appointment is 9 am and I’m about 40 minutes away from the vet). My normal shoot time is 6:15 am, so about 3 hours prior to appointment).
And how would I handle the next dose at pm, of course hoping she will have an appetite to eat by dinner/ shot time at 6 pm. (Last time she didn’t want to eat I had to syringe feed her all night and the next morning. She doesn’t do well after all the sedations).
Not quite sure how to handle this would appreciate suggestions.
Thanks so much and I hope everyone has a great day.



