4/17 | Jude: AMPS 149; +10 109; PMPS 90; +2 87; +3 95

Dang. Poor Jude, just reeeeeally wants to hang out in those low blues/upper greens! Someone needs to come along and show him how great the water is!

Good luck with the increase if you have to go that route again. I wonder if there's a second "breakthrough" dose; the first for insulin to start working at all, and then another for the "final push."
 
Perhaps. Are you off from Friday to Saturday?
I'm off Friday to Sunday. I think I'm going to take him to the vet tomorrow for a cystocentesis. Whether I do or not will depend on his p.m. and a.m. preshot numbers. It's kind of weird to me that he's going up and down, and I would think that if he has a UTI that his numbers would be going up. I just hate to take him for the test because it's not fun for him. So I'll see. What are your thoughts?
 
Are you seeing any symptoms of a UTI? Or are there usually no symptoms besides his numbers going up? His numbers aren't bad though. Below 150 overall.
 
Are you seeing any symptoms of a UTI? Or are there usually no symptoms besides his numbers going up? His numbers aren't bad though. Below 150 overall.
Jude is so good at hiding symptoms. I'm seeing large pees in the box, but he almost always has large pees. Once when his numbers went up, it was because a UTI was present (this was when he came out of remission), but another time, he had a UTI and his numbers were the lowest ever. He's an enigma.
 
Mary did you start Jude on the Vet water? Curious if you've noticed anything? Almost think I was giving Petey a little too much he seemed a little puffy or it's my imagination!

Hope he settles into this dose again.
 
Mary did you start Jude on the Vet water? Curious if you've noticed anything? Almost think I was giving Petey a little too much he seemed a little puffy or it's my imagination!
I did start the water, but I'm not noticing anything different in any of the cats. For Jude and Hazel, I only put the water in their food bc they never drink from the fountain, so that's how I get water into them. I've been filling the triples water bowl (they actually drink water), and I haven't noticed anything different in them, either.

Are you putting it in his food? Or does he drink on his own?
 
I did start the water, but I'm not noticing anything different in any of the cats. For Jude and Hazel, I only put the water in their food bc they never drink from the fountain, so that's how I get water into them. I've been filling the triples water bowl (they actually drink water), and I haven't noticed anything different in them, either.

Are you putting it in his food? Or does he drink on his own?
In his food, each time. He rarely drinks from the bowl now. I'm just paranoid haha.
 
Good question, they don't seem to be. A little tough to monitor now that he is taking some pees and poos outside.

Nice to see Jude still working this dose!
We have pees the size of Montana over here. I'm never sure if that's a UTI in action or simply the fact that he's drinking a slurry for each meal.
 

Its got really good reviews on amazon, so it seems to be working for someone.
But oh gosh this is too funny and ironic, today I was talking to my sister about our tap water not being safe for the animals because they have changed something in it recently. I can really smell the chlorine or whatever the city uses to treat the water. I wont drink the tap water so i kind of don't want kai drinking it either. I was thinking about buying another water filter or maybe some bottle water for Kai's fountains. I might give this a try...ya know... for SCIENCE!
 
Its got really good reviews on amazon, so it seems to be working for someone.
But oh gosh this is too funny and ironic, today I was talking to my sister about our tap water not being safe for the animals because they have changed something in it recently. I can really smell the chlorine or whatever the city uses to treat the water. I wont drink the tap water so i kind of don't want kai drinking it either. I was thinking about buying another water filter or maybe some bottle water for Kai's fountains. I might give this a try...ya know... for SCIENCE!
It's pricey! I'm wondering if just spring water is sufficient. I need to do more research on this. I will say that the triplets, who are getting this in their water bowl, are not drinking any more of this than they were the water that is filtered from my fridge (some reviews said that their cats were drinking more water with this being offered). The jury is out on this for me at the moment.
 
We have pees the size of Montana over here. I'm never sure if that's a UTI in action or simply the fact that he's drinking a slurry for each meal.
That made me laugh. Minner has big pees too. I used to weigh her pee clumps and track it, but stopped doing that when she got back to 1-2 pees a day. I NEVER see her drink from her water bowls. Seriously, not in months, maybe a few times in January. Kind of crazy. But she eats all pates and some tiki stix every day, so do they just not have a thirst drive when they are regulated and getting all the water in the food??

Coincidentally, yesterday I saw that Amazon was having a special on this water fountain that somehow measures water intake so I ordered it. The special is still happening … $64 instead of regular price of $110. No idea if this is something to recommend but happy to report back after trying it.

water fountain on amazon

Wish there was a way to check for uti w/o a vet visit. I understand the desire to rule it out yet having the trade off be a lot of anxiety / fear for the fur baby, not to mention the challenge of getting into carrier, taking time to do this and then the cost. Sigh. I’ve wondered about Pretty Litter. I think a change in ph level would be detected and that would change color of clump. So altho not affirmative for uti, a change from normal ph to higher ph coupled w/ what u see with slight elevations in blood sugar could be a vet visit trigger. Multiple cats a little trickier. I’ve wanted to try it but hesitated since it would introduce a change and Idk how Minner would react to a difference in litter.
 
That made me laugh. Minner has big pees too. I used to weigh her pee clumps and track it, but stopped doing that when she got back to 1-2 pees a day. I NEVER see her drink from her water bowls. Seriously, not in months, maybe a few times in January. Kind of crazy. But she eats all pates and some tiki stix every day, so do they just not have a thirst drive when they are regulated and getting all the water in the food??

The only time I've seen Jude drink from the fountain is when he was first diagnosed with FD. (I've never seen Hazel drink water!) I'm never sure if the food (and we're feeding same as you--all pates) gets enough water into them. I had a former cat develop CKD, and from that experience and research, I know that cats are notoriously poor water drinkers, which is not good for their kidneys, so I water down their food quite a bit with each 3.5 oz tin receiving half a tin of warm water.

Thanks for the suggestion for the water fountain--that is a good price. We've had one for a good while now that I like well enough for its ease to keep clean, but, as I said earlier, neither Hazel nor Jude drink from it. For awhile I put it in the triples room, but they think it's a game (EVERYTHING is a game to them), and they end up bonking it and knocking it over and splashing and spilling the water everywhere.:woot::arghh::woot:

Wish there was a way to check for uti w/o a vet visit. I understand the desire to rule it out yet having the trade off be a lot of anxiety / fear for the fur baby, not to mention the challenge of getting into carrier, taking time to do this and then the cost. Sigh. I’ve wondered about Pretty Litter. I think a change in ph level would be detected and that would change color of clump. So altho not affirmative for uti, a change from normal ph to higher ph coupled w/ what u see with slight elevations in blood sugar could be a vet visit trigger. Multiple cats a little trickier. I’ve wanted to try it but hesitated since it would introduce a change and Idk how Minner would react to a difference in litter.

I wish there were an easier way to screen for UTI, too. I attempted to get a free-catch sample of Jude's urine last night, which, in the past, the vet has accepted and tested, but I somehow contaminated it by getting some litter in it o_O I think the free-catch is not always the best, though, because of the risk of contamination from the urogenital tract. I'm not sure. Jude is such a good little patient when they perform the cystocentesis, but they typically do it when I'm in the room, and man, it looks seriously uncomfortable for my little dude.

Just last week I put Pretty Litter in one of Jude and Hazel's boxes, but no one has used that box yet, so I'm not sure how well it will work. I put a little bit of litter attractant in with the litter, but you know how cats are with new things.

It's good to hear from you Laura! We've had a few new people on the boards who are shooting higher doses, and I've directed them to look at Minner's sheet for courage in shooting higher doses in the greens. I'm glad to see Minner's numbers are looking so good, and I hope things are going well for you too!:bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top