4/18 - Sammy (7.5u) first dose lantus - amps 212; +1 182

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Maureen & Sammy, Apr 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Sammy's been diabetic since 2006 and tightly regulated on PZI Vet. Honeymooned and then fell off the wagon. He's on low-glutin FF and had six rotten teeth removed from his little head 12 days ago. He's got a heart condition (but came through the operation beautifully) and the latest tests show his kidneys aren't that great. We are now making the great leap off PZI, having for all intents and purposes licked the last bottle dry. He was at 171 +23 an hour ago after getting 4.4U - way, way more than usual because he was at 309 (at +11) but we've been getting these weird spikes lately. Anyway, I've been told to treat Lantus like PZI that would mean that he would get 2.2U. (I use U100 needles, btw, and use the conversion chart so the doses I've mentioned are U40 doses.) Since I'm terrified I'd appreciate any advise.
     
  2. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    Hi Maureen. Welcome to Lantus. You will get lots of advise and support and help here.
    Someone will be along very shortly to help you with dosing advice.
     
  3. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    Welcome Maureen. Others will be along to get you started, so while you are waiting, you can start by reading the stickies at the top of the main Lantus screen, and put a profile and spreadsheet together which will help everyone to better guide you in the transition.

    I am glad to hear that the teeth issue is in the past and you and Sammy both survived the ordeal.
     
  4. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    good morning and welcome to lantus land! sorry to hear sammy fell off the wagon. if you haven't already, please take the time to read through the "stickies" at the top of the page. lantus is different from pzi from the way it's handled to it's use. dosing is based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

    as far as an initial starting dose is concerned, it's hard to comment without seeing the last couple of weeks of pzi numbers. there is a link in the "new to the group?" sticky to instructions for setting up a spreadsheet. a spreadsheet will help us answer your questions.

    good luck with the switch!
     
  5. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    Oh, god, I hope I haven't killed him. I figured I couldn't wait any longer so at +24 when he hit 212 I shot him with 7.5U (U100). I'll go struggle trying to a spreadsheet.
     
  6. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    Hello

    welcome to the Lantus forum.

    Sorry can you clarify? You shot 4.4u of the last of your PZI this morning or 7.5u? Will you be home to monitor by spot checking Sammy?
    Post if you need help ok?

    Jill is one of our very experienced members here, and she likes to see data, so if she says - let's see some numbers, know what I mean? :D
    When you have a chance, set yourself up with a spreadsheet and link it to your signature.
    All the info is in the "stickies" up above (the threads with the "star" icon)

    Hope to see you posting often, and I too am sorry you have to start back up again on insulin, but you're in good hands here!
     
  7. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    want to make sure i'm understanding you...
    you just shot 7.5u of lantus? was this the first dose of lantus?

    do you have any high carb (18%) canned food and karo in the house if you need it to bring up numbers?
    please get a +1 and +2 for starters. post the numbers when you get them...
     
  8. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    Maureen,
    Did you give Sammy a dose of 7.5u of Lantus using U100?

    I just wanted to be clear on exactly what you did.
     
  9. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    I shot the last of the PZI Vet yesterday at 8:17am. Sammy was at 309 so he got 4.4U (U40), which is 11 in U100 terms. At +8 he was at 111. At +11 he was at 107. At +14 he was at 85. At +18 he was at 93. At +23 he was at 171. At +24 he was at 212. That's when I gave him 3U (U40) or 7.5U in U100 terms.
     
  10. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    Will you be around this morning to get spotchecks?
    can you start with a +1 (thats one after this morning's shot and AMPS)
     
  11. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    Hi Maureen & Sammy, and welcome! My post has crossed with all the replies you just received. The experts are concerned!! The following is what I wrote before I saw the above responses to your post:

    You have come to the right place. The dosing experts will want to know how much Sammy weighs and will want to see his chart. So if you can get a spreadsheet and profile up and running, they will be happy. Instructions for setting up a spreadsheet in Google Docs can be found in the Tech Forum. The template we use has already been made and all you have to do is set up a free account in Google Docs and link your Google Docs spreadsheet to your signature. If you keep your spreadsheet up to date, the people here can see how Sammy is doing and make recommendations for dosing.

    Stu was also diagnosed in 2006 and was on PZI Vet until last November, when we switched to Lantus. His initial dose was set too high and we had quite an adventure until I found this forum! Lantus works very differently from PZI Vet. It is given every 12 hours and there is very little wiggle room with regard to the timing of the shot (you don't have that hour or two of leeway that you have with PZI Vet). Also the dosing is based on the blood glucose number at nadir (when the number is lowest and the insulin is peaking), not at the pre-shot number. After the initial dose has been decided upon, we follow a modified version of the Tilly Protocol (see the informational "stickies" above). When making dosing changes, we go very slowly, raising or lowering the dose by .25 of a unit, or .5 of a unit (depending on the cat and a bunch of other factors). We then hold the new dose for a number of 12-hour cycles to let it "settle". Lantus like this go-slow approach. It sounds finicky, but it really does produce results.

    There are many very knowledgeable people on this board who will give you sound advice with dosing. Someone will be along soon. In the meantime, read as many of the "stickies" at the top of the Lantus forum as you can. It's a lot of info. and Lantus has has steep learning curve, but it's worth it. And, again, welcome!

    Ella & Stu
     
  12. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    ok. thank you for the explanation. since this is his first dose of lantus and a high one at that, please get those early spot checks and we'll go from there. the +2 should be about the same as the preshot number.

    the insulins are different strengths. for example, if he was doing well on 4u of a U40 insulin, we would probably recommend a starting dose of lantus somewhere right around 4 units (in a U100 syringe).

    looks like you'll need to monitor carefully today. do you have high carb canned (18%) and karo on hand if needed?
     
  13. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    Yes, I am going to be here all the time. I will do the +1 in 20 minutes.
     
  14. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    do you have high carb canned (18%) and karo on hand if needed?
    see you at +1...
     
  15. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    Yes, I have Karo at hand. No, I do not have any high-carb food in the house. I specifically ask the vet if I should start like it was the beginning with 1U and he specifically said no treat as PZI. The vet btw is about as fancy as you can get. A slew of highly networked specialists.
     
  16. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    If I do have to give him Karo how many cc's do I give him?
     
  17. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    i agree with your vet. i wouldn't have recommended starting over at 1u bid either. however, using lantus and pzi are very different. you do not roll or shake the vial/pen/cartridge before using. dose adjustments are made according to nadir. sliding scales are not used with lantus. consistent dosing is the key to success with lantus.
     
  18. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    is sammy carb sensitive? some cats are, some aren't. depending on the numbers... initially, i'd start out with a few drops (possibly mixed in a little bit of food) to see what kind of bump it gives. if it's not enough, you'd have to increase the amount. your meter will guide you.

    since you have a head's up and can monitor carefully today, we should be able to manage the curve without any problems.
     
  19. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    +1 is 182
     
  20. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    a little dip. i'd feed a teaspoon of lc here... no more than that. we don't want him getting full in case we need him to eat later.
    see you at +2.
     
  21. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    I don't know if he's carb-sensitive. I've always managed with human food like beef if he was going a little low. He only had karo once in his life and that was on April 7 after the operation when the vet panicked. Should I go out and buy food or stay with him?
     
  22. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    Sorry lc?
     
  23. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    LC is low carb, MC medium carb and HC for high carb,,,you prob should get stocked up on HC and MC varieties when you can, this is something we like to encourage for you to keep in your hypo tool kit along with the Karo.

    If you're close to a store and can get back quickly then yes, I would go, or send someone to go for you.
     
  24. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    there's time to get some fancy feast grilled flavors in the house. they're usually around 18% carbs.
    i have NO idea how this will all shake out today. he may drop or this may turn into a non-event. often times it does. i'm hoping for the latter considering this is the first dose of lantus, but monitoring is the only way we'll know for sure. better to be safe than sorry...


    lc = low carb wet food
     
  25. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    Ah, yes, I used to have that in a segregated part of the pantry as backup but not for a while
     
  26. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    lc means "low carb" food. (mc= medium card; hc= high carb). Low carb (what we feed under normal circumstances) is anything below 9-10% carbs on Janet's and Binky's food charts (see the link to this in the sticky "New to the Group"). Medium carb is from about 10% to 14%; high carb is above 15% and any of the foods with "gravy" is high carb. MC can be "made" by adding high-carb gravy to low carb food, or a little Karo to low carb food.
    Hope this helps a little!

    Ella
     
  27. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Dosing Advice Sought, Moving from PZI Vet to Lantus

    this might be a good time to go to the store. :smile:

    Welcome to Lantus Land!
     
  28. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    maureen, i took the liberty of changing the subject line to reflect the dose and current numbers so others will be alerted to your situation.
    hope you don't mind...
     
  29. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    If it will take too much time to make a grocery store/Fancy Feast (FF) run, don't worry about it. A few drops of Karo or other syrupy stuff mixed into regular LC food will do the job.

    And, welcome to Lantus Land. Sorry about the "exciting" introduction!
     
  30. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Three stores later. I found one flavor of griled. great, my complaining about the food worked.
     
  31. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    sorry you had to go to 3 stores. at least you found one.
    see you at +2...
     
  32. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
  33. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I know the feeling, I've been thinking there must be another FDMB person very near me. Last week I could not find the regular FF flavors that my cats like (chicken and turkey giblets) anywhere, and at my grocery store there was none of our backup, Friskies turkey, either. The first PetSmart I went to had 1 can of chicken feast and 4 cans of turkey. They checked in back and there were none. Went to another PetSmart later in the week, I got a case of chopped grill and a few cans of each of the others. Between two grocery stores I got I think 12 cans of each FF and a couple cans of Friskies. The two nearest grocery stores are often out of those flavors. What's up with that? Two of my cats like premium food and I have that, but one won't eat the good stuff at all so I have to have FF and Friskies.
     
  34. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ok. squeeze some of the gravy out of one of those cans of high carb food and let him have about a teaspoon. all we want to do is give him something to slow the drop without filling him up. i'd retest in 30 minutes to see if we've accomplished our immediate goal.
    see you then...
     
  35. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    OK, I make one teaspoon to be about 3ml so I shot that right down his gullet. Now he's looking for the can.
     
  36. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    lol, the power of gravy, sooo addictive :lol:

    you're doing great Maureen
     
  37. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    lol! of course he wants the high carb food! hold off on it for now. we don't want to fill him up at this point.
    how are you fixed for strips? have a lot on hand?
     
  38. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Looks like I've got about 62 strips in the house.
     
  39. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    wonderful! more than enough.
     
  40. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Sammy weighs about 16 lbs. He has consistently weighed 16 lbs since the diabetes. His mother was a Maine Coon cat. His putative father was the homeliest cat I ever saw. His full sister is so pretty her name is Beauty. He is very smart and a wonderful patient. He's understood from the beginning that the insulin is good for him.
     
  41. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    he IS a smart kitty to know insulin will make him feel better. good for him!
     
  42. Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

    Lisa and Do Lou (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Hi Maureen I want to welcome you to LL along with Sammy you are in great hands today with Jill :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
     
  43. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Thanks. I wish it wasn't so dramatic.
     
  44. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    83 at +2 hrs 40min & 30 minutes after +3ml high-carb gravy
     
  45. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    i'd mix in a little karo with that. let's get him bumped up.
    retest in 30 minutes, please...
     
  46. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    I could shoot the Karo directly into him. He's not eating the lc FF. Should I give him the grilled?
     
  47. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    he can have about teaspoon of high carb food. mix some karo into it...
     
  48. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Ok, figure about 1cc of Karo and maybe a bit more than a teaspoon of the hc FF
     
  49. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    that's fine. the thing to remember while we're doing this today is we don't want to fill him up for two reasons...
    we want him to eat when we need him to eat and we don't want him to get so full that he'll vomit.

    right now we just want to stop the drop...
     
  50. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    111 at +3.5 + hc food & 1 cc Karo a half hour ago
     
  51. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    fantastic!
    i think you could probably wait about 45 minutes to retest. he's probably going to bobble up and down for awhile. our goal is to control his numbers with food and karo (if necessary).
     
  52. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Right. See you in 45 minutes. And thanks a lot. A real lot. Whoops, I'm gonna cry.
     
  53. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    awww, don't cry. you're doing great and so is sammy!!!
    stuff like this happens... i couldn't tell you how often.
    see you in 45 minutes...
     
  54. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    oh, this is all my fault.
     
  55. Deb & Spot

    Deb & Spot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Welcome to Lantus Land, Maureen and Sammy! It is a very dramatic entrance, I mustsay :lol:

    I see Jill is taking very good care of you, she is a life saver and is very very knowledgeable. Listen and you will learn! And since Jill is on board, I really don't have much to advise since she has got it all covered!

    I have absolutely no experience or knowledge of PZI since Spot started on Humulin N (BIG UGH) and then he went on Lev, but I can tell you that you really do have to change your way of thinking when you switch insulins. Lantus and Lev are based on nadar, not pre-shots.

    FWIW, I bought a black magic marker and marked the carb content on the lids and sides of all the cans of food that I bought so that I wouldn't make a mistake in feeding the wrong carb food at the wrong time. This system worked out very well, especially when I wasn't home and my mom needed to get some hc/mc food into him.
     
  56. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Yeah, the vet wanted to put Sammy on Humulin N. I even have a script for it here. But after Sammy got over the operation on his teeth I argued with him that Humulin N wasn't ideal. And I wasn't sure I could get the extra PZI Vet that someone else has here in time and importing the bovine stuff from England can take a long time so from what I'd read Lantus was Sammy's best bet. The doctor was under the impression that Levemir is better for cats with higher BGs than Sammy runs but Sammy's numbers have been really scattershot lately although getting those poisoned teeth out of his head could make a real difference (we postponed the operation for years because of his heart condition) so I thought that maybe even PZI (if we could get it) wouldn't be the best for him at this point
     
  57. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    (((((maureen)))))
    this was a simple misunderstanding. it could happen to anyone... and has happened before. you're doing a wonderful job managing sammy's curve. hang in there, k? we will get through this and soon it will become a distant memory...
     
  58. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    And when you see someone post that has done the same or similar, you will have quite a bit of first hand experience! It's not exactly the most pleasant way to get it, but you have it now!

    For the food, I also use a marker to label the %carb on each can and I also have 3 separate bins for LC MC and HC foods. The HC ones are in an entirely different drawer so that there is no chance of my reaching for LC and grabbing some HC by mistake.

    And I agree; you did an awesome job working with Jill. Well done! :thumbup
     
  59. Nicole & Baby

    Nicole & Baby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    (((Maureen & Sammy))) Welcome to Lantus Land, it sounds like you are doing a fabulous job with the support of many educated, experienced furbaby friends on FDMB. Don't feel too bad about this at all, when Baby began Lantus I was planning to give .5 units & ended up giving 5 UNITS!! Can you believe that? I about died! I had no clue how to read the syringe & thought the 5 marking was a .5 we (meaning FDMB & I) realized it when I got her +3 reading, look at my SS when you have time (1/7/09 -first entry) Needless to say, we got thru that day/night due to the help of a lot of great people, it was a real rough 24 hours for us - please listen to everyone (like you are)Jill completely saved my Baby's life that night & has been with us ever since. It is soooo scary :YMSIGH:
    I just wanted to drop by & show my support & encouragment - you are handling this all so well. If you need anything - please let me or others know - we are here for you & I know it is a big job to do all this testing, monitoring/manipulating the #s, but we just have to & it is well worth it. Keeping an eye on Sammy with you & I just know everything is going to be OK :mrgreen:

    Believe me, everything I have went through since that night has been a piece of cake in comparison - Baptism by Fire! ;-) That night helped me deal with many factors that I encounter now with expertise & ease!!

    **This is not your fault - you did nothing intentional - if someone has the link to my 1st night - please feel free to share it .. you will see what a mess I was (& sometimes continue to be :lol: ) !!
     
  60. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    155 at +4.5
     
  61. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    nice! time to give those ears a break for awhile.
    how about retesting in another hour? post the number...
     
  62. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    No tears, Maureen. You are doing great!

    This falls into the category of sh*t happens! I'm sorry your vet didn't have the box of cartridges or vial clearly marked with the amount you needed to be injecting. It is one of the huge advantages of this forum. There are a number of experienced people here who have walked members through situations like this and we are here pretty much 24/7. LL doesn't close like the vet's office (and we're much less expensive).

    Nicole mentioned her first day in LL. Here's the link to Baby's condo.
     
  63. Dawn & Nova

    Dawn & Nova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Well.. seems you are having an edge of your seat kind of day!! Like others have said.. not the most stress-free introduction to Lantus..

    What's done is done.. mistake or not you are doing the right thing right now which is all that matters (and we've all goobered something up at some point.. so welcome to the club :) ).. watching her close, testing lots and getting help.. you'll get through it.. and be a pro at the whole HC/karo deal right off the bat :)..

    Boy aren't you going to be disappointed when you find out how boring Lantus usually is ;).
     
  64. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Promise me it's boring. Promise me. Promise me. Oh, promise me.
     
  65. Dawn & Nova

    Dawn & Nova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    It is.. it's (in the right dose ;) ) a really gentle insulin.. you will probably spend most of your time getting frustrated that nothing exciting is happening.. once in a while there's a bit of excitement.. and then you wonder why you wanted it so bad.. and then back to booooring.. wishing something exciting was happening.. ;)
     
  66. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    I just read your baptism of fire. Gee, I wish I could have been there for you, you poor lamb
     
  67. Marvie and Tugger

    Marvie and Tugger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Welcome to Lantus Land Maureen! Sammy likes to make an entrance doesn't he? {{{Maureen}}} What a morning for you! You're in the very best of hands though. This is a pretty amazing bunch of folks here =) Congratulations on making it through a pretty darn scary morning nailbite_smile
     
  68. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
  69. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    122 at ~5.5
     
  70. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ok, a little bit of a drop, but not much. how about giving him a couple teaspoons of his regular (low carb) food and retesting him in one hour?
     
  71. Michelle & Scrabble (GA)

    Michelle & Scrabble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Just wanted to stop by and say hi and welcome!!! you are in GREAT hands today! Glad you found us!!!!!!
     
  72. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    You and me both.
     
  73. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    OK, See you in an hour.
     
  74. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    i'll look for you then.
    before i forget, if sammy's numbers start going up, don't disappear on us. depending on the numbers, we'll need to look at a dose for tonight... if we decide to shoot tonight. i've been thinking about an appropriate starting dose. i'd like to see how the rest of the day plays out before suggesting anything, but i'm thinking it might be better to start sammy out with a lower dose than his last pzi dose. his insulin requirements may have decreased substantially since his dental 12 days ago. it may be why you've been seeing what you've described as weird spikes.
    make sense?
     
  75. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    OK, guys, while we have a semi-quiet moment I need to know what the protocol calls for. In PZI-ville we'd shoot at +6 or beyond if at 150 or over. What's Lantus' duration (like this isn't diabetes and I'm going to get a consistent answer)? How do I establish the nadir? Ah, I see you're reading my mind. Well, I think the infection could definitely have been playing havoc with his numbers. He was on an antibotic for 10 days too. Clindamyclin Hydrochloride (1.5ml every 12 hours). Last dose was last Monday (4/12). Since then he's done things like 309 at +11.5 and 171 at +23 or 236 at +24 and 79 at +17 after being at 74 at +7.5. His last PZI dose, however, was way over the norm at 11U. Sammy usually doesn't tolerate 10 and above well and has rarely needed it. He probably never had that much ever until this year.
     
  76. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    lantus is a 12/12 insulin. it also has a cumulative effect... meaning one dose builds on the next. you won't see the "real" results of any single dose for a few days... which is why we generally hold a dose for 3 days (6 shot cycles) before increasing a dose. check out the protocols sticky towards the top of the forum. lantus dosing is different than what you've been used to.

    testing is the only way to find out kitty's nadir... and as soon as you think you have it figured out... it'll move. :D
    initially, i'd start looking for nadir by doing some random spot checks between +4 and +8.

    to make sure we're all on the same page and to avoid confusion, when we talk pzi let's talk U40 units. when we talk lantus, let's use U100 units.
    sammy's last good dose of pzi was 4.4 units, correct?
     
  77. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    103 @ +6.75 That's after eating some lc FF an hour ago
     
  78. Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

    Lisa and Do Lou (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Hope you are holding up Maureen :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: when you get time the sticky's at the top of this page have a wealth of information about using lantus maybe a in few days when you get a quiet moment you can take a look at them I still keep going back to them a reading them again since Do Lou and I are pretty new here :D
     
  79. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Yes, Sammy's last dose of PZI was 4.4U (U40)
     
  80. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    i'd go ahead and give him some high carb gravy again. it's not that he's too low... it's just to prevent him from from taking a nose-dive on us.
    i'd retest in about 30 minutes to see if the drop has stopped.
     
  81. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    At what would be +7 he got 3ml (roughly a teaspoon) of hc gravy. Now he's eating the lc stuff his sister left behind
     
  82. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    lol! the food from another kitty's bowl is always better! :lol:
    next test will tell us if we've stopped the drop for now...
     
  83. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    95 at +7.5, a half-hour after 3ml of hc gravy
     
  84. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    oh, he just wants some more hc. let him have some. let's stop the drop.
    see you in 30 minutes...
     
  85. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    well the karo plus hc worked before. Should I do that again or just the food
     
  86. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    go ahead and put a bit of karo in there if you'd like...
     
  87. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Half a cc of Karo and hc food eaten with gusto
     
  88. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    hc is a real treat for him! :lol:
    see you soon...
     

    Attached Files:

  89. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    138 at +8.25 after 1/2 cc of karo and hc food a half-hour ago
     
  90. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Jill had to step away from the computer for a few minutes. good, maybe this time he'll stay up. I think you can wait another hour to test now.

    Sammy's very last PZI shot was 4.4 units. You've said a couple of times that was much more than normal. What dose did you normally shoot? I assume you were doing a sliding scale.
     
  91. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    looks good. i'd retest in an hour.

    i have a few questions about his pzi dose, but need a couple minutes to get them together.
    will be back shortly...


    edited to add: never mind. libby asked the most important question...
     
  92. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Yes, I did the sliding thing. I was trying to figure out what a norm would be. :lol: His "normal" range was from 1.8U to 3U, maybe 3.5U.
     
  93. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    hmmm. that sheds a different light on things when trying to figure out a good starting dose for lantus. let's see how the rest of the cycle goes...
     
  94. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Years ago - in August of 2007 actually - Sammy wasn't responding as well as he should have to 1.5U at 151-170 or 2U at 171-185. So he went 1.8U at 151-170 and 2.2U at 171-185 with anything higher remaining the usual ratio. He's been on that protocol ever since.
     
  95. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    from May of 2006, five months after starting PZI Vet, he went on a honeymoon that lasted until May of 2007 then he was above 100 but rarely above 150. At the tail end of June 2007 he spilled sugar in his urine. The vet wouldn't give me insulin until he hit 300. That was in July 2007.
     
  96. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    we'll have to see how the rest of the cycle goes. it may be wise to just skip tonight's shot to let his body calm down after this over dose. that will also give you a chance to get a good night's sleep and recoup from today's experience. you must be worn out.

    libby and i have been discussing a good starting dose. after seeing the scale you've been using and considering the effects the dental may have had... it may be a whole lot safer to start with a reduced dose of 1.5u bid. if the dose is too low, we can always fast track him up the dosing scale if necessary. better to be safe than sorry.
    what do you think?
     
  97. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Given my performance this far, I shall be happy to follow instructions. BTW, what's sleep?
     
  98. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    lol! sleep is what you're probably going to enjoy tonight... so savor every minute of it! :lol:
    i'm going to be off-line for the next several hours, but will check back here as soon as i get back. libby will be keeping an eye on what's going on here. she's one of the few people i would trust enough to care for my own kitty. you'll be in the best of hands...
     
  99. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    When you find out, will you let me know? :lol:
     
  100. Maureen & Sammy

    Maureen & Sammy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    113 at +9.25, roughly an hour and a half after karo & hc snack intervention.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page