Perezamado23
Member Since 2023
Today's is Remy's first day of insulin and I was a bit surprised to see a blue so soon. I thought Lantus builds over time so I got a bit nervous.
Is this normal? Thanks.
Is this normal? Thanks.
Welcome Samantha and Remy to the LLB forumToday's is Remy's first day of insulin and I was a bit surprised to see a blue so soon. I thought Lantus builds over time so I got a bit nervous.
Is this normal? Thanks.
. Yes Lantus builds a "depot" over time but we've seen some newly diagnosed cats show movement right away on Lantus. We ALL know how nervous treating FD (feline diabetes) can be. You will need to remind yourself (and we'll remind you tooEXCELLENTYes, I have his hypokit ready to go
I'm the wrong person to answer this because I'm a testaholicDo you recommend I test him again in a couple of hours or can I just test at PM shot time?
. Joking aside, any and all data is good data especially when new to insulin.Generally, if you get a lower preshot, we stall without feeding and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the BG is rising on its own. Sometimes, the BG falls without food. When I was anxious about shot times, it was strongly suggested to me to get a +10 or +11. That can help with the shoot or not shoot decision. Since you're new (and it doesn't get any newer than day 1Am I ok to follow the rule of "no insulin under 200 (I'm using a pet meter)?" since I have no history really for him?
Thank you for the detailed response.EXCELLENT
I'm the wrong person to answer this because I'm a testaholic![]()
. Joking aside, any and all data is good data especially when new to insulin.
Generally, if you get a lower preshot, we stall without feeding and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the BG is rising on its own. Sometimes, the BG falls without food. When I was anxious about shot times, it was strongly suggested to me to get a +10 or +11. That can help with the shoot or not shoot decision. Since you're new (and it doesn't get any newer than day 1) I would suggest getting a later cycle test, POST here with an indication in the thread that you're new and need help.
If no one is around, the refer to this sticky:
How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:
Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
- Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
- Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
- a.) give nothing
- b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
- c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
- Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
- In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
Have you read the stickies about Lantus? Its a LOT of information, so take it slow.
my best advice is POST POST POST any and ALL questions!Thank you for the detailed response.
I did ready the stickies about Lantus but my brain is a mush lately so I think not everything stuck (teflon brain).
I will test again at +10 and see where we are at. He will get a bit of food right now as I'm making my lunch and he is watching me like a hawk!
Ok, thank you. I am a bit nervous as it’s our first day.Nice, he's flattened off. We use the SLGS dosing method and TR protocol here, not the AAHA guidelines for dosing. If you are nervous and want to back off by 0.25 units, that would be OK. 0.5 units is a big drop.
.I will be testing in about 10 minutes as his shot should be at 6pm EST.Hi Samantha
Exciting first day...actually first cycle. Your anxiety is understandable. We learn by asking questions. Keep asking.
How long before your PMPS?
I am also EST. I'll stick around for your PMPS.I will be testing in about 10 minutes as his shot should be at 6pm EST.
Thank you for sticking around with me. I just tested and he has 182 - I'm using a pet meter.I am also EST. I'll stick around for your PMPS.
Thats good. It has gone up in the last 2 hours. Do you feel comfortable shooting now?Thank you for sticking around with me. I just tested and he has 182 - I'm using a pet meter.
Should I proceed with 1.0 unit at 6 EST? How often should I test tonight?
Yes, I can test again in 20 minutes.Thats good. It has gone up in the last 2 hours. Do you feel comfortable shooting now?
Do you have time in your schedule to stall without feeding for 20-30 minutes and then test again to see if the 182 (pet meter) is rising?
You could also reduce the dose as Wendy suggested in post #13.
Testing and shooting in 20 minutes from now can and will still keep you on schedule for tomorrow morning. If at 615PM (assuming that's 20 minutes from the PMPS test) its the same or higher, I would give the 1 unit and feed a little less than usual dinner portion in order to save it to feed at +1/+2. I would also test at +2ish to start.Yes, I can test again in 20 minutes.
How should I proceed after that? If it went up again I’m ok to give him his 1.0?
I honestly didn’t expect such an exciting first day!!
Ok, I’ll do that!Testing and shooting in 20 minutes from now can and will still keep you on schedule for tomorrow morning. If at 615PM (assuming that's 20 minutes from the PMPS test) its the same or higher, I would give the 1 unit and feed a little less than usual dinner portion in order to save it to feed at +1/+2. I would also test at +2ish to start.
Did I read that you recently changed Remy's diet to all LC?
Also, not saying you'll need it, but you do have the MC, HC and karo/syrup on deck.
What time do you normally go to bed? With Lantus, the +2 or +3 is usually a good indicator of how the cycle will go, and whether you need to do more testing. It is possible that he could bounce with the lovely blues that he's not used to. But we don't have enough data yet to see how Remy will respond, so no guarantees.How many tests do you recommend I do in the evening?
I just tested him and he is at 184 (pet) so he only went up by 2.What time do you normally go to bed? With Lantus, the +2 or +3 is usually a good indicator of how the cycle will go, and whether you need to do more testing. It is possible that he could bounce with the lovely blues that he's not used to. But we don't have enough data yet to see how Remy will respond, so no guarantees.
Thank youIt's up to you. If you wait too long (stall), their numbers can start to go down without food. Give either 1.0 or 0.75 units, whichever you feel comfortable with. You'll have lots of opportunities to do this again.
I gave him 0.75U and at +3 he was 289.It's up to you. If you wait too long (stall), their numbers can start to go down without food. Give either 1.0 or 0.75 units, whichever you feel comfortable with. You'll have lots of opportunities to do this again.
Thank you! Off to bedThat +3 means he's bouncing, you can take the rest of the night off.