4/24 Charlie AMPS 212, +3 183, +5 155, +7 159, +9 153

Charlie'sMom22

Active Member
Yesterday's post

Sorry for the late post! I was expecting higher numbers today due to the reduced dose last night and the bounce from the yesterday's low.

Am I right to assume that this means his depot has drained enough and the numbers going forward should reflect the "true" dose of 5 units? He's still bouncing right now, right?

I hope everyone is having a nice safe day!

Edit: Oh, I've been meaning to ask--does anyone here give their cat cosequin and if so, does it affect BG at all? I had Charlie on it before his diagnosis and have been thinking about putting him back on if it won't interfere.
 
Last edited:
Yesterday's post

Sorry for the late post! I was expecting higher numbers today due to the reduced dose last night and the bounce from the yesterday's low.

Am I right to assume that this means his depot has drained enough and the numbers going forward should reflect the "true" dose of 5 units? He's still bouncing right now, right?

I hope everyone is having a nice safe day!

Edit: Oh, I've been meaning to ask--does anyone here give their cat cosequin and if so, does it affect BG at all? I had Charlie on it before his diagnosis and have been thinking about putting him back on if it won't interfere.
Looking at your SS did you give 2.5u last night or 5? I think it's too soon to see how he will settle into the 5u. Believe it can take up to 6 cycles.

I've been giving Dasuquin twice a day, haven't seen any issue with BG.
 
Looking at your SS did you give 2.5u last night or 5? I think it's too soon to see how he will settle into the 5u. Believe it can take up to 6 cycles.

I've been giving Dasuquin twice a day, haven't seen any issue with BG.
2.5u. Wendy had suggested to do that in yesterday’s condo to drain the depot faster (I want to reiterate her note that this is only for larger dose cats).

The large depot from the previous 6/6.25u dose was still affecting him, which is why he suddenly dropped to 66 yesterday morning. From my understanding, giving a half dose essentially flushes out the depot and allows it to shrink down to the reduced dose size so he’s not getting pummeled with all that extra insulin.

And thank you! I’ll start the cosequin back up tomorrow.
 
2.5u. Wendy had suggested to do that in yesterday’s condo to drain the depot faster (I want to reiterate her note that this is only for larger dose cats).

The large depot from the previous 6/6.25u dose was still affecting him, which is why he suddenly dropped to 66 yesterday morning. From my understanding, giving a half dose essentially flushes out the depot and allows it to shrink down to the reduced dose size so he’s not getting pummeled with all that extra insulin.

And thank you! I’ll start the cosequin back up tomorrow.
Ok that makes sense, wasn't sure if that was a typo. Sounds like you answered your own question. :):bookworm:
 
Ok that makes sense, wasn't sure if that was a typo. Sounds like you answered your own question. :):bookworm:
Hahaha, I’m like 80% sure that’s what’s going on but I’m hoping Wendy will pop by and confirm at some point! I had her tagged but then I saw there are a lot of urgent things going on today and I don’t want to clog up her notifs
 
Hahaha, I’m like 80% sure that’s what’s going on but I’m hoping Wendy will pop by and confirm at some point! I had her tagged but then I saw there are a lot of urgent things going on today and I don’t want to clog up her notifs
That's very considerate, I just saw that too. Glad Charlie is riding some comfy blues for you. :bighug:
 
Back
Top