4/24 Toeby AMPS 236, +1 176, +2 34, +3 54, +4 83, +6 164, PMPS 367, +1 374, +3 329, +4 356.

Laurasboyz

Member Since 2020
Previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...135-5-281-pmps-331-2-367.246526/#post-2781408


Toeby has been rebounding, we thought...
Thought we should start "feeding the curve"

This morning his pretest was 236 - he ate his normal low carb breakfast
+1 was 176 - I gave him some high carb Solid Gold Sensitive Stomach kibble that he really likes, not much
+2 he tested at 36 - I retested to be sure it was not a mistake, he was 34

Gave him some gravy wet canned
He is washing his face now, asymptomatic... will retest in 15 minutes.
I have honey and syrup on hand, and he has gone hypo on me before, as his spreadsheet will show

I am thinking he is just simply on too much insulin, even at 0.25 units (a quarter unit Lantus)????

Edited to add - every time he has gone this low, he was asymptomatic...
 
I answered on the other thread as you had posted there.
He has earned a reduction down to 0.1 units
You will have to eyeball this dose. I used a magnifying glass. It’s the middle syringe.


upload_2021-4-24_23-36-44.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-4-24_23-36-44.png
    upload_2021-4-24_23-36-44.png
    190.8 KB · Views: 140
Tested again after 15 minutes - still 34
Gave him some honey on his tongue and gums and offered melted ice cream - he only ate a few licks on that.
Testing again shortly
Still acting normally.

Yes, .1 - I've been down this road with him before....
With the variables of mass production, I can guess at a dose like that as best I can...
I bought calipers last year because they were supposed to be the saving grace for small doses, but it still comes down to your eyeballs and hoping the syringe manufacturer prints the black lines in a consistent place.
Will repost shortly as soon as my timer goes off
 
Tested again at almost 3 hour mark - now 54.

Should I keep giving him high carb snacks or will I just make the rebounding that inevitably going to happen worse?
Laura
 
Tested again at almost 3 hour mark - now 54.

Should I keep giving him high carb snacks or will I just make the rebounding that inevitably going to happen worse?
Laura
I would switch to normal low carb now if he will eat it. Otherwise feed him what he will eat. We don’t want him to drop again.
He will almost certainly bounce again from the 34, whether it is sooner or later is to be seen.
I don’t think the amount you are feeding him will make him bounce sooner or higher.

BTW we don’t call it rebounding...just bouncing.
 
Hi Bhooma, nice to meet you!

I just tested him at noon (+4) and he is 83 (4.6 mmol/L).
I gave him some treats.
He jumped up in the window to soak up some sun, and seems to be feeling okay.
 
Nice to meet you as well! :-)

What did you feed him at +3? HC or LC and are the treats LC?
Can you test again after 2 hours without feeding to see if he stays up without food?
 
Nice to meet you as well! :)

What did you feed him at +3? HC or LC and are the treats LC?
Can you test again after 2 hours without feeding to see if he stays up without food?

I gave him some freeze dried turkey at +3 and with each blood test I gave him a couple high carb Temptations - just 2 or 3.
After testing at +4 I tried him on some Dr. Elseys but he ate very little.

Yes, I will test him again at +5 or +6, and not feed him in between - I'm not going far from home today.
I'll post his new numbers and change his thread title and spreadsheet when I do.
Thanks for your help
 
Nice to meet you as well! :)

What did you feed him at +3? HC or LC and are the treats LC?
Can you test again after 2 hours without feeding to see if he stays up without food?

+6 is 164, with no feeding or treats after the +4 test.
I did give him some freeze dried turkey breast after this +6 test, and I am putting his food down for the balance of the day.
Laura
 
+6 is 164, with no feeding or treats after the +4 test.
I did give him some freeze dried turkey breast after this +6 test, and I am putting his food down for the balance of the day.
Laura
Great! We don't have to worry about him dropping in the cycle. :)
 
Last edited:
PM Preshot was 367 - gave him 0.1 unit of insulin, a reduction from this morning.

+1 reading was 374 - so he is not dropping quickly like this morning - he snacked a bit more of his low carb food, on his own, about 20 minutes ago, so I am not going to give him any high carb treats at this point.
 
PM Preshot was 367 - gave him 0.1 unit of insulin, a reduction from this morning.

+1 reading was 374 - so he is not dropping quickly like this morning - he snacked a bit more of his low carb food, on his own, about 20 minutes ago, so I am not going to give him any high carb treats at this point.
I see Toeby is up on the trampoline again!
He only bounced for 1 cycle yesterday so be on the lookout for a drop either late this cycle or tomorrow am cycle.........but remember cats love to prove you wrong!
 
He only bounced for 1 cycle yesterday so be on the lookout for a drop either late this cycle or tomorrow am cycle.........but remember cats love to prove you wrong!

+3 he is 329, so he has dropped slightly... I'll stay up and check him again.
Tomorrow morning I have to go out before his +2 point.
I can check him before I go and leave food out, unless there is something else I can do?
Laura
 
Back
Top