4/25/22 CALI AMPS 206,PMPS 73, +2.5 97, +7.5 58, +8 70, +9 72

carlascalico

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...9-pmps-107-2-25-124-5-99.262424/#post-2941676

see prior above

4/25/22 CALI AMPS 206
AM+4 158
AM+7 73
AM+10 74
PMPS 73
PM+2 97
PM+7.5 58
PM+8 70
PM+9 72



good start today from nice ride yesterday. Cali’s body seems to like this dose. Today will be 7 days on this 2.25 dose of LEVEMIR.
still hard to believe we only started Levemir 20 days ago! I would say it is like a dream but I haven’t been able to sleep long enough to have a dream lately.:oops: LOL

Happy thoughts for all our FDMB family of friends and sugar babies. We’re watching you.

@bhooma @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @FrostD
Review and thoughts/consensus on preliminary next steps dosage for 4/26 AMPS.
 
Last edited:
Hold the dose. She's seeing quite a few 50s, no room for an increase which is good, she's just gotta learn to stop bouncing.

I guess I should mention - my approach for long term diabetics is NOT to force them down into the 30s or 40s. It is to get a dose that gets them pretty nicely and consistently in 50s, and when they're ready for a reduction they'll drop below that on you. Perhaps this is not the correct approach, Wendy and Elise would know better.
 
You saw 50s just a couple of days back on this dose. Ignore the bounces. She is clearing them fast. As she spends more time in those long stretches of greens and blues, her liver will get trained.
 
@+ 4 [158] 1.5tsp LC
? next test +8 is this still in range of NADIR?
You saw 50s just a couple of days back on this dose. Ignore the bounces. She is clearing them fast. As she spends more time in those long stretches of greens and blues, her liver will get trained.

Thanks Bhooma . I was hoping to stay here at 2.25U for a while longer. I am still looking for that illusive pattern, instead I am still getting “surprises” every day. My SS graphed would resemble a two hump camel yes?

separate question on the Meloxicam for pain that we discussed months and months ago. You strongly advised me to exercise caution when using and don’t follow dog dose directions or even half doses. We settled on 0.022ml for 15lb Cali. I have only given couple times last year only I think. Now I have been delaying to see how this new insulin Levemir works so I am isolating cause/effect. However I know she is experiencing hip pain from old injury/arthritis. Her rear end body shape also reveals this [narrow]. She still jumps each day to counter for testing and down, up & down on bed and more recently outside deck stairs. We do have stools and bed pet stairs for her. QUESTION: do you think after 3 weeks on Levemir and generating SS data, it is ok to give her a “hit” of meloxicam occasionally to knock the edge off her pain.?
We can tell when her pain lessens. It is a positive result.
Not unlike humans, less pain in our animals is an opportunity for more exercise, hoping to reduce weight, less stress on joints, and better BLOOD GLUCOSE levels.
thanks for your input
 
Yes, a test at +8 is fine. A snack in between would be good to get her to surf.

Regards meloxicam, my civvie Budge gets it and it has been a wonder drug for her. Improved her mobility and her quality of life. I wouldn't say her kidney values are worse off because of it either!

Don't know if you've seen this:
http://felinecrf.org/treatments_antibiotics_painkillers.htm#meloxicam

Budge is on a maintenance does of 0.05mg per kg once a day. I use a 1ml syringe to measure that. We also get only the dog strength here which is 3x the cat strength.

Managing Cali's pain can actually improve her numbers. Pain and inflammation can lead to higher BG.
 
upload_2022-4-25_13-59-3.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-4-25_13-59-3.jpeg
    upload_2022-4-25_13-59-3.jpeg
    48 KB · Views: 97
Yes, a test at +8 is fine. A snack in between would be good to get her to surf.

Regards meloxicam, my civvie Budge gets it and it has been a wonder drug for her. Improved her mobility and her quality of life. I wouldn't say her kidney values are worse off because of it either!

Don't know if you've seen this:
http://felinecrf.org/treatments_antibiotics_painkillers.htm#meloxicam

Budge is on a maintenance does of 0.05mg per kg once a day. I use a 1ml syringe to measure that. We also get only the dog strength here which is 3x the cat strength.

Managing Cali's pain can actually improve her numbers. Pain and inflammation can lead to higher BG.

thanks Bhooma. Looking back at my clipboard notes and SS notes to see how much I gave her prior. We determined no more often than every 3 days max.

Others use Adequan or gabapentin as their pain management choice. Gabapentin seems to make her very sleepy although vet insisted I use GABAPENTIN prior to clinic visit.
 
Surfing California Cali @+10 [74] without snack [fasting] but was given snack earlier 1tsp LC
Mexicali given meloxidyl at recommended dose for arthritic hip pain. 0.05mg per kilogram of Cali’s weight [calculated at 14 lbs] or 6.35kilograms x 0.05 = 0.31mg daily maintenance dose. Use 1ml syringe.
 
PMPS 73 2.25U LEVEMIR. 3Tbsp LC
still surfing
Next test TBD/? +2 coming shortly, should I test or wait until +3?
 
On the same page, fed a little @+2
PM+2.5 [97] fed 1tsp LC
Cali is a bit sleepy [maybe meloxidyl earlier] and wants to go to bedroom after she grooms and maybe potty.
Next test TBD?
 
Finally updates for an active cycle
PM+7.5 [58]
PM+8 [70]
PM+9 [71]
fed only LC each time as wendy had suggested prior. Hopefully to prevent a bounce.
Cali is now happily grooming
I think safe now to stop testing until AMPS, YES?
 
Back
Top