4/25 marley | AMPS 290 |

MarleyMoo

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-28-marley-pmps-48-75-62.245389/#post-2769081

It's been a while, but I'm back. Had a death in the family, mental break down, travel back home WITH the diabetic boy to help my grandma after the death, started a new job, finishing my 2nd to last semester. Literally hanging on by a thread right now.

My concern: I think Marley is bouncing and I'm just not catching it. It's taking him really long to clear bounces now. Initially I just thought because of the stress of travel, his body may have gotten used to high numbers again and he needed to readjust to surfing, but it's been weeks now of getting down to a good number and BOOM, rollercoaster. Should I reduce? He has plenty of food out overnight in his bowl AND autofeeder (finally stopped attacking it) and he's still hitting these super low numbers and then bouncing to 300s for 4-5 days.
 
Sorry about the hectic life. :bighug: All that in a pandemic, no wonder you are hanging on by a thread. Hopefully Marley is providing some comfort for you.

It's not uncommon for cats to bounce. My girl almost always bounced and I was so happy when she stopped bouncing to reds after the first year. It just meant she was really used to higher numbers and it took a while to get her to spend time in normal numbers where she'd stop bouncing so high. You may have the same situation with Marley. Lowering the dose just means he won't see those normal numbers and will spend time in even higher numbers getting used to them. Reduction aren't the way to go if you are following TR, unless you cannot monitor for some reason.

From my count, he seems to be clearing bounces after six cycles, so not abnormal. What times are his meals? Just wondering if there's some tinkering we could suggest to help.
 
I’m sorry for your loss. I would not reduce. You just have a bouncy kitty who has not hit lime green.
 
Sorry about the hectic life. :bighug: All that in a pandemic, no wonder you are hanging on by a thread. Hopefully Marley is providing some comfort for you.

It's not uncommon for cats to bounce. My girl almost always bounced and I was so happy when she stopped bouncing to reds after the first year. It just meant she was really used to higher numbers and it took a while to get her to spend time in normal numbers where she'd stop bouncing so high. You may have the same situation with Marley. Lowering the dose just means he won't see those normal numbers and will spend time in even higher numbers getting used to them. Reduction aren't the way to go if you are following TR, unless you cannot monitor for some reason.

From my count, he seems to be clearing bounces after six cycles, so not abnormal. What times are his meals? Just wondering if there's some tinkering we could suggest to help.
Well back in March, he stopped bouncing at all and we had nice greens and blues. He wasn't bouncing anymore and we were surfing at least once if not 3 or 4 times a week. Then he had 2 reductions and then started this bouncing again at his new reduced dose and I'm always catching him coming up at like, 58/60 in the mornings so I'm wondering if he's just dropping way too low overnight. It's rough because he always clears his bounces going into his PM shot so I'm not able to see how far he's dropping overnight before he inevitably bounces again.

He free-feeds until +10 with an autofeeder at 3 hour intervals just incase he eats all his free-food too early.
 
Back in March he was on a higher dose. Going up and down in dose is not uncommon. You've held this dose quite a while, longer than TR suggests. Once option, if you could monitor closely, is actually an increase. More insulin might lower those bounces. However, since he's been seeing the 60's, you would have to be careful and keep an eye on him. He might not like the new dose for long, but it might be enough to help him get more used to those normal numbers.
 
With catching numbers in the 50s in the morning, idk if I'd be comfortable with an increase. I'd be worried about his numbers overnight
 
My SO is on afternoon shift this week, so he could monitor until about +4/+5 for a few days, but it seems my boy likes a late cycle.
 
Back
Top