4/26 Jill AMPS 256 Dosing Advice | +6 118 | PMPS 161

Thanks for posting a new condo. Older ones can get lost in the shuffle with so many posting. We strongly suggest that you get a minimum of an AMPS/PMPS and at least one other test each cycle. The +2 is often a good indicator of whether you will have an active cycle and another test or tests might be needed. If it’s a lot lower than the preshot you will want to test later. Since Lantus is dosed based upon how low it takes your cat, it’s a good idea to get a test between +5-7 to see if you can catch the nadir. Some cats nadir earlier and some later so sporadically get one test at different times if possible.

The yellow stickies at the top of this forum explain it all so I suggest reading them when you have time. There’s a lot to learn and I am sure you will have lots of questions so keep asking.

Soon you will want to decide if you will follow one of our dosing methods so that sticky is one I would read and think about as well as posting guidelines and how we can best help you.
 
Hi Debra , if possible try and get some more tests in after the AMPS and PMPS
So we can see how the insulin is working since you started to dose every 12 hours
Especially at night , scatter the tests :cat:
 
Good luck, Debra. Try to get some more test in. I like the +3, +6 and +9 during the day and I certainly need to do better at testing at night but I usually will get a +3 to see if I need to be concerned about more testing during the night. Some people do a lot of testing day and night. It helps them to better understand their cat and gather the data needed to make wise decisions and to keep kitty safe.
 
To round out the day, at midnight (+2.5) her BG was 153.
Hi Debra, Good job on getting that evening test! If you want to show that Jill hit 153 at +2.5 yesterday, do this in your cell (we never note the time of day in the SS, as we're all over the globe and prefer to use hours after shots like +1 or +6 to refer to time):


Screen Shot 2021-04-27 at 10.58.39 AM.png

You color the box by going here, hitting the paint pail and choosing blue, and then change the color of the lettering by hitting the A and picking white.
Screen Shot 2021-04-27 at 10.59.18 AM.png
We also ask you make a new condo each day, even with yesterday's news. :)
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-04-27 at 10.58.39 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-04-27 at 10.58.39 AM.png
    8.6 KB · Views: 82
  • Screen Shot 2021-04-27 at 10.59.18 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-04-27 at 10.59.18 AM.png
    5.6 KB · Views: 86
Hi Katherine, thanks for the tip! Should I make a new thread every day even if I don't have any specific questions?
Yes. A lot of members just post the URL to their last post and update numbers in the thread title. It helps us keep track of the kitties, and we can intervene if we see something going on that you might not be aware of at the beginning, like if you need a dose increase or decrease.
 
Back
Top