4/27 Jack 180@AMPS- moving to experimental dosing specific to Jack

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
Decided to give jack 7.5 units last night after his PMPS number was 349 due to his diet. This seemed to work as we got 180 this morning for his AMPS. Kept the 7.5units this AM as he had pate, but also kibble, and his body is extremely sensitive to the kibble, even if it is the YA/Dr Elsey combo.

Also, I have decided to do a Jack specific TR/SLGS protocol of dosing, which will vary by .5 units depending on his BG and food intake. So,for example, if he on 7.5 units, but is 75-150 and eats close to what he should (pate) he will get 7 units of insulin. But if his BG is +150 and/or he eats prime filets or kibble he would stick to the 7.5 units. That's the TR part. Based on BG levels I will hold that dose (7.5-7.0 units) for 7 days and then adjust up or down accordingly; so if he is showing lower #'s he would then go to 6.5 -7u or if he is showing higher #'s he would go to 7.5 - 8u (hopefully not). That's the SLGS part. This is not the recommended procedure so anyone reading this post PLEASE do not copy. Jack has very specific issues and I have been closely monitoring his progress for 15 months before coming to this dosing protocol on my own as a desperate attempt to get Jack closer to where he should be while maintaining his quality of life.

As always, comments and suggestions are welcome. I'm at the end of my rope with this cat and his crazy nonsense with diet. But he is who he is, and at the end of the day the whole point of this is to give him a longer life, but also maintain a good quality. Neither of us can take the stress of food arguments and the roller coaster numbers any more, so we are thinking outside the box, and giving this crazy idea a shot. Paws crossed it works.

Yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-26-jack-84-amps-reduced-to-7units.276872/#post-3066954
 
I don't think I have any new suggestions for you. I wouldn't call it TR/SLGS but rather put "custom dosing" in your signature. We don't recommend combining TR and SLGS or taking bits from each, and I think what you have is just like you say "Jack custom dosing". At this point, it doesn't hurt to experiment and see if you can find something that works for him. With our dosing methods, which you aren't going to be following, we find consistency in doses is best, due to the nature of the depot. However, I think you've given the dosing methods a fair shot and it's worth trying something different. Good luck. :bighug::bighug: Keep us posted.
 
I don't think I have any new suggestions for you. I wouldn't call it TR/SLGS but rather put "custom dosing" in your signature. We don't recommend combining TR and SLGS or taking bits from each, and I think what you have is just like you say "Jack custom dosing". At this point, it doesn't hurt to experiment and see if you can find something that works for him. With our dosing methods, which you aren't going to be following, we find consistency in doses is best, due to the nature of the depot. However, I think you've given the dosing methods a fair shot and it's worth trying something different. Good luck. :bighug::bighug: Keep us posted.
Thank you so much for your input, I appreciate your experience and advice.

Do you think a different type of insulin would help? ProZinc didn't work so we went to the Glargine.
 
He might be a little flatter with Levemir, though there's no guarantee - ECID. Levemir does onset on average around +4 and nadir around +8, so you have to be able to deal with those later times. Neko was +5 onset, nadir around +9-+12 on Lev. You also have to get used to lower preshots as a result. The good thing about later onset is you quite a bit of time to get food in them before the insulin takes effect. I think your biggest issue is how sensitive he is to dry food, even the low carb ones. A different insulin isn't going to change that. I did like the predictability that flatter numbers gave me.
 
He might be a little flatter with Levemir, though there's no guarantee - ECID. Levemir does onset on average around +4 and nadir around +8, so you have to be able to deal with those later times. Neko was +5 onset, nadir around +9-+12 on Lev. You also have to get used to lower preshots as a result. The good thing about later onset is you quite a bit of time to get food in them before the insulin takes effect. I think your biggest issue is how sensitive he is to dry food, even the low carb ones. A different insulin isn't going to change that. I did like the predictability that flatter numbers gave me.
Thanks again!
 
Back
Top