4/29 Toeby AMPS 331, +2 164, +3 63, +3.5 45, +4 69, +5 122, +6 167, PMPS 371, +2 383., +3 398.

+3 63
It seems like his body has been resisting the insulin (bouncing, I guess?) and today is going with it, again with perhaps too fast a drop...
This is the first green number I've caught since we lowered his dose from 0.25 to 0.10.
Nice to see a green number even if it happened too quickly this am.
Gave him just a couple high carb Temptations at this test
 
Recheck at +3.5 - 45

Gave him more HC Temptations... and some gravy off Fancy Feast in gravy
He ate some regular food (freeze dried Stella & Chewy's) before this test
Will recheck shortly
 
Last edited:
+4 is 69 (3.8 mmol/L)

Gave him some more gravy off of a can of Fancy Feast with gravy
Very willing to eat the gravy, not keen on being tested - I think he is feeling crappy.
Will test again in a half hour
 
+5 is 122

I gave him some more gravy after this test... he is sleeping on our spare bed.
Purring this time
 
+5.75 is 167
He is feeling better, is up in one of his perches sniffing the breeze... (see pic attached, hopefully done correctly)
Gave him more gravy Fancy Feast to be sure he is up.
 

Attachments

  • Toe_Apr292021 (1).jpg
    Toe_Apr292021 (1).jpg
    67.1 KB · Views: 74
+5.75 is 167
He is feeling better, is up in one of his perches sniffing the breeze... (see pic attached, hopefully done correctly)
Gave him more gravy Fancy Feast to be sure he is up.
Pretty kitty and big tail. That was quite a drop to 45 from his high AMPS. Looks like he is coming up safely now.
 
Toeby was all the colors of the spectrum today! Nice work bumping him up from that neon. I love pictures of kitties sniffing the breeze! He has that "I'm king of the castle" look about him. Good luck this evening, that was quite an Olympic dive this morning.
 
PMPS 371, +2 383

He had his normal low carb food for supper, plus I let him have some higher carb Fancy Feast as a snack, because I didn't want him to drop quickly like this morning.
I think that's why he's slightly higher than preshot, but maybe it has nothing to do with it.

I have added a question mark to my post as I would appreciate some input on what his morning dose should be after this most recent low BG incident.
His spreadsheet will show that he's been on this reduced dose for basically 5.5 days - I can do a curve on him on his 7th day, as suggested.
He keeps making these extremely steep drops, and the duration of the insulin doesn't seem to be great.

He is taking a 1 mg dose of Budesonide in the evenings with his insulin.
He gets one dose once a day.
 
As a diabetic back from remission, it's best to be a bit more aggressive on dosing. We usually suggest reductions at 3 times between 40 and 49 on separate days, or once under 40, or a week in solid green if following TR, but not much you could do with SLGS, except maybe lower the reduction point a bit. He's got far too much pink on his SS.

I don't know how you are feeding him now, but it looks like he could benefit from some extra food earlier in the cycle to avoid those steep drops. Maybe a small meal at +1 and +2 to start? You want to prevent those fast drops - which also cause bounces, and try to flatten him out with food. Might be some ideas in here: Using Food to Manipulate the Curve
 
As a diabetic back from remission, it's best to be a bit more aggressive on dosing. We usually suggest reductions at 3 times between 40 and 49 on separate days, or once under 40, or a week in solid green if following TR, but not much you could do with SLGS, except maybe lower the reduction point a bit. He's got far too much pink on his SS.

I don't know how you are feeding him now, but it looks like he could benefit from some extra food earlier in the cycle to avoid those steep drops. Maybe a small meal at +1 and +2 to start? You want to prevent those fast drops - which also cause bounces, and try to flatten him out with food. Might be some ideas in here: Using Food to Manipulate the Curve

Hi Wendy, nice to hear from you... I gave that a quick read but thought I'd try to catch you before bed as it is getting late.
My only issue is that Toeby has been a grazer all his life - eats a bit when I put his dish down at shot time, mostly cleaning off the probiotics that we add to every dish.
He then walks away, and returns back when he's hungry so he is effectively getting mini meals over time, but granted, not on exact hourly intervals.
He has been eating 2 choices every meal: freeze dried Stella & Chewys, and lately mostly the Weruva Slide n Serve pate pouches - he really likes those.
When he and his brother polish off what they have, we give them more, up to our bed time or 2 hours before shot time.

I can get him to eat on command if it is a food that entices him, like treats or high carb gravy (which has been a blessing every time he went low - that he will eat for me).
I guess I can try to pick up his food quicker, and put it back down at +1 and +2, but I'm not convinced he has the hunger drive to eat on command... I guess all I can do it try.

I'm not quiet clear on what your suggestion is for dosing tomorrow morning- leave it at 0.10 units and try to feed him small meals at +1 and +2 to prevent a fast drop?
He does not appear to be dropping quickly tonight, but I suppose he wouldn't after this morning's event.
Laura
 
I'm just going to add that he might eat Dr. Elsey's for me at +1 and +2... I have stopped giving that to him as I thought it might be contributing to his higher BG numbers.
 
I'm not quiet clear on what your suggestion is for dosing tomorrow morning
Since you are following SLGS, you do need to reduce with that 45. But if the reduction does not hold and you have to increase again, you may need to play with feeding/carbs to prevent fast drops.
 
Thanks.

That puts me back into that place I was last summer trying to go where the syringes have no markings low enough by the needle.
The micrometer I purchased last year to assist in measuring tiny doses, really don't help me as I found that the difference in a dose of between 3 mm and 4 mm or whatever was still dependent on my vision, if I have to put the micrometer against the barrel and judge with my eyes.
If I could use the plunger end, and depress the plunger to a distance limited by the micrometer's set arms, that might work, but no one seemed to suggest that was possible.
Unless I did not understand, I was told to figure out the dose and use the arms of the micrometer against the barrel at the needle (reservoir) end of the syringe.

I worked in manufacturing/production - I don't have the confidence in the accuracy of the smallest insulin syringe for these tiny doses because the reservoir might differ in size slightly.
I wish I could find something smaller, but the pharmacists I have asked tell me no, these syringes are as small as anything available at retail at human pharmacies.
Maybe vets can access narrower bore syringes than can accurately measure tiny doses?

I'll do my best to consistently measure a smaller dose than 0.10 and get him to eat what I can after the shots for a couple hours.
I don't know what else I can do?
 
The dose below 0.1 is a drop.
To get a drop push the plunger right in and hold, then put the needle into the cartridge of insulin and release the plunger
That should be a drop.
Practise it a few times to see if you get a drop each time.
 
Back
Top