4/6, Bell, AMPS 328 +4 288 +8.5 221 PMPS 250

bluesunshine

Very Active Member
Yesterday

I increased again this morning, numbers still aren't what they need to be. Patience pants time. It has been awhile since she's strung some greens together, but she'll get back there. She is good outside of the numbers. Sweet as ever.

Wendy (or anyone else that knows IAA), if you see this, I was wondering if the IAA can come and go? You had mentioned in the past that IAA is usually self-limiting and most cats see breakthrough in a year or less. I think Bell had that breakthrough, but I'm wondering if it can come back? I may be phrasing that incorrectly...
 
upload_2025-4-6_19-20-54.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-6_19-20-54.png
    upload_2025-4-6_19-20-54.png
    509.5 KB · Views: 66
IAA is not well studied, but I don't think it "comes and goes". What can change over time is the amount of insulin a cat's pancreas produces. I'm not sure Bell had an IAA breakthrough, but the underlying diabetic part of her (pancreas) was doing some healing due to the amount of green she was seeing. Then the greens stopped. We don't know why, but it could have just been the fragile nature of a healing pancreas. The need to go up and down in dose happens a lot in FD. Bell's still at quite a bit less insulin than she was a month ago.

I found with Neko that if she went six cycles without green, I had to do something about it. (increase). Now ECID, but I wouldn't hold a dose overly long that isn't doing what you want it to do. You could be battling glucose toxicity as well as IAA. Just keep doing what the TR protocol says to do. You'll get there again. :bighug:
 
IAA is not well studied, but I don't think it "comes and goes". What can change over time is the amount of insulin a cat's pancreas produces. I'm not sure Bell had an IAA breakthrough, but the underlying diabetic part of her (pancreas) was doing some healing due to the amount of green she was seeing. Then the greens stopped. We don't know why, but it could have just been the fragile nature of a healing pancreas. The need to go up and down in dose happens a lot in FD. Bell's still at quite a bit less insulin than she was a month ago.

I found with Neko that if she went six cycles without green, I had to do something about it. (increase). Now ECID, but I wouldn't hold a dose overly long that isn't doing what you want it to do. You could be battling glucose toxicity as well as IAA. Just keep doing what the TR protocol says to do. You'll get there again. :bighug:
Thank you so much, Wendy! I got a little gun-shy with what I thought was the IAA breakthrough and was trying to be cautious, since Bell seemed to hit a run of low greens on cycle 6 or 7 a few times. I am back locked into TR here until her numbers tell me different. I am also really pleased to not be at 8 units anymore :). I really appreciate the reassurance. Wish my girl could be a little more stable :rolleyes:. We'll get there. :bighug:
 
Nothing wrong with being cautious at higher doses and those darn higher dose depots that can be the gift that keeps on giving. :eek: Especially with the timing of you going back to work and being less able to monitor. You got this.
 
Back
Top