4/6 Oberon AMPS 423, +4 291, +7 161, +9 132, PMPS 148, +3.5 156; starting Lev tomorrow?

The Lev is finally here! Delayed two days in Customs but the temperature indicator was fine. Looking at our schedule, we're actually pretty open for the next several days, so I'm thinking about starting him tomorrow morning. Other than periodic checks to make sure there's no shenanigans in the first couple of cycles, anything else I need to think about before switching?
 
The only thing to think about is whether you want to tweak the feeding schedule. With later nadir, you can feed more later in the cycle. Correspondingly, with later onset, a lighter PS meal or food before onset, when insulin is waning, might be worth exploring. No need to do it all at once, just something to think about as you go. Note that the first couple cycles you could also have the Lantus depot + Lev action so hard to say what to expect until the Lantus depot is all gone and you are just working on the Levemir one. Have you considered what you might want as the starting dose? If it's ugly to start with a reduced dose, we might be able to think about a bit of a fast track.
 
The feeding schedule is pretty free-form... they get 9-10 cans/day (for four cats) and we mostly just feed them at preshot and whenever they ask. (The advantage/disadvantage of being mostly home all day.) Loosely speaking, I think they get fed at 8 am, 10 am, 4 pm, 6 pm, 8 pm, 10 pm, 12 am, 3 am, and 6 am. So we'll stick with that for the moment but I'll keep the new onset/nadir in mind and adjust if necessary.

I think you recommended 70% of the current dose as a good starting dose? Current dose is 5.5 U, so I was thinking of starting at 4 U and then fast tracking back up to 5ish if it looks like it would be a good idea. Then go more slowly in the ~5 to 5.5 range since that's about his current dose and I don't want to overshoot.
 
Back
Top