4/7 Mouzer: PMPS +6 72/+6.5 79/+7 92

Cherryl & Mouzer

Very Active Member
And another good morning :joyful:

4/7 Mouzer: AMPS 118/+2 101/+4 73/+6 69/+7 68/+9 72/+10 125/+11 102
PMPS 82/+1 68/+1.5 47/+1.75 79/+2 99/+2.5 127/+3 124/+3.5 108/+4 99/+4.5 82/+5 85/+5.5 74/+6 72/+6.5 79/+7 92

4/6 Mouzer: AMPS 93/+3 122/+5 104/+6 75/+9 113/PMPS 108/+2 120/+3 103/+4 98/+5 85/+6 77/+80
 
Last edited:
So far, the syringes I have used go either even with the zero mark or below it and I have wondered if Mouzer gets more insulin on those that go a little below the mark. I have pulled back to get even with the mark and then draw from the pen, but I cannot say I have always caught this. I havent had one that stopped short above the zero mark yet, but that can happen one day, too.

I used to adjust for the zero error. So, for example, if the plunger fully pushed was at 0.5U instead of zero, I would add 0.5U when measuring the dose. That is, draw 1.5U instead of 1U.

I would use my magnifying glass but I cannot hold it and also hold the syringe and do what is done to pull the juice from the pen.
You don't need the magnifying glass to draw insulin from the pen. You use it to check the dose when pushing out extra insulin from the syringe to get to your dose. So, hold syringe up against the light and look through the magnifying glass to see how much you need to squeeze out. Squeeze out some insulin and again check with the magnifying glass. Rinse and repeat till you get to the dose you need.
 
I used to adjust for the zero error. So, for example, if the plunger fully pushed was at 0.5U instead of zero, I would add 0.5U when measuring the dose. That is, draw 1.5U instead of 1U.


You don't need the magnifying glass to draw insulin from the pen. You use it to check the dose when pushing out extra insulin from the syringe to get to your dose. So, hold syringe up against the light and look through the magnifying glass to see how much you need to squeeze out. Squeeze out some insulin and again check with the magnifying glass. Rinse and repeat till you get to the dose you need.

LOL On that squeezing out insulin. I stink at it and have to squeeze it all out and start all over. I have watched videos on turning the plunger to get it to squeeze a little out but so far, I havent had a plunger that will turn. I hate wasting insulin like this but I have no choice. And I do so hate these tiny marks on the syringes. Cant see for poop hahaha And I wear glasses and still cant see the marks that well.
 
LOL On that squeezing out insulin. I stink at it and have to squeeze it all out and start all over. I have watched videos on turning the plunger to get it to squeeze a little out but so far, I havent had a plunger that will turn. I hate wasting insulin like this but I have no choice. And I do so hate these tiny marks on the syringes. Cant see for poop hahaha And I wear glasses and still cant see the marks that well.
Do you "prime" the syringe before drawing insulin? Moving the plunger up and down a few times (before drawing the insulin), helps spread the lubricant in the syringe and makes it easier to squeeze the plunger.
 
I have read that a cat's normal range BG are from 50 to 150 ...
Mouzer is having nadirs that are safe and good, and in the night, he has more green bgl's, otherwise, but during the day, even though nadir will get to the safe and good numbers, he is having more blues, otherwise.
So far, those blues are not above 150. Being as dose is based on nadirs, do we let the blues go on? I would prefer less blues but I do not want to have a dose that will take him down to the 50's at his nadirs, so I am uncertain if to leave him with what he has is fine, or how to even out his days of blues, so there are more greens, without lowering the nadir.

To control the 'when' Mouzer eats his meals is not an option. Mouzer eats when Mouzer eats.
I cannot force him to eat. And his eating is spread out in small meals, but he decides when he will eat those small meals.
 
Last edited:
Nice numbers last night. I'd hold the dose and see what he does today. It looks like he's heading for green.

He is getting to the green at nadir, but just not staying green in the day hours, like he does for night hours. And for night hours, he is going blue at some point, most of the time.
I am waiting. We are on 6th cycle with this dose, tonight is 7 and I dont want to increase dose at night lol and even the following cycle after that cycle of increase is iffy for me hahaha because of Mouzer being unpredictable. And I may wait out 8th and 9th cycle, but if there is an increase needed, it needs to be done at 10th or 12th cycle - so to not do the increase at pm cycle.
As long as these blues are ok, I will leave it alone for a bit longer. I just want to make sure these blues are ok.
 
He is headed lower at +2 itself in a break from his pattern for the last couple of days. Let's see where he goes today!
 
amps +4 73
That is not much lower than 4/5.
Still wishing some of these blues will go away.
But the +2 is better today than previous.
Hopefully tomorrow the +2 will go green :D

I have some things to get done, so I am putting away my laptop.
I will record updates later on, sometime today.
 
I don't know if you've seen this sticky?


Let's see what Mouzer has in mind today. :D

Thank You for that sticky. I had seen it, as in posted, but I never read it because I did not use the calipers, and I forgot about that sticky!
Thank you for the link and reminder and I will read up on that!
And ok, I am glad on the +4 we were not much lower than on the 5th, but still a comfortable lower.
But lookie at +6 and +7 for the AM!
We got some lower green!!! The comfy green!
Now if we can fill in +9 and the +2 with green! And hopefully the amps and pmps with green!
Due to where these greens sit, I dont want him any lower at the nadirs.
So, I wait on this dose!
 
Last edited:
Yes, no harm in holding the dose a little longer and see if his numbers improve on it.
He hasn't felt like eating anything after the +4?

No. He most likely will not want to eat until +9 and I always tell him, you better eat now, because the kitchen is closing in an hour, because of preparing for pmps :) I am going back to do work lol I want to get out of here, at least rush to check on things elsewhere and get back for +9, so he will eat hahaha I need to stay gone longer but since he wont eat, I am having to figure this out now :)
 
Mouzer jumped amps +9 72 to +10 125. I do not know that two teaspoons of low carb could cause this or if this is when Mouzer just takes a jump up.
I am putting away my laptop. I have been getting a lot of work caught up and still have quite a lot to go. If by chance I do not get on this evening, I will catch up the titled numbers tomorrow. I do hope everyone is having a good day with their precious kitties, whatever time of day it is for you :)
 
AMPS +11 102/PMPS 82/+1 68
Wbat is this cat doing :cat:

I had to get on here to share this lol
I am watching Mouzer. I will post later on :)
 
LOL On that squeezing out insulin. I stink at it and have to squeeze it all out and start all over. I have watched videos on turning the plunger to get it to squeeze a little out but so far, I havent had a plunger that will turn. I hate wasting insulin like this but I have no choice. And I do so hate these tiny marks on the syringes. Cant see for poop hahaha And I wear glasses and still cant see the marks that well.
Have you tried two pair of glasses? I'm not kidding. Or buy a super strong pair with high magnification just for doing insulin? Some people here have purchased a magnifying lighted thing that you look through...
 
pmps +2 99 still karo working
lol Earlier today I was worried about the blues...
Now, I am worried about the greens hahaahaha
 
Last edited:
pmps +2.5 127 a little too much karo, maybe heehee
This is what freaking out causes ahahaha
At least I know karo works, so far :)
 
Phew. Scary evening for you Cherryl. So glad you caught that drop early.

Because of the pmps 82, I planned a +1 test. I thought the 68 was too low for +1 lol So, I gave 2 teaspoons of HC, trying to get ahead.
Then he went to 47 a +1.5. He would not eat the HC, so I got the Karo lol And I know I overdo the Karo because I am trippin out lol
If I did not do the HC when he was at 68, he would have went lower than 47.
I did not want him to go any lower. I sent him to the blues for an hour and a half, but ok, better that than hell hahaha
 
Last edited:
Good catch tonight!:D

Not entirely correct. Cats not on insulin can test in the 40's, as I have seen at home. And the upper end is 120, not 150.

I have cats not on insulin testing at 48. They are not on insulin, so I trust it. I dont trust induced lows :)
Mouzer is one who ran 70 through and to a seldom 165, without insulin.
I do have a cat who runs around 150, not on insulin, not diabetic.
 
Last edited:
With the pmps +7, I assume I can go get some sleep.
I am planning an 0.25 for am. I am not real sure what to do at this time.
I am too scared to do another 0.50.
If the 0.25 proves not enough, not sure what to do about that.
If the 0.25 proves too much, I guess I will repeat this slime green again :(
 
This time he really is making my mind work trying to figure him out hahaha

I do know that Mouzer is a bluesy kinda cat, when without insulin. So, if he goes to the slime hypo green on 0.25, I guess we have to do OTJ trail and I need to look up the range used in 2017, because that is the range I think I will need to go by -- Mouzer was a bluesy, green kinda cat then hahaha But he stayed within the range requirements for OTJ trial. We were doing SLGS at that time, so I guess I need to go look for a sticky on the range and requirements for that. Mouzer should join the blues traveler band :D

EDIT - I am looking for how it was decided for Mouzer's OTJ trial - but I dont see where it shows a range that goes along with the range Mouzer fell within ... Mouzer did blues and green during his trial and some up to 162, some 130 something and 120, etc... But he did not need an insulin shot.
 
Last edited:
I was trying to find where I read a cats normal bg range is 50-150 and I cannot find where I read that but I found something else to say something different lolol go figure :D I guess nobody can agree on anything hahahaha
But I do have a cat who runs around 150 and I was concerned he was diabetic but he is not diabetic,
he just runs around 150 for whatever reason a cat decides to be different ahahahaaha

This is what I just found while trying to find where I read the 50-150 range...

In my hospital I use in house blood machines and also send blood to an outside reference laboratory when I need a blood profile. The “normal range” for the parameters we measure (such as kidney values, liver values, electrolytes and such) are different for each type of machine. I typically place more confidence in outside reference labs over in house machines, because their “quality control” is very tight. I run in-house labs when I need answers ASAP when a pet is ill or if I’m suddenly needing to anesthetize a pet that we hadn’t planned for ahead of time. For my outside reference lab (a big national lab), the blood glucose range for cats is 64 to 170. And for dogs it is 70 to 138. My in house chemistry analyzer lists a normal range of 70 to 150 for cats and 60 to 110 for dogs. It’s all statistics. They test a bunch of “normal” pets to determine a normal range with that chemistry analyzer. Ranges for various machines are in the same ballpark – but not exactly the same exact numbers.
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/articles/what-is-normal-blood-glucose-range-pets
 
Last edited:
Why am I awake now?
Because I woke, jumping straight up out of my bed, running down my hall to get Mouzer's am shot items together ...
Because I dreamed my stupid alarm was going off lolol And I heard it plain as day, loud and clear, as if I were awake and it was not a dream!
 
Fine dosing below 0.25 - I have no experience but this screenshot is from the lantus forum under the article about dosing. Might be worth a check but you probably already are aware????
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-04-08 at 08.08.15.png
    Screen Shot 2021-04-08 at 08.08.15.png
    243.7 KB · Views: 52
Oh gawd! My alarm really just went off now!
Time to see what Mouzer does next---
This condo ends and the new one will begin and how many days before Mouzer has me freaking out and going for Karo LOL
 
Fine dosing below 0.25 - I have no experience but this screenshot is from the lantus forum under the article about dosing. Might be worth a check but you probably already are aware????

Hey Thanks! I knew that I had seen that before but I could not remember where I saw it!
Thank You so much!!
 
Back
Top