4 May Tucker AMPS 407, +2 407, +5 360

Tucker

Member Since 2018
Tucker got his reduced dose of Lantus this morning: .75. He ate breakfast. Looking pretty unhappy, licking his mouth/nauseated. Hoping the depot fills and his body adjusts quickly.
 
He’s had 2 pancreatitis flair ups since his major issue in 2019. When his BG goes up above 20 during a bounce he definitely gets nauseated but he still eats normally. Our vet gave us a pain syringes and told us if it’s ever after hours and he vomits/doesn’t eat/belly is painful when manipulated, we are to give him the drug and ring her ASAP because it may be a flare up. We add 1/2 of extra water to his food daily which we’ve been told will help him. I don’t have anti nausea meds at home right now.
He is scheduled for dental surgery next week. Could a tooth that is being absorbed mess with his bg stability/caused his hypo?
 
Not sure high BG can cause nausea. If they are used to lower numbers, being in higher numbers does not feel good though.
When you take him in for the dental next week, you could ask for ondansetron for nausea.

Yup, dental issues can cause issues with regulation but not a hypo. The 1U dose was just too high for him. Plus he doesn't get food through the cycle which can push his numbers lower.
 
I’ve just updated his SS and he was:
Amps 407
+2 407
+5. 360
+7 328
7 hours in and he’s at least out of the red and into the pink. I’m home today. Should I give him a snack?
 
He is flat and high - bouncing. Yes, please give him a snack.

In future when you get tests mid-cycle, please give him a snack? In cycles like yesterday, you want to feed a tsp of food after every test.
In other cycles which are not as active, a snack or two would be good. It's better to feed in the first part of the cycle when the insulin action is the strongest. You do not feed in the 2 hours before the shot.
 
Thank you got the advice, I really appreciate it. I had been told before that monitoring is futile if you are giving food at the same time because for two hours after the snack the snack is giving a false level… so that’s why he only got a snack if he was dangerously low. I will always make sure he gets no food in the two hours before his pre test and meal though. (He gobbled the snack in 3 seconds and is looking for more.) I’ll start giving him something when I’m home now. Thank you!
 
He is flat and high - bouncing. Yes, please give him a snack.

In future when you get tests mid-cycle, please give him a snack? In cycles like yesterday, you want to feed a tsp of food after every test.
In other cycles which are not as active, a snack or two would be good. It's better to feed in the first part of the cycle when the insulin action is the strongest. You do not feed in the 2 hours before the shot.
We got down to a yellow 2 hours after his evening shot tonight. Yay
 
Back
Top