Jack & Mopem'sMom
Very Active Member
The weekend wasn't bad, Saturday was a high day for Jack but that was sort of by design since he was alone most of the day and due to crazy traffic was actually an hour and 10 mins late for his insulin Sat. night. He had also earned a reduction to 9.5 units for Sat morning, so he was high most of the day yesterday as well, and then the bottom dropped out of our lives at dinner time last night. The entire household is in an uproar because William, one of the 'kittens' (he's actually 1yr, 7mos), was crying, licking himself, and popping in and out of the litterbox, so I rushed him to the ER, where he will stay for the next 48 hours. He wasn't totally blocked, but enough so they had to actually do the catheter procedure. Since he's so young, the vet is thinking that he has a genetic predisposition to blockages and I should switch him, his brothers, and the possible father (pretty much all the cats that live with Jack) to the urinary diet. 
I am looking for advice from folks who have a diabetic that needs to be on the urinary diet- which in the US would be something like Hills c/d or the Royal Canin or Purina equivalent. The PDF from Dr Pierson shows crazy high carbs associated with these- what do you guys do? Aside from the astronomical cost of feeding 12 cats prescription food, it's not good for Jack's diabetes. Thoughts? Thanks in advance. Jack refuses to eat alone, btw, and hurls himself against the door of whatever room I put him in. This is why everyone currently eats the diabetic diet
Also, Jack didn't eat much last night at dinner and overnight paced the house almost relentlessly looking for his kitten and got himself into a green morning. I'm not sure if I should count today's greens towards the next potential reduction because of those factors, so any thoughts/advice on that also very much appreciated.
I skimmed the titles in the forum quickly, I hope everyone's kitties are doing ok. I'm not sure when I can catch up personally with each of you, but you and the kitties are in my thoughts and prayers.

Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-10-jack-417-amps-276-3.289825/#post-3178064

I am looking for advice from folks who have a diabetic that needs to be on the urinary diet- which in the US would be something like Hills c/d or the Royal Canin or Purina equivalent. The PDF from Dr Pierson shows crazy high carbs associated with these- what do you guys do? Aside from the astronomical cost of feeding 12 cats prescription food, it's not good for Jack's diabetes. Thoughts? Thanks in advance. Jack refuses to eat alone, btw, and hurls himself against the door of whatever room I put him in. This is why everyone currently eats the diabetic diet

Also, Jack didn't eat much last night at dinner and overnight paced the house almost relentlessly looking for his kitten and got himself into a green morning. I'm not sure if I should count today's greens towards the next potential reduction because of those factors, so any thoughts/advice on that also very much appreciated.
I skimmed the titles in the forum quickly, I hope everyone's kitties are doing ok. I'm not sure when I can catch up personally with each of you, but you and the kitties are in my thoughts and prayers.


Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-10-jack-417-amps-276-3.289825/#post-3178064