5/13 - Toofy - AMPS 291 - Switching to Lantus

Christina & Toofy

Member Since 2021
Hello all,

I'm just about out of ProZinc, so I plan to switch Toofy over to Lantus, probably tomorrow morning. She's currently getting just a hair over 4 units on PZI, so, looking at her mostly pink/yellow (red) numbers, does it seem safe to start out with 4 units on Lantus as well? I know it might sting a little, but she's been pretty good about shots in general.

I was gifted several Lantus pens from a friend whose mother passed away this year right after getting her supply of diabetic supplies. I had considered going to Lantus right away, but the vet happened to put her on PZI when she was in the ER, so I figured I'd give it a shot and go through the vial at least. Her numbers have come down a little, but they tend to sneak back up.

She hasn't been on insulin that long, but since she's already eating raw, and since it's easy for me to do TR with my schedule, Lantus, given my access to it, seemed like a worthwhile switch to try out.

Christina
 
The general reccomendation is to switch to Lantus at the same dose as prozinc, if it is a clearly safe dose and you can monitor closely the first few days to insure there isn't an unexpected reaction (is a new insulin after all....)

Toffy looks really sweet!
 
Looking at your ss it is fine to start at 4.0. Id test ever 2-3 hours as sometimes there’s a bug response to the first dose and then not so much until the depot builds. Please read the sticky on dosing methods. And welcome to LLB.
 
Last edited:
Thanks to both of you--I gave her the first Lantus this morning, so now I'm on monitoring duty. She took the shot just fine, so that was encouraging. She is a total sweetheart. Who I'd love to see get a little less desperate for food, but for all I know that part is all in her head now and just part of life, lol.
 
Good luck! Hercules was always very hungry before the diagnosis, I feel stupid for thinking back there that it was cute.... had no idea it was a symptom! He got much better after a while on insulin, so I am sure toofy will calm down also.

BTW - Folks here like a new conversation each day, so you may want to start a new one and give a link to this one for continuity :)
 
welcome to the site, Christina. Toofy looks a lot like my Susie but Toofy has a half "stache". It even looks like she has a white heart on her chest like Susie. You probably will run across Cosmo and Luci. They are our kitties twins, too.
 
Hello and welcome to LBL land. Good luck with the switch to Lantus. I hope you got U-100 syringes to go with the Lantus.

With DKA in the past and the high numbers, I'd make sure to test for ketones every day for a while. It does take 5-7 days for the depot to build.
 
Back
Top