5/14 Jill AMPS 210 | +2 127 | +3 104 | +5 110 | +10 203 | PMPS 204 | +2 153

Is the lagoon where I get to go when I don't have to be home all day to poke this girl for blood?!
Nope, the lagoon are the green numbers where you do need to be home to poke for blood - but they are the healthy numbers for your kitty - at least the mid to upper ones are.

They need to be monitored more closely so as not to risk kitty becoming hypoglycemic. Do you have updated test since what is on your spreadsheet?

I expected to see a green (lagoon) number after your 104 this morning. Jill was dropping and getting close to the greens. These are some of the most important times to be available to test. Not as much when kitty is higher. You are doing a great job, Debra. Just watch the new dose. I will probably lower her numbers.
 
Last edited:
Autofeeders and (sometimes) higher carb food are great tools for helping the CG leave the house while still ensuring that kitty is safe during that time.

Best of luck with the increase. Looking like a nice cycle today! And when you have a moment, please update your signature and replace "SLGS" with "TR" so everyone knows you're doing TR.

Oh, and here is your yesterday thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/increase-dose-or-hold.247315/#post-2789734
Each day, include a link to your previous day's condo. We all do this. That way, when you need help we have Jill's history available to review quickly.:)
 
On the rise now with 110!

On Sunday we will be away most of the day - should I feed her something with more carbs in it to make sure she doesn't dip too low? or should we see what happens tomorrow to decide?
 
Surf it, Jill.:cool: She has actually been pretty flat since +2 when you factor in 20% meter variance. Those are beautiful beachy blue numbers.
Do you have an autofeeder?
From when until when are you going to be out on Sunday?

Wait and see what happens tomorrow and tomorrow night. To figure out a plan for a CG to be out, we like to see numbers day-of and leading up to when they are going out. If going out early, an even earlier test (like a +10 on the previous PM cycle) can help us see which way Jill's numbers are heading.

Besides food, other options are a reduced dose and/or skip. As I said, it depends on numbers closer to when you're leaving, but people here have many tools in the toolbox to help you keep Jill safe. Better too high for a day than too low for a minute, as they say.
 
Last edited:
We will be gone on Sunday from around 10 am to 6 pm. Maybe we could do a reduced dose just to be safe, but would that throw my TR off?

I don't have an autofeeder, but maybe I should look into one. We will be gone about for about the same timeframe next Saturday too.
 
What is 10am and 6pm relative to when you shoot insulin? Are you gone from +2 - +10? +3 - +11?

Wait and see what her numbers are doing as we get closer. They will factor into a decision for what to do with the dose that day. The first priority of us here is to keep Jill safe. If it throws your TR off, it's okay. She will get back on track soon enough.
Can you leave food out for her that she will eat and others cannot get to? Is she an only cat?

If you are going to be out for an entire day regularly, I highly recommend an autofeeder. I have this one and love it: https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-C500-Automatic-Digital/dp/B01AUYLVU8/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
Lol! I just cross posted with you. A number of people on here, me included, use that autofeeder. It is also great for feeding overnight! I bought a second set of the ice packs for it so even if I have to use it during the day, I know I'll be able to keep her food cold overnight as well.
 
We'd be gone from +1.5 - +8. We feed at both of those times.

We have 7 other very hungry cats! We could use the auto feeder for Jill but we'd have to keep her in a bedroom alone, which would be ok.
 
Until you get an auto feeder you could freeze some food. It will take some time to thaw out. Nice cycle.
 
I found a friend with an auto feeder that she isn’t using! I’m going to pick it up tomorrow so we can use it on Sunday. It doesn’t have cold packs but I can freeze wet food for dinner time right?
 
My +10s are always higher than I think they should be. Is that because she eats at +8? I meant to get a BG right before she ate but forgot until she was already inhaling her dinner.
 
My +10s are always higher than I think they should be. Is that because she eats at +8? I meant to get a BG right before she ate but forgot until she was already inhaling her dinner.
Maybe. I would try to feed most of her food by +6 unless you need to feed the curve to keep her from dropping under 50 or to bring her back up after dropping low.
 
Why are you shooting so late? I think eating at +8.5 is causing a lack of duration and why you are seeing the numbers go up.
 
We shoot at 9:45 am and pm

the am is slightly different than pm
we test at 9 am and then she eats around 9:20. Shoot at 9:45 am

At night we test and shoot at 9:45 and she eats at 10 pm. She’s always hungry so I don’t worry about her not eating.

I know this isn’t perfect but with all the other cats and their meal and medicine schedules this is what we are doing now. Is this throwing us off?
 
The schedule has to work for you but it’s not the best for her to eat a meal so late. You don’t get as long duration and overlap. Try it for now and we will see.
 
Back
Top