5.17 Luke AMPS +11 98 after hypo yesterday

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Kristen ardito, May 17, 2024.

  1. Kristen ardito

    Kristen ardito Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2023
    Yesterday's post for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-on-why-so-bouncy-lately.290063/#post-3179915

    Yesterday Luke went hypo and it was pretty scary as it took a few hours to get him back. I thought for SURE he'd be very high today but instead seems to have taken a dive in the last few hours. Libre read 52 so I checked with an ear prick and got 98 (phew).

    But want to ask now as his shot should be in an hour: if he stays this low or goes lower, what should I do about PMPS shot? He took a reduction this morning. I know the protocol says to wait and keep testing, but let's say he stays in the 100s, or 90s or 80s or 70s for the next hour; given what happened yesterday what would you all do?:eek:
     
  2. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    When following TR, you can shoot full dose as low as 50. Since he just earned a reduction and can't earn another one tonight, you can always feed higher carb food.
    Shoot and get a +1 and a +2 to see if you need to intervene early with carbs.
     
  3. Kristen ardito

    Kristen ardito Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2023
    ok, thank you. appreciate it. Makes sense.
     

Share This Page