5/21 Tessa AMPS 269 +3 286 +6 278

I'm glad Bhooma stopped in and suggested that increase. How much does Tessa weigh? I think she was started on too low a dose. It's not uncommon for kitties to show a bit of reaction when they first start insulin, but then it fades away.

She weighs a little over 12 pounds and she is not overweight. The vet recommended the starting dose and I did post here asking for advice as well and some said to go even lower but I decided to try the 0.5u that the vet recommended. I think the reasoning behind that recommendation from the vet was that she had been getting down to mid 100s all on her own just a week prior so the vet was worried that starting at the full 1 unit that she started on last time would be too much and honestly I agree with that logic. I worry about going too fast and running into hypo territory. I am prepared for hypos (kit made and instructions on the fridge) but I'd like to avoid them if possible.

I am still wondering if she bounced from a low blue number overnight on 5/18. Insulin was taking her down by 75-100 points during the day up until then so if it did that overnight on 5/18, she could have gotten down to 120 or maybe even a bit lower than that and then Mr. Liver decided that was too scary. But I don't know for sure, it's just a guess and some wishful thinking. If it WAS a bounce, I'm thankful she's still in the yellow and not going higher.

I do think the dose increase was the right call though. I had been planning to ask about it yesterday but Bhooma beat me to it lol.
 
do think the dose increase was the right call though
Absolutely, I think you'll need to increase as fast as possible that the TR protocol lets you do. Her turnaround dose last time on insulin was 2 units. As I mentioned in the post where you were looking for suggestions on dose, kitties coming out of remission tend to need to get up to or even just above how high they got the first time on insulin. With a 12 lb kitty, assuming that's her ideal weight, if she was newly diagnosed she would start at 1.25 units. The sooner you can get her back in the greens, the better the odds for remission again.
 
Back
Top