5/28 Newman after hypo bounce

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Linda and Newman, May 28, 2022.

  1. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
  2. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes. Bounce
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  3. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    We can continue with the reduced dose and watch for him to clear the bounce.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  4. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    So I just shot 1.5 units
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  5. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
  6. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    You never want to do an increase on a Bounce because then you have the double impetus of clearing a bounce and an increase of insulin at the same time. This is just something I thought I would mention- not that he was ready for an increase this morning because he just earned the reduction. It just popped into my mind that I would mention it for future information.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  7. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Hope that won’t go into the junk folder! ;)
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  8. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Going back to yesterday, may I ask if you first fed him when you got the 94? That would have been the way to go -- but maybe you did this already.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  9. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    It would really be beneficial for your information if you would either write in when you feed him and how much and what ... either into the remarks column or right into the cell itself.

    A lot of people will enter into the cell ..... e.g., 1 t. LC @2.5.... or karo or whatever. You then have to color code the cell. It's good to be able to look back and see what you have done in the past and how he responded to the carbs... to see what worked or didn't work. But the remarks column will also work.

    Since he started out low yesterday morning, feeding at +1 and +2 would be the way to go. Of course, Newman is not always "up" for this, I know.
     
  10. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I mentioned that in yesterday's thread, but maybe it was one that you did not get notification. I copied and paste it here in answer to your question regarding yesterday. "It's getting a little scary with the 94 @ +3. He had a few more Dr. Elsey's with the most recent test and I headed him over to his Fancy Feast and he ate about a tablespoon of that."
    An hour after that I tested and got the 63 at which time I got out the Friskies turkey with gravy and added a small amount of Karo.
    One half hour later, he was coming up and tests at 121. I continued to test every 30 minutes for 2 hours.

    Additionally, I keep a paper note tablet with some notes as a reminder for me and to help me keep things straight. Your suggestion is well taken and I can see where it would help as others access the situation to offer advice if I added more notes to the spreadsheet. I'll try to do better with those notes.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  11. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes. You’re all over it, but when other members are trying to figure it out, it will help them. No criticism of your record keeping! :cat: And I was just going over yesterday in my mind and seeing how everything transpired. You did very well! What kind of medium carb food do you have? You should have some different percentages available- like a 15 and 20 or 25 and even some go as high as 30 percent. For feeding during these type of events.
     
  12. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    A tablespoon of something with higher carbs than that regular Fancy Feast would have been the way to go yesterday at 94. Again, most definitely not a criticism, I am thinking of how to keep him out of lime green in the future.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  13. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Going to go feed cats / shower now. I'll be back on the Board at 11. Not that you will need me.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  14. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Looking at Newman's spreadsheet. It's definitely not his normal pattern to drop so early in the cycle - and you do have quite a few tests at +3 on other days. I only see one other day (May 11) and that was a 100 point drop from a 500. A lot of the time he seems to rise at +3 or to be flat. Maybe when he has blue preshots, this may be a sign that he will have an earlier nadir? I'm just thinking...
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  15. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I see what you are saying that had I given him the high carb food at 94, perhaps I could have avoided the 63. Would it be fair then to remember that if he goes below, say 100, I should feed something with higher carbs?

    I have to go back to the Cat Food - Nutritional Composition listing I have and select high, med and low carb standby foods. I'll bet there have been updates to that list since I used it for my first diabetic cat! At that time it was go immediately to high carb food and maybe add Karo. I assume there is a link to that chart on the general information section of the FDMB for Feline Diabetes.

    And I want to add that I take no offense from your guidance, suggestions or nudging me. I would rather you tell me something I already know than miss out on learning something new!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  16. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I was planning to do little to no testing today to give him a break. Poor guy only has one good ear to poke and I don't want to wear it out. LOL I'm thinking there won't be a lot to learn today from tests since it is more like a day to recover and resettle. I don't think it matters too much how that pans out.
     
  17. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes. I would feed a medium carb food (maybe 15% or so) at a 94, about a tablespoon. It he's lower than that an approaching 68 on your AT meter (50 on the human meter), I'd go for a much higher carb food. Karo is great in a pinch, but won't last as long as higher carb food. That's why sometimes we mix it in with food, which you did yesterday :cat:

    I have to remember that you are using the AT meter still, when giving advice, because a 94 on an AT is lower than on the human meter. It still throws me.
     
  18. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Poor Newman. I remember you said that about his other ear! If he shows up looking for food, can you try to do one test? I wish he'd show up at +6... Newman... are you listening?

    Look at May 23 when he was bouncing, he started coming down toward the end of that morning cycle.

    I have just watched, this morning, a cat who can clear a bounce in record time. Then he did a big dive. Fortunately, Newman seems to like to do things in a more relaxed fashion.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  19. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Hello @Diane Tyler's Mom can you help us out here with a link to the food chart (which I also think is outdated) and/or a list of medium and high carb foods? Also a carb calculator would be helpful. You have all the links handy for this, I know!
     
  20. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Only if you can grab one test, it can help us see how long he takes to start coming down during a bounce.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  21. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Here is the food chart below



    Med and High Carb food and some honey



    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

    Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs or you can look for other med and high carb foods on the food chart

    Here is the link:http://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2022
  22. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I found this carb calculator posted by one of our members , I know there are others but I can't find them, there may be better ones then this one that other members would suggest to use
    online cat food carb calculators.
    I have never used one myself,
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2022
  23. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Thank you! You're the greatest, Diane!
     
  24. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I think you are , not me lol but thanks anyway :bighug::cat:
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  25. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    All good, Linda?
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  26. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I would say a pretty normal day except he is somewhat off his feed. He is slow to come for food and then eats just a few bites at a time. He did fine with the treats at test time, so I'm not going to worry. I will continue to offer him his Fancy Feast. I know he is not going to starve and with the reduced dose he is probably getting enough food to cover that.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  27. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I agree. I am sure this is temporary.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  28. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    He has been grazing on the FF all evening until now. I just poked him one more time before bed. He is 346 @ +4.25
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  29. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I am guessing he will be lower than this this morning?
     
  30. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Hi Suzanne. Newman is 438 this morning.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  31. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay well we will stick with the same dose and watch. Okay?
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  32. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Yes, that's what I was thinking. Thanks.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  33. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    @Suzanne & Darcy I just got a surprise. I checked Newman 15 minutes ahead of +6 and he is 138. I am expecting company, how closely do I need to watch him?
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  34. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Will it even be possible to get another test after company comes?
     
  35. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    This is around his usual nadir time and he tends to flatten out much of the time. He has cleared the bounce now. In a perfect world I would like to see if he’s holding steady at +7 (in view of what happened two days ago.) I do think this cycle will be more typical, but….
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  36. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Yes, I think so, at least a pretty good chance. What time should I aim for?

    Also, he and Ozzie did a lot of playing this morning and I had to wake him just now to poke him. Does level of activity have any effect?
     
  37. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Our comments crossed over each other. I'll try in an hour.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  38. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    That’s great to hear about them playing :cat: In this case, I think he’s just stopped bouncing. I’m glad he decided to do it gracefully. If you can get a test in an hour or so, that would be very good.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  39. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I’ll check back in an hour. I need a nap. Up too late last night and up at five this morning ☹️
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  40. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I don't know how you do it, keeping track of all of the problems and questions. It must be exhausting under normal routine.
    Lucky that you can nap. I'm not a good napper, although I have been known to fall asleep in my chair.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  41. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I can't find him and he is not coming when I shake the treats. There is a thunder storm in the distance so maybe he is hiding from that, although not his usual thing. I'll keep looking and test as soon as I can.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  42. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Last edited: May 29, 2022
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  43. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I am very glad you got a hold of him.
     
  44. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    He knew you had guests coming.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  45. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    My son is here now so he will be able to wrangle him. He ate the Friskies 15% about 2 tsp. at 3:15. He is back under the bed.
    I will test at 3:45. How's that?
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  46. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I was just going to suggest that.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  47. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    He is up to 113 @ 3:40 PM. I have to figure out how to post that on the SS.

    Should I offer any more food at this time?
     
  48. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Round it to the .75 meaning 3/4 of the hour. I would offer some low carb food now and test in 30 minutes. Do you have anything that is 5 or 6 percent
     
  49. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    No, the only other food I have is the Fancy Feast Chicken Pate which is 3%. Maybe I'll add a tad of the Friskies 15% to the Fancy Feast.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  50. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    You can try. If he’ll eat it. Otherwise LC will probably do fine as long as you can check him again
     
  51. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Have you started using the ReliOn meter yet or are you still using the Alpha Trak.

    Newman has earned another reduction to 1.25 units.
     
  52. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Yes he ate about 1 tbsp of FF Pate 3% with a bit of Friskies turkey with gravy 14%.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  53. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Still using the AlphaTrak but only have 10 strips left
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  54. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Hopefully, you have the other meter ready.
    When you switch, put a new row across your spreadsheet showing that you have switched to a human meter. And, of course, change it at the top of the spreadsheet.
     
  55. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    At 4:30 he is 202. I pray that he does not throw the food up.
     
  56. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay. The food sent him a little too high. Now just leave him alone for a while.
     
  57. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Yes, the food and he is probably a little stressed at being wrangled.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  58. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Hope all is well
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  59. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    He had some of his regular dinner and he is sleeping under the bed, but I can see him. He responds when I talk to him and I expect he will come out on his own. I'm thinking I don't need him until it's time to do the PMPS.
     
  60. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    He has come out now and I suspect he will be looking for food. Is it better to allow him some nibbles, or better to get a 2 hour fasting number?
     
  61. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Since he was low before and then was yellow, would you please try to wait the two hours so we can get a really reliable PMPS.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  62. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Yes. It is only an hour until test time.
    He is perched right in front of me in front of the monitor.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  63. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    @ Suzanne & Darcy PMPS 540

    This seems bazaar!
     
  64. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Did you retest to make sure of that number? That it’s not a bad strip?
     
  65. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    No, I will do that now.

    I got 551. That's after about 4-6 treats.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  66. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Bad strips do happen, but it looks like he’s having a huge bounce! Wow. Just give him the new reduced dose of 1.25. Okay? Back to back reductions sometimes fail, but we will know in a few days.
     
  67. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    And just to be sure, check him before bed.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  68. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    How late will you be able to check?
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  69. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I think I will still be up until about 11. Then if Newman is all good, I go to bed.

    really we may not need to wait that long. A +2 should give us a clue.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  70. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    BG 533 @ +2.

    Is that good or bad? Is it what would be expected with this bounce?
     
  71. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Wow. I don’t think we have to worry about a hypo tonight. Strange how he bounces so high from only an 81.
     
  72. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Well, we never want to see him in black, but it can’t be helped. I hope by morning things will be a little more reasonable. How does he act when this high?
     
  73. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I haven't seen any unusual behavior. He ate a good quantity, used the litter box, tussled with Ozzie and eventually made his way to one of his sleeping spots under the dining table.

    I started out here asking if maybe I should start over, mostly because I switched him over rather quickly to all low carb wet food. He was eating quite a bit of Iams or Hills Urinary Formula Dry. I think I may have passed the ideal dose even though I started low. Perhaps I increased too fast and I definitely did not test enough.

    And here we are, almost back to the start. Naturally for Newman I just want to get him under control. I have to say it again, I appreciate your guidance and patience with me.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  74. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Well, he is earning reductions so he is back down to 1.25, which is not a large dose. Let’s just see how it goes. Resets are usually not a good idea.
     
  75. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    No, I wasn't suggesting we start over now and didn't know what I was talking about when I was asking if starting over may be a good idea. I just think that it is interesting that we are gradually resetting, so to speak.

    I hope we both get a good night's sleep. See you in the morning.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  76. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I'm looking for a new thread this morning. :) Just to let you know I am here. Hopefully, everything is uneventful.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  77. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    See new thread at 5/30 Newman AMPS 424
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.

Share This Page